Is It Possible to Grow Taros in The Netherlands?

in #gardening7 years ago (edited)

Have you ever wondered whether you could plant something naturally from a tropical country and watch it grow? Well.. wonder no more, below this post are a few links to plants from the tropics which I have successfully grown here and this is another one I experimented early in March, waited and watched it closely grow - the Taro Plant. Taro? In the Netherlands? Yes! Curious how I did it? Read on.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Have you been here for quite a long time? Read it, too ..it won't hurt being reminded. Thank you.



Here are my other gardening articles:



I usually blog about cooking, gardening and photography and if you happen to be interested in all of those, too .

FOLLOW ME @

Sort:  

Dear @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs.......so crisp and green.....green....green.

Appreciate the information......learning to use sand from your advise.

All the best to you. A bientot. ^_^

thank you dahlin :)
sand for the snails? good luck ..

Wow lady!! I love growing exotic things. These look fab, I had never heard the name but recognised the plant. I totally want to try and grow these. Will have to check out eBay for the roots!

hi ya Chico you could get these in a Toko Store near you or a Chinese store if they sell wet goods. Good luck!

Hey chica!! There is one store which might. I will try it! :0)

You have exceptional green fingers :0)

thanks!
good luck chico!

You are truly gifted with green fingers Ivy! Yesterday I planted sprouted gingerroot in our garden. Wonder if that will work...

thank you that makes us two? :D
Congrats with your ginger! Now, someone may stand witness for me - its all true! ^ ^

No! I suggest that you bring him back in and make sure you shake all the soil off it and wash the roots all through out. The pale centipede will be feasting on it and before you know it - the leaves will be turning yellow and it'll die. I hope it's not too late

Well, I sure believe it can be done Ivy. And if there is one who can do it, it is you.

So, have to take the ginger back inside. Will do so tomorrow. Now tired, want to sleep... Zzzzz

yes yes of course :)
good night!

Gooooood morningggggggg!

Yes! During spring season? :)

yes - March to be exact

Ginawa ng pinsan ko to sa canada. And the taro grows so fast!

their weather is different there and here
I don't really know which one is colder but probably us
my aunts are growing kangkong in CLA but then its sunnier there

I think it can grow only inside tje house of in the summer
Isn't it. Good job 100% upvoted for the Netherlands from @chanthasam

thank you
in summer it may grow outside but I'll have to find a pot that has a double bottom, one that would let the water out and the other - sealed so no pale centipede would grow in it
it could survive till the early winter since it actually loves it wet too
its that centipede am worried about

woh great post. upvote

I'm upvoting right now! I've upvoted. Nice post from @englishtchrivy Thanks for sharing!

Did you know that root is very popular in the Azores islands!! I find its taste a bit unique, I'm not a huge fan, but I can tolerate it ;)

I'm not a fan of the root either :)
carbssss :D hihi

Are you avoiding carbs in your diet? I'm trying to make some changes to mine because my body is starting to complain (too much bread and different kinds of pasta​ on the last years...). I always thought I could eat whatever I wanted, but it seems I can't.

@englishtchrivy, very beautiful ! these plants grow well under your loving care..:)

I never knew what the actual plant looked like. Only that the ice cream was purple. Yeh!

hey you!
long time no write man
I think you're confusing the plant with Ube - that I haven't encountered here
I was looking for a root since the 1st year
this one has a white flesh - remains white and never turns into purple :D

Ha. That's right. Ube not taro. You know what though. Filipino taro ice cream is purple. Taro Boba Drinks in town are also purple. I did get the two mixed up. That makes sense. Good to be back and to see you are doing well. later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97