Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter

This is day 26 for me (I started 1 day late) in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge.



FACING THE CHALLENGE – Part 2

The third article I wrote in these Notes series was titled Facing the Challenge. It spoke about my decision to take on the 30 day challenge that I mention at the beginning of every post. It remains there more as a means of keeping me honest, less as an attempt to big note myself or my achievements in any way. Although people are free to perceive it any way they choose – that's the beauty of the written word and it's dance with the reader's imagination and sense of self.

When thinking about what I wanted to write for my next Notes the same title arose in my mind's eye. The title I had already used. I had to go back and check, had I used that very title? Word for word it would seem. So I reread the article, and I felt like what I wanted to write about was a logical continuation of that very theme. Just from today's perspective. I wrote that on the 26th of June. It seems writers can go through a lot of change and upheaval in only 3 weeks. Challenges continue to present themselves, for the betterment of the writer. If they are willing to face the challenge.

I have continued to dig deep and write daily. My thoughts continue to flow into words, and ideas continue to arise to the surface. I am grateful, and it seems the sacrifices I have offered my Muse have been well received.

I wrote 2 short stories in particular that have fueled my desire to write this article. They are:

The End of the World
The God's of Love and War

With both of these I stepped out of my comfort zone in various ways. The first, and probably least significant way was with word count. I had gotten into a zone where I was writing approx 1000 – 1500 word stories. They work well for Steemit posts, and for reader's attention spans. But they are limiting to the more thorough exploration of a theme or concept. And that was mostly my fault as it had become comfortable, but without realising it I was preventing myself from going deeper, pushing further, and looking for that extra spark.

These two story ideas arrived about a week apart. But it was clear from the outset that they needed a more thorough and detailed story. Clearly they are still short stories, but I allowed the ideas to flourish that little bit longer, the words to breath a little bit deeper. I wanted to get more out of them. I wanted to say so much more than the grooved in pattern would allow.

With The End of the World I took a turn down a dark alley and found a world of surrealistic beauty. I had never noticed that world before. A darker, stranger, more surreal style of SciFi. I liked how it evolved as I typed the words. As the characters emerged from the depths of my mind. Where had they been hiding? And are there more of them back there? Most likely.

I have been reading so much more, both here at Steemit and with various novels. Making a concerted effort to bathe in the light of other author's spells and magic.

And I wanted to push myself into new territories. I think it is the best way to learn. And I wont lie, I still have much to learn. But at the same time I have come so far also. Especially in this past month. And I have Steemit to thank for that, and the wonderful authors here who support and encourage me (they know who they are).

And what developed from that writing was a strange world of sin and hell, preachers and robots. And a girl named Jolie. Who were these people? And what the hell were they on about? I'm still not 100% certain, but I think I have the gist of it.

The second story, The Gods of Love and War pushed me even further. In a different direction. A level of intimacy and vulnerability came out in that writing that I tend to steer away from. It's not manly (hmmm, who else had that fear?). But I had an idea I wanted to explore, and I wanted to do it the justice it deserved.

It was partly inspired by Charles Bukowski's writing (thus the name of the narrator), but I wanted the protagonist to be a more likeable fellow. I read Factotum and was interested in the writing, but came away disliking the main character. But it still lead to ideas, which eventually lead to this story. The main angle is a little different, in that it deals directly with a series of relationships and not necessarily the ongoing daily struggles of the character. And leading to some form of realisation for him, which is why his name isn't revealed until the final section – the section where he is told he needs to 'find himself'.

And the end result was two stories in which I am really happy. And a style and level of writing that has developed just that little bit more, and been stretched just that little bit further. Because I felt I needed a challenge, and I faced it.

Normally I would turn and run.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse

Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Sort:  

I am at my best writing poetry. I try writing short stories but it is like pulling teeth. I directed your ability to let words flow.

I find your poetry to be high quality. And inspiring. I'm not in your league but I have learnt a lot reading your work and observing the structure and flow of the words. I realised that I am mores suited to stories. It resonates more with my creative style. So I get the pulling teeth analogy.

Thanks what I like about poetry is its subtractive nature, removing all unnecessary language, finding the perfect illustration or image to convey an idea. When I write stories it's just the opposite it's an additive process I'm padding and adding additional information and ideas. I'm always questioning weather things are necessary in the story and i have a hard time moving forward. F Scott Fitzgerald had the same problem in writing I'm told he would spend days just crafting one single page of a story.

Stories do become additive. Yet it's finding that balance where you add the right words, in the correct amount. Thinking about the imagery and concept you wish to express and then expanding. It's interesting the different approaches to expressing a thought or idea through the written words.

To what degree does inherent personality and interests take a role, and guide skill and talent? And also I guess it is the same for poetry as it is for writing - one needs to read a lot to get a feel for how others do it, and what actually works and what doesn't. Fun and games.

I definitely feel as though you have been in a journey and I've enjoyed being there for part of the road. Thanks for as sharing some really good posts.

And thanks for joining me. Always appreciate quality interaction and support.

Woah! What a follow-up. From the third day to know. Mate, you've really come a long way, and I'm happy to have witnessed this journey. You've gotten your groove back, and I would say that you're in much better shape now than ever. All the ideas are clicking and you seem to be overflowing with creativity. You're filled with infectious hope, and that's such a welcome sight. I have gone on and on how you influence me, and that will hold true for a long time, I think.

Just those two stories? I feel like there were more. This whole month has been such a treat. One for the books, for sure! Great job reaching Day 26! :D

There were more stories, that's correct. I just felt those two pushed me the most, and as a result also produced the biggest writing growth. I feel like the energy at Steemit is shifting, from a writer's perspective. Yes there is all the spammy elements, but also more potential for a writing community to flourish. Perhaps that is encouraging me also.

It's been a busy but enjoyable month. Thanks for joining me :)

Good pictures

Thank you. I hope the words are ok also.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.


This post got a 1.75 % upvote thanks to @naquoya - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.76
ETH 3506.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54