Notes #39 - All the World's a Beach

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter - cover image

Notes From an Amateur Writer #39
ALL THE WORLD'S A BEACH

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story form, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.



No Matter the Weather

I've just lived through what would probably be the sunniest month before winter I have ever experienced. I know weather is a funny thing. It does fluctuate, and one year, or even one season, won't necessarily correlate with previous years. But I have been reliably informed that November in Spain is the rainy month. And having seen photos from last year, I can confirm – at least for last year's version of November – it knows how to rain, even if not very often.

But we only got one day this year. And every other day has been sunny, and after a usually chilly start to the day each day has become reasonably warm. Warm enough for some to go swimming at the local beaches.

Even in it's current inconsistency, it has provided a very consistent weather – every day has been sunny. Okay, well maybe 95% of the days, with a few cloudy days, for at least some of it.

I've been warned to prepare for a cold January, possibly even Christmas, which would make for a change, having lived through Australian Christmas' all my life, and they usually fall on warm to hot summer days. Given that it is Spain, and I am on the coast, I doubt I will see my first white Christmas, but I suppose anything is possible. It snowed one day here last winter, which was a first in about 80 years, I am told.


Quiero Habla Español

I finally started to take Spanish lessons, having just spoken my version of broken Spanish as best I can. A few words here and there. But I am serious about learning the language, and being able to communicate with others.

And the problem with language here is that there are so many of them. Our neigbours are Finnish, and we helped celebrate the Finnish national day last weekend, which marked Finland’s 100th birthday. I got invited to play a game of hockey with them (which was played last night, and I survived) so now I think I may need to brush up on my Finnish, as I may play a weekly game with them.

And given that there is currently six foot of snow back in Finland, our neigbours are some of those frequenting the beaches at the moment, just one week out from winter. And who can blame them?



Main image used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com. All other images are my own.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Blasphemous
Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves

Songlines - Short stories inspired by songs.

When the Levee Breaks
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
It's So Easy

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Sounds like great fun, part of my heritage is Scandinavian so Finish culture is close.

It was a lot of fun. Finnish people are particularly friendly, in my experience. Perhaps it helped that the team I was on won the game. Maybe I should reserve judgement until I am on the losing side.

I'm hoping to experience my first white christmas soon as well. We would finally know the answer to the question I posed about the rain. I await your updates regarding that. I'm really happy that you've found your groove there, mate! Doubly happy to see you healthy :D

si alguna vez necesitas otro compañero de práctica, sabes dónde encontrarme

Well if you have the privilege to do so then I'd love to hear about it. Ideal blog post material. I'm still awaiting more rain to know just what actually happened to the rain in Spain. At the moment it doesn't appear to fall anywhere.

The hockey match was the first sporting activity I've participated in for 15 years. So I'm feeling it still, 3 days later. It was good fun though.

Voy a aceptar su oferta un día pronto

It's great that you were able to shake off the cobwebs without hurting too much though. You'll get back into the thick of things, I'm sure of it. Just don't forget to do tons of warm-up before matches.

thanks bro very nice blog

Thank you for your votes, and your comment. Glad you enjoyed it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61451.56
ETH 3442.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51