Travel Photography | 45. Hanoi Sucks (or maybe I was just a little blue)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

000q14gc.jpg
Got stuck to Hanoi for a week. Partly because of a broken heart, partly because of interesting fellow travellers and partly because later I found out Jasper & Elise will be coming too so I wanted to wait for them.

000p8fbq.jpg
Right after Chinese border.

000paa2y.jpg
Playing badminton on the streets, just like in China.

000pbxka.jpg
Got my Mongolian-bought jeans cut to shorts for 70cents by this lovely lady.

000pcdd5.jpg
Some wedding pictures I snapped around the lake.

000pdgke.jpg

000pezpg.jpg

000pfcpy.jpg

000pgsta.jpg
This one is quite funny.

000ph4er.jpg

Personally, I concentrated on the cheap local draught beer they serve in the street corners (18 cents for a glass). And of course, I tried local delicacies such as pho (noodle soup) and beef noodles.

In terms of food, the selection sure seems more scarce compared to China. Also, I don't like their aggressive negotiation on prices to western tourists.I have been eating a LOT of western food here. I guess I missed it.

000pkzbd.jpg

000pq0eh.jpg

In Vietnam, you quickly learn (have to) navigate the traffic that looks quite intimidating at first but has a certain beat to it.

It goes something like this:

  1. Step in carefully
  2. Walk straight and have no fear
  3. Trust the drivers to swerve around you

Actually, I'm thinking about getting a motorbike myself but maybe start off in a more quiet place than Hanoi.

Another thing you have to quickly learn is that the Vietnamese street vendors and moto-taxis WILL rip you off. Many times. But after a few times, you will learn the actual prices and won’t be ripped off so bad (trust me, you will still overpay). Anyhow, even so, it’s mostly very cheap to eat, sleep and drink here so I don’t mind paying a little tourist tax.

000pr2h5.jpg
The pedestrian bridge on our way to bus station.

000ps6z5.jpg
Building foundations.

000ptzdk.jpg
Ramps for the motorbikes are absolutely everywhere.

000pydxh.jpg
And that’s the way we roll.

000pzaw5.jpg
Nokia sells out so quick they have to put less popular products on their place.

000q0fec.jpg
This guy (amongst many) liked my hat and wanted to buy it. He also wanted to take my picture. But since he already had my hat and sitting on a motorbike, I figured I would just put the phone back to my pocket.

Most of the moto-taxis moonlight as pimps and dealers, so everything you want is available here for a price. Although watch out for those that try to “massage” your valuables right from your pockets.

Managed to send some of my cold climate gear back to my bro at home. He will need it more than me 😉 also had to part with my Beijing dancing shoes as I no longer have space for them.

After a long rather boring week in Hanoi, we head towards Halong Bay and Cat Ba island for some beach and motorbike action!

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 02/12/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Sort:  

Oh, why blue? These photos look really good and it seems like you enjoy there a lot.

Thanks for the comment! I was blue because I had to leave my girlfriend back in China. You can read about it here if you would like. :) Have a good one!

aw, I've just read but it's okay because you have the beautiful Vietnam!

Yeah, the trip did get progressively better from there! Keep tuned for the rest of the story :)

Yea! I'm definitely will follow up the story!

I wasn't a very big fan of Hanoi either. It rained the whole time and it was just too crowded for my taste. They did have awesome food there, but I happy to leave.

My feelings exactly!
I went again this year Feb with my family and it was not any better. There won't be a next time I think...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68289.77
ETH 2645.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70