Notes #35 - In Search of a Hero

in #writing7 years ago

typewriter


Notes From an Amateur Writer #35
IN SEARCH OF A HERO

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story forms, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.



The Hero's Journey

I recently read a post from @therealpaul on the hero's journey, in which he translated it well, in my opinion, into a story exploring the theme as it relates to words, expression, and storytelling. A meta post about the post writing journey. If you haven't read it then I highly recommend it. A real story in its own right.

It got me to thinking about the hero's journey, especially as it relates to one's own life. For some reason today, I thought a lot of my Nan. She died about five years ago, but in the last ten years of her life we grew quite close. Yet we never started that way. And what helped us to forge a bond was a common life element we shared – extreme illness.

I never had the chance to get to know my Nan well when I was a child. I remember visiting her and Gramps (I still have my childhood names for them, and I make no apologies for that – they are happy memories). He had the biggest heart I ever knew. He would always make an effort to make sure all his grand children were happy and having a good time. One of his common go to tricks was to deliberately call us by the wrong name. And pretend he had no idea what the problem was. I loved it. He taught me that being laughed with is not the same as being laughed at. Sharing joy makes a difference. I was too young to understand that nuance, or just how much effort he went to making that difference in our lives.

He and Nan were married at the start of the Second World War. After six months of marriage he was shipped off to fight the Japanese, and was parted from his new wife for the next four years. His first son (my father) was born shortly after he left. He never saw him for those first few years. Again I didn't know this at that very young age. And even if I did I'm not sure I could have comprehended the magnitude of that sacrifice. Yet I never saw the man without a smile. A genuine smile.

But he died many years ago. Many years too soon for me to grow and understand, and let him know I see what he did. Reassure him it didn't go unnoticed.


A New Way of Looking

Nan on the other hand was a more serious person. A good person, but I could never connect. Not as a child. And to add to that, I was constantly told by my own mother about how Nan tried to prevent my parents getting married. Nan never liked my mother, it turns out. That was harsh I always thought. I was just a child, so I believed what I was told.

Now I realise Nan had the perception skills of a god. But it took decades to learn that. Nan had her first stroke when she was thirty-five. She had a second one in her sixties. She was about eighty when I got cancer. That is when we really connected. She was bed ridden and in a nursing home. I visited as often as I could. Probably not often enough.

She believed in Jesus. I didn't. She prayed for me. I accepted her prayers with an open heart. She once told me, after a deep conversation, that I had helped make more sense of things than all the pastors she had ever known. And she had known a few. I wish I could remember what I told her. I could use my own advice sometimes.

I was with her on her final day, although she passed when I wasn't there. But I remember watching her as she was accepting that her time had come. I have never known a more determined woman in my life. Nothing would rock her off of her chosen path. She was not going until she was good and ready. Two strokes, several heart attacks. A life time of medication. She seemed happier at the end than earlier in her life, but that could be my reverse rose coloured glasses at work.


Were Does It Lead?

Which brings me back to the hero's journey. Mine's not finished, not by a long shot. I get that from my Nan. But I realised that I have developed through the people I have known, as we all do. I tend to focus on those who have contributed a negative influence, but to do so is to disrespect those who have had a positive influence. Like Gramps, and especially Nan. Determination is a good skill to have. A willingness to share joy with others is valuable.

Perhaps part of the hero's journey is the ability to incorporate the positive attributes and strengths of those who have shared themselves with us into who we are. To make that a cherished and vital part of what makes us tick. And in a way, by doing so, we continue their journey for them also.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Blasphemous
Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves

Songlines - Short stories inspired by songs.

When the Levee Breaks
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
It's So Easy

Sort:  

I would like to tell you a story about my granny. I might have told it before, so forgive me if I have, but so much about her defined what I have become. My first experience of "questioning" life came about at her death when I was about 12 years old. According to the strict interpretation of Christianity she would not be going to heaven as she was a Seventh Day Adventist. But you would be hard pressed to find a sweeter, more pious and humble person ever. I simply thought - my church, you are full of shit.

However, I have never stopped believing in something and I know there is a higher power(?); forces of good and evil(?). And my granny has also reinforced that belief.

When I was pregnant with my 3rd child I was visited by my granny, not as a person, but as an encompassing glowing light, which surrounded me with so much love it is indescribable, but also a warning...be strong. During that same pregnancy I also had the experience of an enormous white owl sitting on a window ledge opposite my bed and staring at me, which I found extremely threatening.

Straight after the premature birth of my son, I had a medical complication and hu ng in the balance of life and death for a few days. (A really weird place to be.) I thought afterwards my granny could be referring to that. But the years after were awful, with so much family and financial stress. I thought she meant that.

About 3 years ago I had the most awful experience ever, and then I knew what she meant. I consider myself and family pretty normal, we most certainly don't dabble wth the paranormal at all. My daughter began to become progressively sicker, to the extent she couldn't get out of bed. There was no physical cause for her ailment.

A few months before the situation got really scary I had made the first real friend of my adult life, apart from my husband. We were still in the beginning stages of friendship and she told me my daughter's best friend (a boy) was possessed.

This is a really long story about Satanism and evil and suffering which I wont go into now. But I knew then what my granny meant, and the protective light she shone over my family.

Maybe a year or so ago, I dreamt of her again. In life she had suffered a long time from Parkinson's Disease, and my grandfather was also rather overbearing and strong-willed, so I remember her as quiet and retiring. In the dream she appeared to me as strong, and tall and in a business power suit! I immediately understood the message, her spirit is powerful, and that's who I and my family have in our corner.

Through all the jokes and atrocious puns I sense that thread of suffering. I just want to let you know I really believe those you loved are in your corner still. And you will be with them again.

Thank you, sincerely. I appreciate this comment more than I can tell you. Despite my many comments about God, and the experiences I have had, there is one thing I do know - I am not an atheist. I have had experiences that defy explanation. My wife sees and experiences things similar to what you have detailed here. Quite often. She doesn't seek them out.

I felt Nan's presence strongly today. Now my logical side says that is memory. That is nostalgia. That is human emotions. And it may very well be those, and nothing more. But they led somewhere deeper, which led to the post. I just wrote that all down in one sitting, and I wasn't sure if I was going to share it or not. After rereading it I felt it was the right thing to do.

My wife has experienced similar visitations, and received very specific messages. There is simply no logical explanation. We live in a complex Universe. Humans have tried to explain that complexity, and thus we have myths, religions, psychology. All reasonable attempts to define and understand things better. This is a logical approach. Turning these beliefs into control mechanisms isn't. That's my issue, and really my one and only issue.

Control mechanisms! Yes :(

Just thought I'd check in and say hello :-)

Hope all okay

Hi @naquoya, are you okay?

Hello :)

Yes I'm fine. I'm in Europe at the moment. Just arrived a couple of days ago, so still a bit jet lagged. Hoping to get into a routine soon - including Steemit. Miss my regular chitchats with friends.

Thanks for asking.

Thanks so much for this warm piece of writing. By the way, @jedau sent me to your blog, and I am glad he did! He said I must tell you he sent me here :-).

I first heard of The Hero's Journey in a network marketing context from a man known as The World's Laziest Networker. He was talking about how powerful stories are in marketing and how you could use them to convey a message.

@jedau is a constant source of support, so my thanks to him as always. Very happy that you could drop by and read through some of my material. I have heard of the newsletter you mention, but I can't recall from where. But yes these type of stories would appear in strong marketing material. I think there is a subconscious recognition of it. Some part of us that relates to it at some level.

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

I'd be honoured if you shared this post. Thank you :)

Mine's not finished, not by a long shot. I get that from my Nan.

Yes. Not for decades, and even then, many people will write their own versions exalting the Legend of Naquoya.

I like how you're taking inspiration from posts (mine included) and giving them a different spin. It's always nice to have that kind of homage. @therealpaul's work was indeed magnificent, and yours is equal in magnitude. It's the second time you've written about your Nan, I believe, and you only strengthen her image. Too bad about the checkered history, but I guess we all have our reasons for doing this. I'm glad that you were able to make up for lost time during her twilight. You can tell your Gramps how much he meant decades from now when you two are reunited.

The Legend of Naquoya - those are just rumours ;)

As for the checkered history, I think that was what was preventing me from fully exploring the positives. She suffered through a lot, but I never knew her to complain. Perhaps rather than define her life by that suffering, she wanted me to redefine it, and remember the positives she showed me through how she lived her life.

Thanks for your comment :)

That's a great way to look at it! I'm leaning towards that being the truth. And, no, the Legend of Naquoya is real. I have seen it with my own eyes!

This is beautiful @naquoya. I had a similar experience being partly raised by a great-great aunt and uncle. Thank you for bringing those precious long departed to mind with your sharing.

Thank you for your comment. I'm so glad you can appreciate what I was trying to do here. I was remembering them today, and those memories were appreciated, so I thought it might be nice to share with others.

I'm sorry I missed up voting and resteeming this, and many of your resent posts. I haven't been as engaged as I have in the past. If you ever want my humble up and resteem feel free to send a link

There is a lot here to try to keep up with, so no problem at all. Reading and commenting is always the most valuable thing, so I appreciate you dropping by.

Incredible post, it really got me thinking about the family and people that have connected with me over the years. I often think about aunts, uncles and cousins who are not here who helped me to become who I am.

i hope that my children carry on my journey after I have left Steemit and this world :-)

I hope (in a little way) that

Thank you. I think that all this writing, and the exploration of the topic, got me to thinking about my grand parents. I'm glad I did, it put me in a good place.

As for the next generation, yes, it would be good. We can only do our best, and see what unfolds. I hope for this as well.

A beautiful tribute to your Nan!

Thank you :)

This made me smile.

I love this thought of a wise old woman with the perception skills of a god.

May she rest in peace.

💚

Thank you. Glad to hear it brought a smile to your face.

May she rest in peace indeed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57517.13
ETH 3013.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35