Travel | 47. Dive In! The Preparation for an Underwater Adventure.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

000qz98c.jpg
The three of us were on the course: Naomi (AUS), Achim (GER) and me. Cool gang, I really enjoyed diving with! Also, our instructor, Ross (UK) was a fun guy and very professional. (Thanks for the pic, Naomi!)

000qsxza.jpg
Jasper and Elise preparing for some sleep-a-surta action on the night bus towards the south.

6-12.12.11

I headed straight to Nha Trang (35hours) while Jasper and Elise jumped off at Hoi An. I was in a bit of a hurry because I was to meet my good ‘ol friend Antti in Nha Trang on 9th. Also, I wanted to take the Open Water diving course beforehand so we could go diving together.

000qt5w5.jpg
Once I arrived at Nha Trang, I was greeted with a shitty weather. It was raining every day and the visibility in the water was poor at best. It didn’t really matter because I was way too preoccupied trying to cope with all the diving techniques and safety measures to really have time to appreciate anything I saw 🙂

The course was pretty intense (3 days) and included A LOT of reading and doing quizzes online. Also, it included two pool dives along with two times two actual boat dives.

I must say, diving is one of the coolest things I have done and I can’t wait to go diving in one of the good places, like in Thailand.

I Love the “dead Mexican” where you fall back into the water from a standing position in the back of the boat.

000qwfbg.jpg

000qx26y.jpg

000qyx0f.jpg

000r0fh4.jpg
Oh, there is Antti! He arrived just in time for my graduation ceremony.

000r1s7s-1.jpg
Right! Dr Vodka and the missus paid a visit the day before Antti came.

000r21h5.jpg
Drank some “whisky” for a change 🙂

After three days of hard work (waking up 6:30 every morning!) it was finally time for some hedonism and decadence with Antti. Bia hoi!

000r3kp5.jpg
Bia hoi (street draft) has got to be the world's cheapest beer! At 0,15 € for a 0,4l glass will not set your budget back, no matter how much you drink ^^

000r48r7.jpg
This has got to be the coolest urinal I have seen! Only available in this particular bia hoi establishment.

000r5s0f.jpg
This is from another Bia Hoi place. We playfully call it the piss closet.

000r6sef.jpg
For the last day, we rented a motorbike, went to eat some delicious and cheap noodle soup and enjoyed the cold weather the best we could.

We also stumbled upon this crazy bridge made entirely of wood! The sound was terrifying as we sped across it, the planks jumping and clanking. Also, it was two-way with nonexistent side rails.

Always an experience.

000r81d1.jpg
Also, found this cool graveyard on the way. One for each religion: Buddhism, Hinduism and Christianity.

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 12/12/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48