Notes From an Amateur Writer #22 - The Finish Line Becomes the Next Starting Line

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter

This is day 30 for me (I started 1 day late) in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge.



THE FINISH LINE BECOMES THE NEXT STARTING LINE

It seems I have finally reached day 30 of the writing challenge. Although it officially ended yesterday I wanted to still complete 30 days straight. 30 days of putting out a new piece of writing. 30 days of original thought and ideas, and even several stories. It has been quite the adventure, and an extremely valuable learning experience.

I had set about reading as much as I could during that time also. More so than usual. Here at Steemit, as well as the novels I have on my Kindle, and here at home. And not to mention the broader internet itself. Reading is reading. Understanding writing can come from reading. Which can flow back into one's writing. Gradually improving it, building it up, and placing it on a level up from where it once was.

This is the 22nd article in my blog series. These have made up the bulk of the material that I produced for this challenge. The other days saw me publish short stories. I tried to step out into new territories with these stories. I think I have succeeded, even if just in a little way. I try not to be derivative, or repetitive. Even if my core themes float through my writings, I hope that I can at least bring something new to the piece. That is my hope anyway. I have received positive feedback, so that is always encouraging.

I feel like I have put in place a solid writing schedule. Some of the pieces were written at the last minute, to fulfil my sense of obligation to the challenge. But mostly I had several already prepared. I had ideas drifting in and out of my head at many times of the day. I tried to get into the habit of writing them down, or making some form of notes to help jog my memory when I was in a place where I could write in more detail. New habits formed. Old habits died off. Writing became fun again.

Creating the Future Through the Written Word

I have 3 short stories on the go at the moment. One of them I mentioned in yesterdays post. I will be concentrating my efforts on these pieces over the next week or so. I would like to keep this blog series going. I will endeavour to keep it creative, and to keep it fresh. Explore new styles, or concepts, or writing techniques. Whilst it can have a journal type of structure to it, I wish for it to be more stylistic than that. To be inherently readable. To have some form of entertainment value in and of itself.

At last count, including today's post, I have written approx 17,500 words as part of this blog series. Add to that the approx 12,500 words I wrote and published in story form, and it has been a very prolific month. I wrote 50,000 words as part of NaNoWriMo last November, but those were 50,000 very rough and unpolished words, and they are still in need of much editing and clean up. This month did go up a notch in terms of quality, I believe. So I consider it to have been far more productive, and the word count to have far more significance.

I include the links to my previous work at the bottom of each post. All but one of those (Bang Bang You're Dead) was written during the last 30 days. I think that as well as finishing up the several short stories I have on the go, I will also turn my attention to earlier unfinished works. In particular a novel idea I started to work on (and partly published) titled The Memoirs of a Forgotten Man.

The Memoirs of Forgotten Novel

I commissioned a cover for that novel (image on left), more as a source of inspiration, and to see if it would look professional. I'm not sure if I will go with it in the end, but I like it, and I have received positive feedback on it. If the writing style ends up getting a little darker than it initially started out as then the cover may need to change to reflect that, but I'll see what eventuates. In the meantime it serves its purpose.

Thanks for reading, and following along on this challenge.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com, except the cover image which I own copyright of.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse
Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2
Notes From an Amateur Writer #19 - Telling Stories
Notes From an Amateur Writer #20 - Life Is Like a Box of Crazy
Notes From an Amateur Writer #21 - Writing Myself Out of Existence

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Oh mate, congratulations in completing the 30 days! I'm so happy and proud of you, and I had the utmost faith that you were going to complete it even when you first started. Really though, I'm just so happy that I had the chance to witness your triumphant return. I want to think of this whole 30-day challenge as sort of a month-long announcement of your return to form.

That improved look at The Memoirs of a Forgotten Man looks amazing, by the way! It really captures of the essence of, at least, what I've read so far from it. Great job, brother! :D

Thank you, and congratulations on your 30 day comment challenge success :)
It feels like a two way effort, and victory.

I am so glad I took on this challenge. It was the right time, and it produced the right result. In other words, I was so ready for it. Got my writing mojo to start flowing again.

The cover surprised me. I was impressed when I got it done. Whether I use it or not, it is a great source of inspiration.

As much as I tried not to, I missed days (which I caught up on when I can) but that resulted in me completing a 30-post comment challenge instead haha! I know I just made that up, but I don't feel at all consoled by that consolation award.

One of these months, I'm hoping to get on that train and do 30 days as well. I'm just thinking of a solid sustainable topic.

Definitely use it, at least for some copies. Are you pushing through with self-publication?

I don't time your comment arrivals, I just notice their reliable existence. So yes, 30 day challenge completed by your self also, i decree it :)

If you have a good month, when the inspiration flows then yes, go for it. See what happens.

As for publishing the novel when done. If I complete something and it is deemed of sufficient quality by both myself and others whose judgement I respect then I will look into that route. That's all new for me, and still some ways down the road. I'm actually genuinely considering self publishing the short stories first. See if I can get a collection of them in say 12 months and edit them sufficiently and go from there.

A collection of short stories sounds nice. In truth, my first novel (the one I'm re-editing right now) is really an anthology of sorts. It's good because you get the feel of it without needing to commit to just one huge story.

That is awesome to hear, it will be great to read that when it comes out. You have one reader already :)

Nice! Thanks for your intent, mate :) That's so great to hear!

writing became fun again

This is awesome. I am really pleased for you. I have also enjoyed reading your work over the course of the challenge. Looking forward to your new stuff as well. (btw I like the cover for the novel too!)

Thanks for reading along, and the many comments. The interaction has made it very worthwhile. And yes, I will continue with both the blog and stories, just without necessarily posting one per day. I'm still to determine a schedule, just going with the flow initially.

Hey man, you do not need to transfer 2SBD to randowhale as it was now offering promotion, you just need to send 1SBD only!
Refer here : https://steemit.com/steemit/@randowhale/randowhale-is-now-only-1-steem-sbd-per-vote-spread-the-news
Upvote me if you like my remind!

I noticed, but after I had sent the SBD. The world didn't come to end, so all's well. Thanks man.

This is fantastic online community that take time for the outside places too great work keep it up

@naquoya

You managed to read my post within 30 seconds? That's impressive.

@naquoya got you a $0.44 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@naquoya got you a $0.44 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54