Travel Photography | 9. Moscow metro, GOUGOUGOU!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Moscow, Russia

First off, in 13 hours from the moment I write this I will be heading towards East Siberia, Ulan-Ude, so in the next 5 days, there will be no hearing from me obviously. Might be uncertain even after that because, I don’t know how many wifi hotspots I can find in Siberia, let alone Mongolia. So don’t be worried about me.

Also, have to mention I have a lot more to tell about Moscow with pictures so will be updating later in retrospective 😉

Anyhow, back to the subject…

The metro in Moscow is just awesome in all aspects! It’s cheap, fast, reliable and beautiful. Best one I have ever been to. At first, I had a little trouble deciphering the Cyrillic letters but once I got hang of it (it’s like solving a puzzle) I didn’t even need a map anymore!

Not once have I waited for a train more than 2 minutes at any hour of the day or night. This I swear is true. But what strikes me most is the architectural style in which these metro stations and tunnels are built (especially the older ones, the newer ones feature fluorescent lights and plain forms).

These are all from metro stations and tunnels.

00012wxy.jpg

00013738.jpg

00014pw5.jpg

000150ez.jpg

000165x2.jpg

00017w9h.jpg
Ok.. Just gimme a sec…

00018wg0.jpg
Love the old escalators. Sometimes you see the sides removed for maintenance, except the stair is still running!!

By the 3rd day, I reached the point where the locals no longer pushed me around for standing my mouth open like a moron looking at my map on the iPhone. Also, noticed that holding a book in hand makes you lot less suspectible victim for mugging than, say, an iPhone. People hardly pay any attention to me anymore, which I like.

(First published 05/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59207.00
ETH 2507.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53