Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility

in #writing7 years ago

Cover

This is day 20 for me in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge. Today I am returning to the Notes From an Amateur Writer series, with the 16th installment.



MONTY PYTHON, KEANU REEVES, AND MY CASE OF INVISIBILTY

Sometimes I feel invisible. I wonder if I've left the house with my invisibility cloak on again. I berate myself for worrying and try to just allow what is to be. It's a nice sentiment, and one in which I usually agree. Except I hate feeling invisible.

Maybe that's why I write. To appear to people. In people's world. To be noticed. By others. By myself. Maybe I will notice myself if others notice me. It's all very silly. Monty Pythonesque perhaps. I shouldn't try to make myself laugh when I feel so introverted. If I'm not going to take myself seriously who will?

I was on the bus today. Same bus I take at least once per week. I pressed the button to alert the driver I wish to get off at the next stop. The sign at the front of the bus even lit up confirming my button pressing technique is a winner. Except the driver wasn't stopping. I stood at the rear door. Waited for the bus to stop. It slowed down. But then nothing. I shouted out and pointed to the sign. He apologised for not stopping. He didn't apologise for rendering me invisible.

Three times now in the last month that has happened to me. Happened to me a few months ago on a different service. My invisibility does not discriminate it seems. Makes me think of Monty Python yet again. What would they do? Probably tell me to look on the bright side of life. Except that would introvert me even more. Make me blurt out something nonsensical, perhaps like I wasn't expecting the Spanish Inquisition. But then no one ever expects the Spanish Inquisition.

These were just random words I wanted to write today. I was hoping their order wouldn't be too random. That would make reading a difficult task. But the subject matter was undecided when I sat down at the computer. Then I remembered my recent bout of invisibility. And then Monty Python showed up. A bit like how my ideas just appear. I'm looking left, my ideas creep up from the right. Weren't expecting us, were you? And I'm usually not expecting them. They hide out in the same place as the Spanish Inquisition.

Makes me wonder if I should write a story about an invisible man. But how would people interact with him? Who would the antagonist be? Someone who can see invisible people, but loathes them? And the poor invisible man is just trying to get across town, but every time he tries to get off the bus it refuses to stop. Perhaps it's a story about a battle between the invisible man and a bus with an attitude. No invisible people allowed in here the bus screams. But the invisible man doesn't know that the bus is talking to him. He hasn't established that he is invisible yet.

Cue out of control bus, with an invisible man trying to stop it. Like the movie Speed, except you couldn't have Keanu Reeves playing an invisible man. His acting isn't that wooden. And besides he is Neo. He can do whatever he wants. Including ignoring me, like all the bus drivers in Melbourne.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.


Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words

Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]

Sort:  

You are seen, brother. I see you. Even though I tend to identify as a Forgettable Man more, I have forgotten to remove my invisibility cloak on a number of occasions as well. Perhaps we Invisible Men need to stick together to make ourselves less invisible. Maybe our shared density cuts through the light, rendering us slightly visible, the more of us we pool together.

I couldn't help but think that such is the curse of the author. There are authors who become more famous than their stories, but most of the time, our stories outlive us, disconnecting itself from our name. Take comfort in the fact that you are not alone, and we Invisible Men can see each other even if the whole world doesn't.

The curse of the author, indeed. Perhaps its what drives us on, creating unconscious alliances, and understandings. The silent nod, the secret greetings, between writers in the know. I try to make light of it, laugh at myself (or with myself), but it's there, lurking. Still it is a fuel of sorts, and as a writer that is needed. An ideas machine, a torch of inspiration. So long as I keep these things in perspective.

I appreciate the understanding and meaningful dialogue.

I'm in love with this idea. Thank you for sharing it with us. I'll be following--I love good fiction.

Awesome, glad to hear that. Some of my past fiction is linked at the bottom of the post. Otherwise stick around, there is more coming. :)

Yep. Reading through. You have skill.

Thank you very much. Always appreciate hearing things like that :)

I love the Monty Python, they make my favorite actors.

Lumberjacks are visible.

I'm a lumberjack, and I'm okay.
I sleep all night and I work all day

Yes they are, just like their dear papa.


People pass me in the street with barely a glance in my direction.

So I'm more interesting than I realised.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54