Notes From An Amateur Writer - 39 Steemit Exclusives

in #writing6 years ago

enter image description here


Yesterday I posted the links to the Fiction works that I have created since being here at Steemit. Today I will focus on the links to the Notes From an Amateur Writer series that I have been working on over the past few months. I used to include link to these at the bottom of each post, but that eventually grew a bit too long and cumbersome. There is a lot of material there that I feel still has value, yet it was becoming difficult to locate and look back on, even for myself.

The Notes From an Amateur Writer series was created to explore writing in general, as well as specific ideas related to the topic. It includes short stories, story ideas, journal entries, and just my random thoughts (and I have a lot of those).

Thank you to those who have supported me along this journey, and I look forward to continuing with you into the future. If you haven't read any of these, then I would consider a great honour if you do take the time to follow up on any of them.



Notes From An Amateur Writer

  1. The Search For Inspiration

  2. A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me

  3. Facing the Challenge

  4. The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss

  5. Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing

  6. The Stories All Around Us

  7. Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]

  8. The House at the Edge of the World

  9. Making Peace With My Kindle

  10. Learning the Craft of Story Structure

  11. Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table

  12. The Time I Won a Lego Competition

  13. Learning to Fly

  14. The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle

  15. When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words

  16. Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility

  17. Dancing With My Muse

  18. Facing the Challenge Part 2

  19. Telling Stories

  20. Life Is Like a Box of Crazy

  21. Writing Myself Out of Existence

  22. The Finish Line Becomes the Next Starting Line

  23. Appropriate Response To Reality To Go Insane

  24. The Happy Smiley People Ad Agency

  25. Some Days Are Full of Blah

  26. Stop and Smell the Future

  27. The Narrator and I

  28. Give Me Liberty (Or Give Me Rock and Roll)

  29. Paranoid Android

  30. Write a Better Story

  31. The Squiggly Red Underline of Death

  32. It's Show and Tell Time

  33. Playing Dice With God

  34. With a Little Help From My Friends

  35. In Search of a Hero

  36. Feeling Like an Alien

  37. A Rescue of Sorts

  38. An Expanding Family

  39. All the World's a Beach

... to be continued.



Image used with permission, and thanks to unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya


Sort:  

I can't confirm it but I feel like I have commented on every one of those. I enjoy them all and I feel like they're all worth 100x more than they got. If I can't improve what mine earns then I at least want to get you your due.

I would say with very high certainty that you did in fact comment on all of those. You definitely were there from the beginning. And here you still are - my thanks to you :)

Ah this was good, good because I drfited through several links before getting to the bottom of one story and it had the links to your stories inpsired by songs which I think is where I started reading your stuff. That of course led to my favourite It's so easy

You really have got the show and tell down pat. I read the book about it, it was very good!

Very glad to hear you like the story It's So Easy. That was a favourite of mine. I am endeavouring to get back into writing these more of these type of stories - inspired by songs.

Show and tell can be a hit and miss thing. Sometimes I struggle with it, but thanks for the feedback. It's encouraging to hear that.

Love that idea of stories inspired by songs. Maybe that'd make a good challenge!

I think I have written four of them so far. I enjoyed it. Songs can be a great source of inspiration. As for a challenge based on that theme - sounds like a very interesting idea.

It is definitely a hard thing to do and has to be chosen to fit as well. I enjoyed reading the book and found the examples mostly obvious but it is funny when you arent holding the book that suddenly you can recognise whn you are telling but it becomes harder to show!

I have found that to be the case also. Noticing the tells a bit more easily, but then trying to work out how to rewrite it to be more effective.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh man you humble me! What a list!!!
I'm so happy you've put this together... I am on the prowl for new reads and I know there are too many of yours I've missed ;)
Runs to find the fiction list

I was losing track of them myself, so figured it to be a good way to refresh my own memory, and maybe give others something to read :)
Thanks for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54