Travel | 35. Black market and Broadway pizza

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Will you have a look at this Mongolian Black Market we went through in Ulaanbaatar?

000f0h1c.jpg
Ger gear.

000f14e9.jpg
War gear.

After arriving in Ulaanbaatar one last time, we needed to find our way back to our hostels. Others went to Golden Gobi, while I wanted to go back to Lotus Guesthouse. After waiting by the door for about an hour, I found out from one of the residents at that building that Lotus Guesthouse is closed for the winter! Apparently, it was closed just 2 days ago. Sweetly enough the resident lady offered to drive me to Golden Gobi. So that’s where I settled with rest of the guys for the last two days of Ulaanbaatar.

000ey22f.jpg
Window cleaning.

We decided to catch the train to the border of China on Tuesday, then take a bus across the border, then another train to Beijing. This was by far the cheapest way to get to Beijing. Although the hard sleepers were all taken and we had to settle for regular seats. It was actually just a platskartny car with more people, so there was a decent chance for sleeping. The train to the border of China cost around 5e for nearly 600km!

000ezqkw.jpg
The last day of Ulaanbaatar, me, Greg and Jasper went to the Black Market. I was looking for a pocket knife to replace my Leatherman lost somewhere in the Trans-Siberian. Took a bus there, walked back. Pretty standard market with some unique historical antiquities.

000f2se3.jpg
PV:s and Containers, my favourites!

000f34ch.jpg
Amazing work on the scaffoldings.

000f4ykw.jpg
Honest marketing: “best believable quality.”

000f59z6.jpg
For dinner, I, Elise and Jasper went to try Mongolian pizza a Broadway Pizza close by our hostel. The translations on the menu were pretty funny.

000f6xg8.jpg
Love earth so easy!

Next day, it was goodbye Ulaanbaatar. Might return one day.

Thanks for reading!

Would you let me know what you thought about this type of travel journal? I have hundreds of more posts coming from all around the world. If you like my style, would you leave an upvote and maybe follow me? I will promise to check your page out too and if it is something I like, I will be sure to follow you back.

(First published 24/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

P R E V I O U S   P O S T

N E X T   P O S T

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55