Travel Photography | 49. Mekong Delta, Photojournal

in #steemitphotochallenge7 years ago (edited)

000s8h7e.jpg
The small jungle roads were the best part for me. They felt really otherworldly. Also, we stumbled upon a couple of dirt/mud roads that proved to be a little too challenging for our bikes…

Due to all the great things we heard of Mekong Delta (the area end of Mekong river), we decided to rent motorbikes with Antti to get a proper grasp of the place (thanks for the recommendation, Anshumaan!). There are actually only two reasonable means of travel in this region: motorbike and a boat. I suppose bicycle would be ok too, but not exactly our cup of tea :).

000s1bkd.jpg
We took a bus from Saigon to My Tho, where we stayed for one night while scouting for decent bikes. Then we head out for a four-day exploration trip featuring Vinh Long, Can Tho, Tra Vinh and a slow pace.

000s2px2.jpg
Countless bridges to cross (none to be burned). Each and every one breath-taking in their own way. Some spawned sheer horror featuring super narrow two-lane bridges with no side railings, some surprised with their massive size! And of course, I never get tired of being around water.

I just love the attention we got in the smaller places. Everyone want’s to say hello and are frantically waving at us. Too bad my level of driving still requires both hands on the controls.

000s3tbq.jpg
Navigation was not always a piece of cake (at least not for me) so I'm thankful for the smartphone. 😉

000s4wc9.jpg
Short but scary. This kind of bridges were my favourites 🙂 Creates an illusion that you are about to fall off your bike.

000s5bgp.jpg
One of the bigger ones. I start to really understand people who dig motorcycles. The rush of speeding up a huge bridge was one of a kind experience for me.

000s6kd8.jpg
Lazy Rider. We took our time, so plenty of hammock time.

000s7k05.jpg
Have to love the hammock lounges in many coffee shops.

000s9zpp.jpg
Stop for the night in Vinh Long (I think) and the only beer place we could find. It featured the correct amount of shadiness and local drunks that had a lot to say. We spoke Finnish while they spoke Vietnamese. For a while, it almost felt we understood each other. I guess it’s the silent language of the alcoholically inclined 😉

000sah56.jpg
On we went again in the morning. This was the biggest bridge we crossed on our way to Can Tho. It was quite awesome to give the bike all it had (not a lot) on that rise.

000sbb5s.jpg
Always time to soak in the views. Too bad the photos never do justice to them.

000sc7ex.jpg
Where ever we went, we saw these on-display-cocks. The only reasonable theory I could come up with was that they are obviously not for sale (as they all seemed class-a specimens of cocks) but pimped as stallions to mate with anyone’s chickens, well, anyone’s who could afford their services 😉

000sd7yz.jpg
Finally, in Can Tho, we could take a boat ride to see the floating houses and markets nearby. We had the sweetest pair of grannies driving us around. They were laughing and chatting all the time and making gifts out of bamboo for us to take with.

000sepkc.jpg
I never get tired of admiring the construction techniques here. On stilts, over water, you name it. Everything is possible, everything works. Meanwhile, in Finland, we build tank-proof structures that still have an “end-of-life” at only 50 years!

Then again, who want’s to accept responsibility?

000sf81t.jpg
Cabbage boat. I love cabbage.

000sgszt.jpg
One of my wilder dreams features a boat of this kind that I could make a home out of. Cruise around the coasts of Asia. Too bad I’m not so big on fish…

000shrec.jpg
Melons, coconuts, pineapples, all available here. Not to mention beer and other freshments ^^

000skkay.jpg

000spred.jpg
A mystery yet unsolved (via Google) all the ships seem to have a painting in the front (face of a sea monster?) I would assume it is some kind of a protective decoration, as it was almost with no exception on all boats we saw. Whatever for, it’s fraking awesome!

000sqf6k.jpg
What a way of life, I must declare. Just being here makes me question my previous choices in life. It is written all over these peoples’ faces. The joy of life, despite all the hardships (or maybe just because of those) these people really know how to cherish all the things they have in life. It could be so simple. But for us Westerners, as we just don’t have any real problems (no, we don’t so don’t even try). How could we know the happiness that lies in the small things we all take for granted?

000sra3a.jpg
I remember thinking “I will never go back to my old life, will I?”

000ss5a4.jpg
Steel-pipe factory. The running water hardens the stacked steel pipes.

000stfpb.jpg
Madventures, anyone? I love this guy ❤

000swzd6.jpg
The gifts. We both got this hanging shrimp(?), a ring, a bracelet and a flower 🙂 (shortlived though, as they broke down once dry. Should learn how to enjoy things while they last.)

000sx1bc.jpg
A unique Vietnamese bride we ran into on the road. Asian girls really enjoy being photographed. No surprise 🙂

000sy7hf.jpg

000szb3a.jpg
Girls getting out of school. Imagine some foreign man in Finland parking their motorbike in front of a school to take pictures! 😀

000t07t4.jpg
Simple life, good life. World crisis? Economical meltdown? What in the world are you rambling about?

000t163h.jpg

000t2c8d.jpg
Drove past a funeral parade. Cheerful.

000t3hc4.jpg
Ghost rider.

000t473x.jpg
Major renovation. Wish I could be a part of it. It is easy to beat up an engineer, impossible to beat the tech out of an engineer.

000t5w80.jpg
Helmet shop. Granted, they probably are not CE-marked but who the frak cares? Cool is what they are.

000t6pd6.jpg
Carbon eggs. I can only assume these are local coal plants. Coolest I ever saw.

000t73br.jpg
One of the many ferry rides. This one already on the way back to My Tho to return the bikes and start to make our way out of ‘nam to Cambodia. 🙂

000t8741.jpg
Naturally, on the last minute, we got screwed taking a bus to the border. As I said earlier, don’t trust the folks at the hotels. We excessively overpaid for a local bus and had to sit on the stairs by the door 😀

000t9wsf-1.jpg
Xmas is drawing near, follow the star!

000ta5b3.jpg
Awesome manually controlled (the rope) ventilation system, featuring an atrium and two big-ass fans. In Chau Doc, our first choice to cross the border.

000tb0ea.jpg
In the end, we decided we want to see Kep in Cambodia first, so we took a bus, this time with legit price, to Ha Tian that is closer to Kep. This was only because we didn’t trust the folks at any hotel anymore, as they told us no local buses are going there (Daa) we walked around until Antti spotted a bus that, no surprise, said “Ha Tien”. We spoke with the driver and got two tickets with the local price (we saw everyone else paying accordingly). And we got actual seats ^^

000tcfka.jpg
The handy way to serve takeaway beverages in Asia. Who wants a cumbersome carton cup with an inconvenient plastic lid when you can drink straight from a bag? Also, no need for a cup holder in a car or in a bus. Just tie it anywhere you want!

This is the last of Vietnam. Took me two weeks to take my liking in this place. Next time will be better. Cambodia, here I come!

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 21/12/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Sort:  

Great photos !

Thank you!

Another great post. Cannot wait to go on one of those motorcycle rides!

Haha! Nice! I didn't see the Mekong Delta when I was there.

I understand some of the feelings you had there. I never went back to my old life after visiting Vietnam.

Thanks for the comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64319.13
ETH 3411.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51