Travel | 12. Food corner: Trans-Siberian train grub

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Moscow, Russia

Ok, it is clear I want to indulge myself for all food in different cultures that come my way. So to document these occasions, I (sort of)copied the idea from Madventures.

I’ll start with the survival food for the longest continuous train trip I have ever taken, Moscow to Ulan-Ude, that takes nearly 4 days (in 3rd class).

And because Moscow wasn’t exactly a budget-friendly place, I need to save up money. No more sitting in the restaurant car!! Here’s what I got:

0001a3ra.jpg

All this cost me 2000r (about 45e) and should keep me alive for 4 days rather easily. Most of the price comes of course from the cigs and vodka before anyone asks.

Now, before you go on and judge my choice of diet, I remind you that I have to only pick items that will preserve without a fridge for 4 straight days and still be edible 🙂
I was going to buy the food from the stalls at each stop but after Vasili (the hostel owner told me about his friend who did that suffered terrible stomach aches for the duration of the trip, I didn’t feel like risking it. Maybe I will try the stall cuisine towards the end of the journey 🙂

  • 0,5l vodka
  • 8 packs of Camel smokes (still have 7 discs of Camel snus with me)
  • a variety of chocolate
  • instant coffee and canned coffee drinks, green tea
  • fresh fruit, veggies and bread
  • instant soup, multiple bags, croutons for the soup
  • beer, coke, juice
  • Finncrisps and Nutella (trust me on this)
  • a variety of salami
  • nuts, dried apricot

In addition, I carry 3 litres of filtered tap water in my Source drinking bladder.

Had some trouble fitting everything 🙂 Luckily it will mostly be gone by the time I have to carry the bag again.

(First published 05/10/2011 at LiveJournal)

Sort:  

I liked you're post, maybe got time to check a post of me?

Вот это наборчик))

Welcome to the platform, I wish everything work out for you. It’s not easy here but not difficult neither but just ask an extra effort, engagement is the key good luck I’m @goodaytraders Start by following people and they will do the same.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46