Travel | 19. Trans-Siberian train – day5

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The last day, or morning on the train I don’t have many memories. Except I woke up to Borya shouting in my ear, “Niko! Ulan-Ude 15 mins!” so I grabbed my stuff and made my way out of the train. Still drunk and hungover out of my mind, Borya asked if I knew where I’m going. I said no even I did pre-book to a hostel. Just couldn’t deal with it now. So he and his mum dropped me to this fancy hotel (seems to be the tallest building here) and as a penance for my behaviour, I decided to take a room for whopping 3000R (almost as much as my train ride).

0003bawb.jpg
Can’t say it was one of my brightest moments, as now I was double booked for the night.

Anyway, decided to take the best of it and live like the western pig I am.

Ordered room service, drank from the minibar, used the laundry service, smoked in the bathtub, had dinner in the by far fanciest restaurant I’ve ever been to on top of the building. With my worn out, hung-over travellers look I couldn’t have been further off place. All in all, I blew one week’s budget in just one day. “Well done Niko”, I congratulated myself.

0003cqfp.jpg

0003d225.jpg
The Boryat style steamed beef dumplings were delicious though! And considering the class of the place, the price was not bad (200R).

0003exy1.jpg

0003ffb5.jpg

0001eh9g.jpg
Before dark, I took a walk for contrast.

0003gfb4.jpg

0003hycq.jpg

0003k302.jpg
So this is how you paint the zebra crossing.

In the night I found my actual hostel, the Ulan-Ude Travellers House by the big head of Lenin. The owner, Dennis seems super cool and other travellers staying there are all ok. So that’s where I’m going now. Also, probably taking the bus to Ulaanbaatar as it is faster and cheaper than the train!

0003p7cw.jpg

0003qrrb.jpg
Oh, I shaved a little, you know, for redemption and shit. I am a Phoenix without the stash.

(First published 10/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04