Notes #30 - Write a Better Story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

typewriter


Notes From an Amateur Writer #30
WRITE A BETTER STORY

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story forms, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.



My Coincidental Life

Coffee time again. Things can get repetitive. Highly repetitive. That's not always a problem. Routine is often very helpful for my thought processes. Even for my moods.

But I wonder sometimes what if things changed? What if the wonder of regularity was to be thrown to the wolves? If the clouds of change drifted down and settled in my space, even if just for a day? Inviting me into its world. A world of change, where things are different. Where one leaves routine at the door.

I take a sip of my coffee. I look back up from my thoughts, my notes, the Kindle resting on the table. There is a beautiful woman standing in front of my table. What's in the coffee? I should order another. She sits slowly and looks directly at me. Calmly, confidently, shattering me into a million pieces. I sweep up the mess and put myself back together again, but there is silence. I like silence, but there's a time and place for it. This isn't it. I smile awkwardly. Words fail me. Even in my dreams words fail me.

Leaning forward she asks me what it is I am reading. I tell her it is a book about a guy who meets a beautiful woman at a cafe. My Coincidental Life – that is what it is called. She wants to know what happens next. What a coincidence, so do I. I skim ahead in the book to learn this man's fate. My fate.

The man sits there believing that his sight betrays him. I tell him – the man in the book – to wake up. He doesn't, nor do I. More coincidences. She tells me it's a shame I didn't write the book. Perhaps I should have. She leans across the table, into me, into my space, kissing me on the cheek. Her cool lips electrifying the skin I use to hide behind. Blood rushes to my brain.

"Write a better story," she says. Yes fool, write a better story.

She vanishes. I let her go. It was my fault. I write some notes down. I ask her to return. I read back what I had written.

'Write a better story' – it was there in black and white. In my own handwriting. Next to it appeared the shape of her lips, red like my soul when it's on fire. Write a better story. Create a better life. Take it to the nth degree. You're in charge, you're the man. Don't stop now, do not fail. You're not a failure, are you? Are you? So why'd you let her go? Why did you sit there with your mouth wrapped up in layers of gaffer tape and your courage shrink wrapped in bags of ice? Write a better story.

There's a conflict in my head. The voices are at war. The battleground is a mess. And I can still picture her face. Those high cheek bones, sculpted by the gods themselves. That slender, petite nose, like a button. I just wanted to press it, watch her eyes light up. Watch the radiant glow of her halo blast out soft golden light in all directions. But I didn't do any of that. And now there is conflict in my head. I have to make it stop. I have to get her back.

Write a better story. Create a better life. That is what I'll do.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse
Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2
Notes From an Amateur Writer #19 - Telling Stories
Notes From an Amateur Writer #20 - Life Is Like a Box of Crazy
Notes From an Amateur Writer #21 - Writing Myself Out of Existence
Notes From an Amateur Writer #22 - The Finish Line Becomes the Next Starting Line
Notes #23 - It Is Sometimes An Appropriate Response To Reality To Go Insane
Notes #24 - The Happy Smiley People Ad Agency
Notes #25 - Some Days Are Full of Blah
Notes #26 - Stop and Smell the Future
Notes #27 - The Narrator and I
Notes #28 - Give Me Liberty (Or Give Me Rock and Roll)
Notes #29 - Paranoid Android

Sort:  

Mate, you have such an incredible mind. The way you're able to mix melancholy, hope and longingness is something to behold. I've said it before that you are more than welcome to narrate my life, and I mean it. The way you intersperse between reality and what's going on his head was executed so perfectly. I have the utmost faith that you're going to go down as one of the best writers of our generation. I can feel it in my bones. I just really hope that more people take notice.

I have the utmost faith that you're going to go down as one of the best writers of our generation.

That deserves a cyber hug. I appreciate the words, truly. Do writer's have entourages? Is that a thing? If so, when I make it, you're in mine :)

I fully accept the esteemed position in your entourage! I know it hasn't happened yet, but I appreciate the inclusion. Truly an honor, mate :D

Rest assured that if I ever make it as well, you are equally in mine!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Was already following you. Great writing really enjoyed it. Will check out some of your other work later. Upvoted

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate the feedback.

Graet post

Thank you. I appreciate the comment.

You are welcome friend

These are some excellent coffee thoughts, and you are a romantic :)

Sometimes coffee can be powerful :)
I was trying to write metaphorically in a way that most people relate to, thus the male/female romantic angle. I'm more of a dreamer.

I understand that completely, as I'm a dreamer too :)

And sometimes I dream about being a romantic :)

Nice. It reads like an exercise in lucid dreaming (which I suppose is much of writing).

It's true - why is it so hard to imagine the lives we want?

Best of luck in pursuing yours.

Thank you. It is a type of lucid dreaming in a way. Much like life. Exploring the idea between external stories and our own internal one. I appreciate the comment.

Great post, it all sounds so simple :-)

Life itself sounds simple. Until you look beneath the surface. Thanks for the comment :)

If only it was that easy.

The voices assure me it is. They wouldn't lie, would they?

That IS a question.

I tried to get clarity. Now they're all smiling at me. Big happy smiley people smiles. It hurts.

At least I know what to write about next :)

Well ask them for a smile for me, as you seem to have an in with them.

Wow thanks! my cup runneth over, I just found this:
https://steemit.com/smile/@smilebot/pass-the-smile-201784t93559416z

It was the best I could do at short notice! But you seem to have found the end of the rainbow. Smile bot. Better than the suicide bot.

@naquoya got you a $1.65 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@naquoya got you a $1.65 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14