Travel | 42. Chengdu, famous for its spicy girls and pretty food!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

000hr572.jpg
Would you take a look at these cold spicy noodle dishes from sechuan province (Chengdu)?

12-15.11.11
It’s been too long since I updated and so much has happened. Where to begin?
Ok, Chengdu. I didn’t really have any plans so once Jasper suggested the place and I had also heard about the spicy food and pretty girls, I decided why not. Also, at that time I felt it was time for me to move on from Beijing after two weeks. As the first two days I was feeling pretty bad both physically and emotionally, didn’t feel like writing much. Or taking so many pictures. However, here they are 🙂

000hp91w.jpg
The first tunnel!

As I didn’t know anyone (naturally) from here, I decided to take Jasper’s and Elise’s advice and log on to couch surfers to see if some local would host me and show me around. In the end, I couldn’t find anyone but something funny happened. This local girl by the name Summer contacted ME through couch surfers (or at least I thought she did).

000hqa65.jpg
As it turned out after a short chat, her English illiterate friend had thought it was a chat software and decided to open a chat with me :D. The result, I asked her to show me around the place and she gladly agreed. She picked me up from my hostel and helped me relocate to a better one. Afterwards she took me to eat some local food and later some donuts with good conversation. Her English is pretty good compared to the local standard and for 21 years, her views and attitudes for life were very interesting and refreshing.

Unlike most Chinese she has a passport but never travelled outside of China. She want’s though.

000hstfr.jpg

000ht8xz.jpg
During one of my usual exploration walks, I stumbled upon this! First I thought the ship is just docking but closer inspection revealed it actually has foundations! :O. Inside there are apartments, a club, banks, post office, other offices and lifts and shit. It is an actual building made out of a shipwreck! I’d say that is a very intuitive way to upcycle. 😉

This is what I am talking about! This is what I love.

000hwfat.jpg
So, things were already looking up when I was surprised beyond my imagination. Annie messaged me saying she got a train ticket to Chengdu! Of course I was stunned. In fact, I asked her why is she coming and by that, made her a little mad 🙂 In any case, 30 hours later there she was! (ended up giving the jacket to her as it seemed to fit her better than me)

After her arrival we only stayed one more night before deciding we’ve seen enough of Chengdu for now and departed for Pingle, a small ancient town not that far from Chengdu (~3hours by two buses).

I’m sure there is a lot more to Chengdu but I’ll save it for another time.

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 15/11/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Sort:  

Congratulations @n1kofi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53