Travel | 4. I’m off.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Helsinki, Finland

Ok, this is it.

Left everything behind and jumped on the train from Helsinki to Moscow. My family and friends saw me on my way, which felt nice but also saddened me a little. I am lucky to have so many people around me that truly care about me and accept me just as I am. One day I can do the same for myself maybe 😉

Anyhow, not much else I can tell you yet. I’m staying in a luxurious 4-berth couchette and seems I have one Russian guy and two Finnish guys on a business trip travelling with me till Moscow. (the Finnish guys took off to the restaurant car as soon as we got our passports back). We are arriving at Kouvola shortly and should cross the border sometime tonight. I will be in Moscow at 8.30 tomorrow morning.

Just now I’m starting to feel a little anxious and excited at the same time. Will keep the updates coming the best I can.

Btw, this is me on my on-the-road gear.

00009bq7.jpg

I expect to use the samovar a lot during a trans-Siberian leg of my trip.

0000asft.jpg

Check out my plasticware 😉

0000by8x.jpg

After settling in, I joined the Finnish guys, Juho & Aleksi in the restaurant car. Turned out they were both history researchers on their way to yet one more trip to the archives in Moscow. We had few beers and interesting conversation. What a nice start for the trip!

After I’m out of Finland, don’t expect on-the-road updates as the roaming cost for data is way more than the cost of roaming I do.

(First published 02/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

Sort:  

interesting post. Look forward to more post later.

I will try to post every day at least until i get all prewritten content online :) Thanks for reading and upvoting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55