One photo every day: Kuikka :: Arctic loon (334/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

After taking the boys to school I went to Merrasjärvi in hopes of getting some scenic photos, but instead I spotted these black-throated loons (Gravis arctica) swimming and diving about. They are a rare sight so I decided to take some photos of them. Sadly I was quite well out of reach, even with the 300mm lens, so I had to crop this one.

On a positive note, I figured out how to eliminate much of the chromatic aberration just by de-saturating the brightest magenta dots on the photo. Couldn't do much about the cyan aberration without de-saturating the whole lake with it, and I didn't want to take the arduous task of picking the dots individually. It would've taken hours.

Anyway, here's what I got for you today!..


A whole family of black-throated loons.

It was a beautiful sight, not only because it's the first time I got to take a photo of them, but because they are becoming somewhat rare these days as their numbers are steadily decreasing all over. They aren't going extinct yet by far, but we humans do seem to take a fair share out of their living space.

Anyway, I think I'll be taking Leo and Miro to another domestic animal farm today. There's one having their Summer season opening today, and they seem to have some sort of performances booked. I think the boys might like it.

I'll post photos about it later. :)



[Previous post: One photo every day: Out on a walk with Ninnu (333/365)]


Previously in 365, One photo every day:












on the road (327/365)
A bunny at a domestic animal farm (328/365)
New family member (329/365)
Ninnu (330/365)
Yet another sunset (331/365)
Experimental play with "local contrast" (332/365)
Out on a walk with Ninnu (333/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

Beautiful photography & amazing place

I am Cornholio! You will co-operate with my bunghole!

Most welcome sir.
You my most choice man... best of luck

Thanks you sir

Hello! Sometimes I wish to be a duck. A little duckling to swim slowly on the water or suddenly fly away (And hopefully not being shot by a hunter).

I love those lake photos so much there is something so natural of them

really you are a great photographer.your photography place is so beautiful.

Nice and natural environment, the water looks calm and fresh. The photo is of high quality @gamer00

what a click sir. fantastic photography.

wow, amazing boss.your click location is perfect.

Wow really its outstanding photography today you got! Beautiful blue water that is glittering, thanks to share and waiting to see your animal farm photography.

It's not look like corp pic , quality of the pic is good .

sure are playing our part in terms of extinction of them.

While very nicely captured shot buddy !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75