Travel Photography | 60. Final stop in SE-Asia: KL

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

steemit_thumb.png

My heart was filled with certain sadness because this was the last stop on the road for me and Antti together. After this Antti would head to New Zeland to find work and I would continue to Nagpur, India for my friend's wedding. Then meet my buddies Udai and Anshumaan in Delhi.

Forgive me for not having a whole lot to write about the Malaysian Capital. Due to certain monkey juice induced island trip, most of the time we spent there recovering. I swear it used to be easier and a lot faster five years ago.

Anyway, this is what happened in my life late February 2012.

0014kf6g.jpg
KL is more or less just another big Asian city. I guess I have seen enough of them for now. No special vibes here for me. Lots of tall buildings. Excellent food though! We are still in Malaysia after all.

I was a little anxious as we got here because I had ordered a big box of Swedish snus from Sweden and was pretty sure I would never see it, OR the money I spent. Also, not a big fan of smoking. So, after a long day of hunting down the parcel around the city, you can imagine my relief when I finally found it!

All set for a while!

0014p2hw.jpg
Again, the architecture is unsurprisingly European, which I don’t mind at all. Love the narrow type buildings with a great colour palette.

0014q7w4.jpg
As per usual, it had come to the question: Where to find affordable booze in Malaysia. Where there is will, there is a way. I won’t reveal the location of the “tax-free” shop here, but I do have the geolocation for it in case someone needs it. Just hit me on email.

BTW at this point, Bombay Gin & Tonic had to be downgraded to lemon “gin” and 100 plus (Asian Gatorade). I don’t suppose any of you readers could absolve me of this sin?

0014rz4p.jpg
Food! (and beer as expensive as the food)

0014sp60.jpg
Need. More. Water features.

0014t49g.jpg
Sci-fi towers and a sad face.

0014w3zr.jpg

0014x8r6.jpg
Pretty pretty!

0014ykkd.jpg
I don’t remember the name of this bar/lounge (warehouse?) but I did like it very much! More for the atmosphere and musical jammers (the owner of our hostel playing the guitar on the picture below) than the price-range of drinks.

0014zerp.jpg
Wine is mine, not the empty case of fries. It came with the table.

00150tq9.jpg

00151yeb.jpg
View from the roof terrace of our hostel.

The hostel was awesome! Great location, cheap rooms and a very relaxed atmosphere. Also, they are due for renovation, which should set the rooms straight too :).

The owner was great. On the last night played some texas hold ’em with him and some other guest at the reception.

Won my bus fare to the airport. ^^

Also, met this Swedish guy, Povel, who arrived the same time as we but was running the reception by the second night.

Impressive!

001528h8.jpg

00153gqa.jpg
Local tourist street.

Once again, Antti, I would like to thank you for an excellent company on the road, your tour-services as well as the mutual alcohol abuse. No-one does it better!

Take care and hope to see you soon enough! (we met at the exact same point almost exactly 5 years later. More on that trip as I get there.)

Thanks for reading my dear followers!

This was the last entry on my old travel blog that I never got to finish. My intention is to pick up where I left off 5 years ago and finish the story from my memory using the photos I have.

After this trip report concludes, there will be tens of more blog posts coming from Europe, Israel, USA, China, and as I have already revealed, the return to SE-Asia with my wife and son.

Hope you have been enjoying my old content, it's going to be all new and original content from now on.

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world.

If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 19/02/2012 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T


0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61

Sort:  

Congratulations @n1kofi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55