Travel | 3. Intensive pre-trip training

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Secret military air base, Finland

Maybe I didn’t mention I have mandatory 5-day military training just before my trip. Well, it started this Sunday morning 9 am.

I was expecting the usual: sitting around, guarding something “very important”, sleeping comfy in a nice bunk, maybe even do some nice shooting practice. (for those of you who don’t know, Finnish army is not exactly known for the discipline)

As if.

Turns out there is this airforce training and we have to guard the whole area, keeping the civilians out and cut the traffic. And we have to live in the forest for the duration.

000070sf.jpg

It is not actually so bad (not yet at least) it’s not raining and I never get to experience the outdoors like this in Finland. So, I find this is quite cool and will probably help me on my way. Oh! And I get to test some of my gear!!

000080d6.jpg

(First published 25/09/2011 at LiveJournal)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59007.15
ETH 2493.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46