Travel Photography | 37. 你好Beijing,我爱你!(The story how I ran into my future wife in Beijing)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Would you like to hear how I casually bumped into my future wife (@annieliu) in Beijing almost 6 years ago? We are now married and we have a kid. Ironically I was just taking pictures of married couples by the Forbidden City when I met the love of my life.

000fcfq5.jpg
Mao money.

27-28.10.11
Been so busy enjoying myself here that haven't really gotten up to write anything. Here is a short recap of the highlights from the few days I’ve been here so far.

The first day we just tried to find accommodation, which we did in a nice courtyard guesthouse. But not that nice we’d want to stay another night 🙂

000fdwqb.jpg
Some chinese tourist group with matching hats ^^

Walked around the Tiananmen area and dropped by a big-ass bookstore. Coming out we were stopped by a local reporter with one cameraman doing some sort of promotion for Beijing. They wanted me to say something good about Beijing for the camera.

After I was told to lose the cigarette, I articulated in a somewhat cheesy manner something like this: “When I come to Beijing, I instantly feel at home and that is most important thing for me.”

Didn’t even have to lie!

000fe538.jpg
The next day Elise & Jasper went couch surfing and I found another hostel. Only after taking a random bus ride from the old one and ending up in Beihai park.

000ffyfs.jpg

000fg5rh.jpg
I wonder what they are actually digging in there for…

000fhy5c.jpg
The Beihai Park is actually the biggest (I guess) preserved park from the imperial times with some 600000 sqm! The atmosphere was quite relaxing.

Not that many people as it is off season.

000fkwt2.jpg
Nine dragon screen from Qing Dynasty (1756). Nine huge glazed, sculpted tile dragons on both sides of a 26 by 7 by 1,6 meter Marble-founded screen. A total of whopping 635 dragons on this piece of traditional Chinese architecture.

000fpdgq.jpg

000fqteh.jpg
One could rent a boat to cruise the lake if one was so inclined.

000fr2zk.jpg
I would love to eat in your (imitation imperial) restaurant! Honesty pays!

000fsbkp.jpg
I love to collect other peoples’ holiday photos. I just positioned myself next to the photographer. They are posing anyhow. And after all, this IS China, the original country of bootlegging.

000ft6y9.jpg

000fwz8t.jpg

000fxt89.jpg

000fyeff.jpg
Also, when i left the park and walked by the forbidden palace, I ran into two wedding shoots. The bride wears two dresses. White one for the ceremony and red one for the actual party. I love the symbolism!

000fz4eq.jpg

Walking towards the hostel we ran by the day before (Qianmen Hostel), I was stumbled upon by a cute Chinese girl by the name Annie Liu. She asked if I’d like to have coffee. And boy, did I want to have coffee.

Events - 28111.JPG
At that time I was too mesmerized by her to take a picture, so here is a more recent one of her (from the night I proposed to her) :)

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 28/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Sort:  

Didn't remember the air was quite polluted already.

I was thinking about the same, actually! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55