Travel | 40. Beijing alternative scene and the hard goodbye

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

000gyw4z.jpg

One of the highlights included a visit to the local alternative club, MAO Livehouse. They just so happened to have a trash-metal night (interestingly dubbed “RUSH HOUR – Also a mosh night IV”) Friday 4.11. Featuring

Logic Losing Control逻辑失控
Multi – Ego猫踢狗
NewTank
Raving Radio癫狂收音机
Saving Molly
The Lifeless
The Reason

Love the band names! These got to be local bands only. And they were! The music was surprisingly good and filled with good attitude and vibes. Just what I needed!

Also, couldn’t help but join the awesome pitting action here. After all I have been knocked around by fat finnish metalheads enough in my lifetime to feel right at home with people of my own size 😉

Here are some pictures from the gig.

000gsz5s.jpg

000gtrw3.jpg

000gw1s8.jpg

000gxze0.jpg

000gzt0a.jpg
PUNK NOT DEAD! :D

It was awesome! And beer & Jack Daniels didn’t cost me an arm and a leg.

000h01yz.jpg
After the gig, I went for a little walk of contrast, determined to score as much nightlife I could in the time I had. So I walked 3-4 km to the Sanlitun Village, the home of the most shallow and prestigious nightclubs in the city.

I checked in advance and Mix club seemed to be the exact opposite to alternative: mainstream hip-hop & R'n'B house! Too bad there was absolutely no room to dance (or walk) not that I wanted to as the music was not exactly to my taste (and way too loud).

I didn’t stay too long.

On the next day, Elise & Jasper finally got enough of me and left for Shanghai. We did, of course, agree to meet up on the road later since we were all going towards Southeast Asia.

So, I was once again travelling alone.

Events - 23436.JPG
Thank you guys for the great travelling companionship so far.

000h34qx.jpg
Ok, time to go, one more time: Saturday night feverish club action!

First stop was Club Punk, which seemed like a good (albeit expensive) place for a hotel club. Drinks were over 6 € but the music and atmosphere along with modern artsy videos screened on the wall made it worthwhile for one or two drinks.

After swallowing my GT, I figured I’d hit the only place I know for sure I can get decent music and space to dance, the Coco Banana.

000h4g61.jpg
On the way what do my eyes see?!

American Apparel, my dear! I thought you were already extinct. (came back the following week to stock up on funky socks, headbands and t-shirts)

000h5sbp.jpg
Can’t run away from the panda hats here!

000h6hwt.jpg
Always wanted to get on one of these! I wonder how might one get on…

000h7571.jpg
Guess which one is my drink? (hint: it is not the milk drink)

I hit the dancefloor with my heels on fire for the next 5 hours resulting in severe soakage via perspiration. That, together with 3 degrees outside temperature, led to a killer flu I’m still suffering from after one week.

000h8kd7.jpg
Rest of the time was just hanging around with Annie Liu, waiting for my Vietnamese visa and my departure to Chengdu on Wednesday night 9.11.

To be honest, I felt terrible about having to leave this wonderful girl behind. But I was too scared and messed up from my previous relationship so I made the only logical decision at that time. Continue my journey alone, no matter how heartbroken I was.

000h9ce8.jpg
Checking out the suburbs with random bus stings.

000hag42.jpg
Men at work.

000hbdwb.jpg

000hct8a.jpg
The 31 h train ride (in a hard sleeper) was no big deal. The train was super comfortable and not at all too crowded like last time I rode a train in China.

Communicating with fellow passengers was a lot harder than in Russia.

Probably because I wasn’t drunk.

000hdbw0.jpg

000hece7.jpg

000hf81x.jpg

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of a travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 10/11/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Sort:  

Very nice! I loved yours photos! i will follow now :D

Thank you! Much appreciated!

This comment has received a 0.05 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @aboutall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46