STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #43: "Two-Week-Two-Entry AUTUMN SPECIAL" - 100 SBD in Prizes up for Grabs!


"Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns."


Yep... this time it's me! Now before you start rolling your eyes at having to impress the SCC host, may I remind you I'm not that difficult to please as long as its good, honest, nutritious food.  Of course the host wouldn't normally be the judge, but this is a particularly special time of year for me so I'm making an exception.  I assure you my focus will only be on the food entries and not the Steemians who enter, so no favouritism I promise.  Scroll down to see the PRIZES that are on offer, and please CHECK THE SCC RULES before you get cooking!  

To clarify - this theme requires TWO RECIPES PER ENTRY - ONE SAVOURY + ONE SWEET!  



Two years ago, on the eve of the autumn equinox, and under the biggest Harvest moon I've seen, my son Sky was born suddenly at 32 weeks. Scary time, but all turned out well, and so this weekend not only do we celebrate the autumn Harvest, but also Sky's 2nd birthday!  I guess it's my Steemit birthday too as I've been here over a year now.  Hoorays all round!  


Autumn was always my favourite season... with the sense something exciting is just around the corner.  Perhaps it's lingering excitement from childhood as we lead up to Christmas – frosty mornings, golden leaves, steaming soups and stews and apple pies, bonfires, the smell of cinnamon, allspice and nutmeg, fairy lights at twilight, conkers, fir cones, evergreens, clouds of breath against a starry sky, the cheerful song of the robin... 



Since I always tell a little about the guest judge each week I better not skip myself...  I'm a wife and mother (and cat mama), originally from the Yorkshire Dales, England but now live in Donegal, Ireland.  I'm a qualified Learning Disabilities Nurse and also have a degree in Ethics.  I'm vegetarian, and obviously I adore cooking, baking, and generally looking after the health needs of my family.  I'm into natural everything, making as much homemade as I'm able including beauty products and medicines.  I begin each day with 1 hour of aerobics and a run in the forest.  I love walking, cycling, photography, painting, crafts, DIY, listening to the Blues.  I used to play a huuuuge bass drum in a samba raggae drumming band.  I'm a romantic, a peacemaker, deeply spiritual, and feel a strong affinity with the natural world... birds in particular.  I used to think this was about freedom, but now I think it's more about balance.



So, here we all are, about to sit down together and share wonderful food at this very special Autumn feast!  Well, maybe not in a physical sense, but in the connections and admiration we have for one another.  It's really beautiful, and I'm thankful all the time I get to be part of this fabulous community, especially our 'foodie corner'.  Thank you all for much joy and gestures in friendship during the past year!  Slainte! 

All entries will be acknowledged with this special sticker in the comments thread, so you'll know your entry has been checked and verified and is eligible for the prizes!  All entries will be then featured and reviewed in a Autumn Feast Bumper Edition Winner's Post.   



Deadline for entries:  Wednesday OCTOBER 4th at 12:00 NOON UTC




1.  Title your entry this way: “STEEMIT CULINARY CHALLENGE #43: Title of your Dish”


2.  Tag your “Autumn Feast Special” post with ALL FOUR of the following:

# food  

# food-trail  

# steemitculinarychallenge 

# recipes


3. Only NEW RECIPES that have been created in response to the weekly theme will be accepted.  Each photo must feature a sign displaying the current date.


4.  TAKE PHOTOS OF THE STEP-BY-STEP PROCESS in preparing your dish.


5.  So we can verify your entry is indeed yours and not plagiarised, and is also a new recipe, you MUST DO the FOLLOWING: 


 
6.  POST A LINK OF YOUR ENTRY below on the comment  thread.  If you have signed up to Steemit.chat please also post it on  the steemitculinarychallenge channel.  To sign up you can click here.
 

7.  The DEADLINE for submission is NO LATER than Wednesday 4th October at 12:00 Noon UTC.
 

8.  You may submit TWO ENTRIES if you wish.  TWO RECIPES per entry for this "Autumn Feast Special", so two entries would = four recipes.  
 

Here is an example of one of my own step-by-step recipes.   Any questions, please ask.


I'd like to share my sincere THANKS to @gringalicious and @sirwinchester for their continuous sponsorship of this challenge, the Steemians who regularly or occasionally submit entries, and to everyone who upvotes and supports the entries.  I'm well aware there would be no challenge without you all!!! 


PREVIOUS WINNERS of the Steemit Culinary Challenge:


#43 - Autumn Feast Special

#42 - Beautiful Bread

#41 - Monochrome

#40 - Mexican Food Showdown

#39 - Baby Food

#38 - Vegan Dishes From Around The World

#37 - Healthy Yet Tempting Food for Children

#36 - Food Fit For A German

#35 - Ice-Cream

#34 - A Smoothie for @smooth

#33 - Brilliant Berries

#32 - Picnic Alfresco

#31 - Vegan Main

#30 - Tempting Tarts

#29 - Take Me To Brunch... In Your Country

#28 - Cupcakes

#27 - Be A Michelin Star Chef For One Night

#26 - Sugar-Free Raw Vegan Desserts

#25 - Your Favourite Dish

#24 - Mouthgasms

#23 - Otsumami

#22 - Mediterranean Night

#21 - Coffee a la Barista's

#20 - Pancake Paradise

#19 -  Sweet and Savory Crepes

#18 - Tasty, Wholesome Meals for Weight Loss

#17 - Shepherd's Pie

#16 - Tacos for a Tech Savvy

#15 - Roast It

#14 - DIVINE LEMONed DESSERT

#13 - The Finest Fish Dish

#12 - Purely Paleo

#11 - Cheeseless Burger

#10 - Anglo–Sino Chicken

#9 - New Year on a Platter

#8 - La Pasta Perfetta

#7 - Battle of Noodles

#6 - HOT Off the Grill

#5 - Unorthodox Chillied Dish

#4 - Super Salads

#3 - Smoothie Showdown

#2 - Out of the Box Sandwiches  

#1 - Sniffle Remedy Soup


If you have any questions please don't hesitate to contact me, either by posting your queries on the comment thread below, or you can find me on Steemit.chat under the same name.  I will respond as soon as I can. 

For the announcement of winners and new themes, follow me :-) 



Image kindly created for me by @sashagenji

Sort:  

This is tempting me to try out some things in the kitchen as well ..

Great! I hope you make something for this challenge @dray91eu!

love the pics of you Joana!
and the acknowledgement sticker!
enjoy autumn :)
who says the host can't be the judge ;)

Hey Ivy! Thank you! And I agree... it's all in good fun and sometimes we can get too rigid with rules when we should let our hair down a little!

Woohoo. I have the perfect recipe for this. Just need to take the step by step process photos. :)

Hey there @vegetarianbaker, nice to hear from you! Hope all's well in your world. I look forward to your entry!

What is expected by 2 recipes? Like main course and dessert ? :-)

Yes @coneptgarage... all the details are explained fully in the post. One savoury and one sweet item per entry :-)

Ok thank you! I will give my best 💪

Great! I look forward to seeing what wonderful culinary creations you bring to the feast!!!

This is incredible! Love it. @woman-onthe-wing

Thanks @nakamurasatoshi... perhaps you will join in? :-)

Amazing! What a great idea @woman-onthe-wing, and I'm so grateful that you've shared with us a bit of the beautiful person you are! They don't get much more lovely, I'm pretty sure ;). ....now, out of the endless number of favorite fall dishes... what oh what to make!?

I know - there are waaaaaay too many food options for autumn, but I just know you'll come up with something fantastic! Thank you also for your lovely words :-)

I love the logo, Great post and thanks for sharing about you.
I'm amazed on all you do and all you know how to do :o amazing!

Aww you're very lovely, thank you @tioluis! I hope all's well with your little family, and maybe you will get chance to cook for us this time!

Such a lovely invitation and captivating story Dear @woman-onthe-wing. I am truly happy to get to know you better and Happy Birthday to Sky he is adorable. Our twins were also born prematurely. Even though twins are always premature, my grandsons were born even earlier then that.

I love this seasonal challenge, definitely great opportunity to be creative..............I am excited that you are the Judge this time. I have to make sure I make something impressive 🌺🍂🎃🍂🌺

Ach you couldn't fail to impress me if you tried Lena! :-) Thanks so much for your lovely words and birthday wishes for Sky... He had a great day!

Always a pleasure and thank you too Dear @woman-onthe-wing 🌸💖🌸

Wow what a great variation with the 2 entries and the 2 weeks.
I love it! :D
Today, I made my first and savoury entry. Here it is:
https://steemit.com/steemitculinarychallenge/@alinalisa/steemit-culinary-challenge-43-vegan-pumpkin-mac-n-cheese
IMG_20170923_081642.jpg
Have a nice day! :)

Love this theme @woman-onthe-wing! What a wonderful way to kick off autumn, my absolute favourite season :)

I'm glad to hear the theme pleases you @natashahall, and that you are an autumn lady too!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45