Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter

THE SOUNDTRACK TO GRIEF AND LOSS

The grey clouds hung, ominously, refusing to part. Refusing to make way for what was to come. And what was to come? More of the same? If anyone knew then they were not saying. All eyes were cast down, and sight seemed to penetrate inwards. To the internal, to the grey clouds within.

What's born will die, what lives will one day cease to do so. These things are known. But sometimes a line is crossed, a demarcation we fail to understand. A fundamental, philosophical heartbreak is perpetrated upon the unsuspecting. There is the human condition, the unknown at the centre of all that is known. But then there is the unknown at the centre of that.

Have you ever listened to a piece of music so beautiful, so hauntingly majestic, that you find yourself within a kaleidoscope of emotional intensity. How did you get there? How did the melody transport you there? And where is there? Where is that place you now find yourself? Is it a collective emotional state that exists within us all? Or is this only known to the few? I have questions, many of them. I have few answers. All I know is this happens to me. With the right piece of music it will happen every time.

A British television drama that I have watched recently and one in which I have experienced this with is a show called 'Broadchurch'. As a writer I am interested in the emotional state. How it is created with words. Movies and TV shows have the benefit of having music to reinforce those words. The imagery exists outside of yourself and the music seems to act as a form of glue to entice you into its midst at an emotional level. This intrigues me.

At the heart of Broadchurch are flawed, and very human characters. Watching from the beginning I wasn't sure whether to like them all or not. Especially one of the two main characters, the police detective played by David Tennant. His stand-offishness, making him appear abrupt and not particularly likeable. But as in all quality writing, one starts to see the multiple layers to his character. He has a past, and is deeply troubled by it. It has shaped him, and continues to shape him to this very day. The more we get to know him, and his police partner (played by Olivia Colman), the more we see that these are not one dimensional beings. They are human, in every sense of the word. The human condition is at the heart of who they truly are. They feel - and are plagued by - a deep sense of loss and grief, and don't seem to fully understand what to do about it.

What reinforces the power of this drama, and the emotionality of it, is the soundtrack that backs it. I find myself listening to some of these tracks, and following my mind where it chooses to go. I don't know if these sounds find the loss and grief that already exists within me, hidden for fear of the light, allowing for a sense of connection between me and these characters and their stories, or whether the songs just create these emotional states anew. I personally believe the former. But I don't fully know. I just know what I feel.

And what I feel is that at the heart of every being is this loss. Some cope with it and some don't. Some express it, and others run from it. Many people harness it, channel it, create works of art through its emotional furnace, and find a sense of release that way. And yet others go to war in a futile attempt to erase all connection to it. The two paths – the one within, or the one without. Is this the human condition? Is this what makes us who we are, and not something, or someone else? I don't know, but it exists, I have felt it, and I can see, in the world around me, the immense beauty that has come from that underlying sadness. From that sense of unknowingness. Who are we, and why are we?

Sort:  

Hours I was at a presentation where the speaker read a story about a man returning home from war. When he was done there wasn't much of a reaction. Then he read it again the same way but with a musical background. People were sobbing.

Yes, music has a power. I notice it too, whilst watching a movie. When I am moved, and I wonder to what degree the musical score impacted the expression of how I felt?

You continue to impress with this spectacular series, mate! All those questions ... I don't know why, but it gave a sense that they were existential questions. Maybe it's because of how you framed them, or the tone you used when asking them. Whatever it is, it was all effectively narrated.

Broadchurch is a good choice, though it wasn't my first thought when I was reading your post. Have you gotten the chance to watch Fargo? The TV series, I mean. The movie's good, too, but the TV series is breathtaking. The soundtrack really fit well with the scenes, and the characters are as vivid as they come.

This one did a get a bit existential. A lot of looking within, and a lot of questioning, trying to understand internal motivation, as it relates to what works or doesn't with stories and the music that accompanies them. Heavy, but hopefully not too much. Ideally I was wanting to focus on the power of music to take us places. Just like words do also.

I fell for the series Broadchurch instantly. Really got hooked on the compelling drama of it. I do like British television. I haven't watched the series Fargo. I remember watching the movie, that was a few years back. If you recommend the series then I will definitely keep an eye out for it.

I agree, music has influenced my life a lot as well. It's amazing how different factors affect different aspects of our existence. They all serve a different purpose from one another.

The Fargo series borrows heavily from the movie, but its unique visual style sets it apart. Music is used heavily there, so I'm sure you'll appreciate that aspect. It's an anthology, so every season's a whole new story, but the writers pack in a lot of references/fun easter eggs so it's better to watch it sequentially.

From the perspective of creativity (which is what am mostly pursuing here) I think music is inherently important. Of course its value extends way out from just being for the creative minds. So yes, music is a wonderful avenue for exploring parts of our lives and the significance.

Great post. I gotta say the end had me thinking though.

"At the heart of every being is loss."

That's a nice quote and definitely deep. Reminds me of the Buddhist concept that life is suffering: which really makes me think. Definitely up-voted.

Thank you, I appreciate the comment. This particular one was a bit deeper, or perhaps darker than usual. Although my mind does go to these place. I am intrigued, and fascinated by Buddhist culture, or at least their teachings. Perhaps more so from a Zen perspective. They have some good tools for helping explore and understand these inner realms.

They do. There's a quote that actually reminds me of just that...I think it's from Dalai Lama from a quick google search.

“Man surprised me most about humanity. Because he sacrifices his health in order to make money. Then he sacrifices money to recuperate his health. And then he is so anxious about the future that he does not enjoy the present; the result being that he does not live in the present or the future; he lives as if he is never going to die, and then dies having never really lived.”

That's a really good quote. I think I may have read it before, but it really impinged that time. Sometimes it just needs the right context. May have to file that away for another day - it could come in handy. Thanks.

Your clearly a good writer but it's waaaaayyy to deep dark and intense for me..
Don't take that the wrong way please . I like to internally reflect but as I suffer from being harassed by the "black dog" I need to stay away from the solom side of my thought process. To dangerous to let the dark clouds over come me .
Good job though and I would like to see you do something on an adventure kind of story, i love those, they inspire me to invest in life more.

I have spent lots of time with the black dog also. I am very familiar with what you speak of. It's part of why I write. So I understand, I guess we just take different approaches to how we deal with it. Neither wrong nor right, just what they are.

If it's not your cup of tea, then no problem at all. No rule that says it has to be. I appreciate you leaving your thoughts about what you do like.

I experience the darkness, I just don't fear it. Spent too much time there perhaps. But my only interest in it is as a catalyst for better things. The inspiring stories, like what you ask for. I'll see what I can do :)

That would be very nice thank you..to clarify i have no fear of the "dog" just know provoking it only harms my family and myself. your way of dealing with it is very noble i think. your using it and not it using you. Perhaps if I had your skills as writer I to would have been able to do such a thing.

I hear you, and get it also. No one knows you like you do. Wisdom should prevail in how you live your life. My way isn't necessarily wise, just where I find myself currently. Whilst it works I continue. Perhaps, like you point out, writing is helpful in that regard. Do you do any form of art?

Anyway, thanks again for the comments, and I have already started work on musical themed one, from the opposite side of the emotional spectrum. Hopefully an actual story will present itself to me also.

Yes I kind of do art... I build things. I'm building a farm to grow my kids on. it's going to be full of amazing adventure related things for them to play,grow, be,love, dream and enjoy. it's 40 acres so there will be everything from BMX and motorcycle tracks to fairy kingdoms and hobbit houses.
I look forward to reading the new story when your finished.
I have followed so I will be sure to see it
Perhaps your stories will inspire me to add a new element to my adventure farm.
Or maybe even a story about an adventure farm come to think of it...lol

Sounds great to me. Especially the bmx part - I'm a big kid at heart. Building things is not something I am that good at, but wish i was. We all have our expertise I guess.

Now I am going to let this concept stew in my mind for day or too and see what I can come up with. Thanks for the inspiration.

your very welcome my new friend : o)

Veru nice Author
Keep it up
Very well written
Highly Appreciated

Thank you. What was you favourite bit?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.76
ETH 3506.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54