Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Fairy

This is day 14 for me in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge.



LEARNING TO FLY

There were times when, in my previous job, I wouldn't be at the top end of town, hobnobbing with the rich and famous, but would be in the 'normal' part of town. With my own type of people, so to speak. Many of my clients were just regular folk, paying me to do a job for them, and operating under the budgetary constraints and pressures that the majority of us do. Whilst I loved the big jobs, they came with their own stresses. Yes they helped my own financial situation. But the bigger the pay cheque then the bigger the job requirements and expectations. This is life.

In my regular type of job I could be in and out in a couple of hours. Left reasonably free of stress, and able to actually enjoy my work. Hard to believe given some of the jobs I have done in the past, but true none-the-less.

Many of the clients I worked for over the years had young families. I worked at many jobs where young children would be around. Usually unseen by me (though not always unheard), but occasionally I would have the curious toddler, filled with inquisitive wonder at this new person in their house, and what it was they were doing. It was often followed by apologies from one, or both, of the parents.

VIEWING THE WORLD THROUGH THE EYES OF A CHILD

And yet those apologies were never warranted. I don't mind childlike curiosity. It never interfered. It was always polite. Often entertaining. And yes, sometimes it did slow me down, just a little. That was a price I was willing to pay to not stomp on a child's sense of wonder at the world around them.

Usually when I got to the job, pleasantries would be exchanged between the adults who were present. The "how are you?", followed by the "good, thank you", or "fine, yourself?". Polite conversation for people that are mostly just strangers. Still somewhat artificial, and indicative of a social veneer we all seem to operate under. But not children, they haven't learned these obligations yet.

There were many examples of children asking me dozens of questions, following me around the house as I worked, or offering me advice about how things worked, from their perspective. Not one ever got in my way, or interfered with my ability to actually do my work. They mostly just stood to the side watching, and chatting to me. And I let them. I often encouraged it, by responding and interacting, verbally.

Mushroom

DISCOVERING THE FAIRY WORLD

There was one little girl I remember in particular. She would have been no more than 4 years old when I saw her. She was dressed in her favourite fairy outfit that day, including two wings protruding from her back. And what I learned that day was she wasn't actually a 4 year old girl; at least not the day I was there. No, she was a real life fairy. And did I know that fairies can fly? I had heard the rumours I told her, but I'd never seen it for myself.

"Well fairies can fly. It's true," she told me, very matter-of-factly. And who was I to argue?

"I believe you." She had me convinced with the weight of her argument.

"Would you like to see?" Would I ever, I thought. Fairies can obviously read minds as well.

"I would love to see a fairy fly. I've never seen such a thing before."

"Watch this," she said, as she stood at the start of the garden path a few metres from where I stood. Next thing she ran as fast as she could past me to the other side of the garden. "Did you see that?"

"As a matter of fact I did. How did you do that?"

"Because I'm a fairy, silly." As they say – 'ask a silly question...'

She proceeded to the start of the path, and 'flew' past me yet again. Several more times followed. Her mum arrived a few minutes later and apologised for her daughter holding me up.

"No, it's no problem at all. She was showing me how she can fly," I said, smiling at her daughter, to let her know we had a secret understanding about what had just taken place.

"Oh, were you now?" her mother asked. "Well come inside and leave Scott to finish his work." I didn't think my work was as important as interacting with the Fairy World. Unfortunately 'The One Who Pays For The Job' had spoken, and the world of imagination had to shelved yet again.

So for a brief time in suburban Melbourne, a portal to the Fairy World opened to me, and I got to meet a real life fairy. And I'm telling you – they really can fly.

Fairy World


Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.


Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition

Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

What a sweet girl. Love her imagination!

She was indeed. One of the highlights of the job. She had a powerful imagination, and no fear in sharing it.

The more I read your work the more I like it, this post was actually amazing, I enjoyed every word of it.

The words literally just flew from the screen (forgive the pun - is it a pun?) anyway the story was a real delight to read, thanks again for sharing.

Thank you, I appreciate reading that. I had a lot of fun writing this one. Perhaps that helped with the flow of words. The concept of imagination, and creative freedom is a biggie for me, so I go to it a lot. There's so many ways to explore it.

I guess you already know my comment for this one--talking about learning to fly and looking at the world through a child's eyes. So, I'll just say that we could all use that childlike naivete from time to time. It's always awesome to look at the world through innocent eyes. So filled with wonder, so filled with possibility. Growing up, we lose that sense of wonderment, so it's nice to be reminded that it's easy to get back into that youthful groove from time to time.

I was listening to a conversation that Neil Gaiman was having at a writers festival recently. In answer to a question, he started to talking about the creative process. He was really just thinking out loud, but a part that stuck with me was when he mentioned how "we all know that if a Werewolf bites you on the night of a full moon, well you turn into a Werewolf. But what would happen, if say, a Werewolf bites a ... goldfish? Or a chair you are sitting in, and that turns all hairy etc."

It just got me thinking about the imaginative process, and looking at the world with childlike wonder and curiosity. To look at the world anew, and ask of things in general, "What would happen if?"

Oh wow! You met Neil Gaiman? Or at least was in the same place as him? That's so cool! I was supposed to go to a book signing he did here a few years ago, but was unable to because of my corporate job.

Yeah, that's my approach for A Day in the Clouds as well. I tried to let go of science and logic, and try to think how someone who doesn't know something sees things. Knowing how something works really gets rid of that sense of wonderment, since it already lays out the explanation. It's like that definition of "magic is only science that has yet to be explained."

No, didn't meet the great man. Wasn't even in the same room as him, unfortunately. It was a YouTube video. Perhaps my penchant for name dropping misled you, sorry!

I liked that about your story - the sense of wonder and child-like bravado, set in the so-called real world. But as seen by someone who is also in their own world. The interaction of the two, from the protagonists perspective, jelled well.

Fun! I like how you have a bit of fantasy bleed into the humdrum reality of life. Its a wonderful contrast. Thank you for taking the time to put this together!

Thank you so much for visiting and reading. Glad you enjoyed it.
This is a theme I am exploring quite a bit at the moment. Writing about it, but also just considering it in general. Imagination, and the creative process. It connects to the childlike way of thinking and viewing the world in myriads of ways.

This is why I love reading and writing fantasy and sci-fi. I think these particular genres have the potential to teach people so very much. No limits really...

I agree. That's why I also like the term Speculative Fiction as well as Science Fiction.

I didn't think my work was as important as interacting with the Fairy World. Unfortunately 'The One Who Pays For The Job' had spoken, and the world of imagination had to shelved yet again.

I'd like to meet a fairy someday...

Keep your eyes open, and your heart playful. Seems they are all around us, or so I am told. I had the good fortune of meeting one that day.

Your writing skills are amazing! I think you have the best chances to win!

That's very kind of you to say that. Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64356.37
ETH 3512.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54