Notes #36 - Feeling Like an Alien

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

Typewriter


Notes From an Amateur Writer #36
FEELING LIKE AN ALIEN

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story forms, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.



Feeling Like an Alien

It's the simple things in life that can teach us so much. Like coffee. It's not complex, although I have had some over complicated experiences with it in the past. Like ordering a black coffee, and being asked if I wanted milk with it. I came to the realisation in Melbourne that it is not usual to have coffee without milk. Alien almost. And I feel like an alien sometimes, so perhaps that is why black coffee is my drink of choice.

And here in Spain black coffee is legit. It is accepted. It even has a name. Americano. You ask for an Americano and you get a black coffee. No strange looks. No superfluous jugs of milk. No confused waiters. Just a black coffee. I'm still trying to work out why it's called an Americano. I have my theories, but I don't know for certain just yet.

And, on the whole, coffee here tastes like coffee should. The Spanish know how to make a good coffee. Perhaps they learned from the Italians, given their proximity. Perhaps it is just innate. Now having said that, you can still get an awful coffee here. But it will be from the non-Spanish run cafes. If it's run by the English don't even bother. I'm not sure why that is, but it seems to be across the board.

Mind you, the English men also don't seem to mind walking down the street, and even entering cafes, sans shirt. No shame in parading their big sweaty bellies to the world. Something I have yet to see one Spanish man do. A bit of class and dignity goes a long way.


Learning to Speak

It has been interesting watching all this, as an immigrant myself now. I'm fully aware that this is not my country, and I am a guest here. I appreciate the opportunity. I speak (rudimentary) Spanish when I can. Not much more than to say hello, and goodbye, and a couple of other things. It's interesting getting all tongue tied, saying hola (hello) when I am leaving (having meant to say goodbye), and feeling like a kid again learning to speak. Or standing there trying to remember what the word even is, and having nothing come out your mouth. Odd, but amusing.

But this is Spain, and I am here to enjoy and experience Spain. So I am learning the language. Slowly, but getting there. Making Spanish friends – and this is generally easy to do, as they are friendly. There are also other nationalities around, and I am making friends in these groups also. There are many Northern Europeans here, not just English. But the other nationalities tend to stick in their groups, and avoid the Spanish, and avoid learning or speaking the language. I have no interest in this approach. It would be a missed opportunity, in my eyes, if I did this.

Like they say (or perhaps should say) - When in Spain, do as the Spanish.

Hasta luego, amigos.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.

#@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Blasphemous
Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves

Songlines - Short stories inspired by songs.

When the Levee Breaks
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
It's So Easy

Sort:  

I was about to say the same thing. If you're an immigrant, it's only proper to immerse yourself in the culture. Everyone else won't adjust to your way of doing things just because you don't want to adjust to theirs. Homecourt takes priority always.

Aliens will always be aliens if they don't make an effort to blend in with the locals. I'm so happy that you're having a great time there, my friend!

Also, I noticed you got a curie vote. I know we met through there, but how did you manage to acquire one? Especially considering that you're a powered down dolphin.

There is so much culture here, and new things to explore and learn, so it should keep me busy, and immersed for some time. I'm enjoying it, and in a way it's helping me feel more alive, which is never a bad thing.

As for the Curie vote, yes I did notice that. No idea how that came about, but my best guess, due to the % involved (2.6) is it appears to be connected to a trail. Took me by surprise also.

It's a great surprise though! Any boost is a good boost! Just keep at it, mate! The faster you get back to 100% the better :D

Yes, it was a pleasant surprise. Thanks mate :)

I am also an amateur writer, I will enjoy reading what you write I think. I like it so far! Best of luck, I will look forward to your posts.

Thank you for your comment, I appreciate it. Yes, I do some amateur writing, I was doing much more a few months back. Glad you enjoyed it. Hopefully I will have more to say in the weeks to come.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

In South Africa we have a band called Black Coffee. Thanks for upvoting my post and following me on here, much appreciated! I hope you have a WONDERFUL day! 😀 😃 😄 😁

Thanks for your comment. Black Coffee sounds like a cool name for a band. Or if it was a 50s or 60s style band - Black Coffee and the Lattes.

Yes. Thanks so much for connecting on here!

So cool to see your posts again. Learning about other cultures is so fascinating, I can't really understand why some people choose not to?

Thank you, I'm very happy to be able to write again. Hopefully it bit more often, but all in good time. There is so much interesting and unique culture here. I'm enjoying just being surrounded by it, and trying to soak it up even via osmosis. Some of the language is starting to sink in.

I like your way of doing things (immersing in where you are) much better, makes more logical sense. Doesn't seem like much point being somewhere new and interesting if you're just going to stick with your own little groups and refuse to associate outside of that XD Much more to be learned your way too :D

goatsig

Good point!

Yes, and there is so many new things to learn by wondering off the regular path (so to speak). It's challenging, but enjoyable.

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

This post has received a 0.22 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78