Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter

I am now into my 2nd week in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge. So far I have managed to publish an article every day, and have it loosely based on the topic of writing. For the 30 days at least I still intend to publish 1 per day. After that then we'll see. Probably not as often. And by then I may start looking at getting back into story publishing. But for now I am enjoying the challenge, it's a lot of fun.



THE HOUSE AT THE EDGE OF THE WORLD

I just started to write out a (very) rough draft intro or prologue to the Nomad idea I discussed yesterday. There is definitely a novel in this, just not sure when to allocate time to this, given all the other projects on the go.


He had been on the run now for many days. Without an awareness of just who he was on the run from, or even the exact reasons behind the pursuit. But there had been clues left. Hints detected. Subtleties reached out to him through the ether and communicated with his intuitive capabilities. At least that is how he explained it to himself. A darkness had encroached, but only since he had entered the city. This grand, modern metropolis. A place that appeared to be more of a monument to the skyscraper, and the flashing neon light, than an actual dwelling place for humans. But it was their dwelling place. Millions of them. Not that he had counted them. An estimate, derived from the overwhelming size, noise, smell, and density of the urban cage he now found himself in.

Nomad had never seen anything like it. No such cities existed in the reality he had known originally. Nor had any such urban jungle been witnessed in the previous realities he had found himself in. He no longer kept count of those realities. It must have been in the dozens by now.

And just like the first time it had occurred - the awakening into a seperate, and unknown version of planet Earth – the jump between worlds had arrived without fanfare. Without anyones notice, or attention. But the details have stayed vivid in Nomad's memories. The exact place from which the first jump was launched. The one that brought him to the second alternative dimension. If that's what it is? Nomad believed so. Dimensions, alternate realities; does it really matter? It mattered to him once, way back. When this was all so new. Frighteningly new. Some of those pieces have been put together. Some of those mysteries have been observed. But probably just a small fraction of the grand mystery Nomad now found himself in. And he knew it. He had come to peace with his new found status as a lost traveller between dimensional worlds and realities.

Every day upon waking he would remind himself of what he held to be a solid fact. He made himself speak the words aloud: "One of these dimensions is my home."

enter image description here


Now Nomad found himself in a world that was bearing down on him like nothing he had felt in any of the previous realities. A presence, far greater than just the mega statues of concrete, steel, and pulsing electricity hung over him. It actually appeared to hang over the whole world. Did the other people feel it? Had they just learnt to live with it? Nomad had no way of knowing, not without getting to know the locals. And that could happen, if he found the opportunity. If the time presented itself.

The problem, as Nomad saw it, was this presence. Was it this dimension's sense of awareness of the invader in its midst? As crazy as it sounded it was no more insane than the notion of being in a dimensional loop. Nomad now found himself in a reality, or a series of them, where the old rules of what defined normal or otherwise just could no longer be relied upon. From this point on he would really have to be on his guard.

And he needed to get out of the city. He knew exactly where to get to. It was the one constant on each and every version of Earth Nomad had encountered.

Nomad needed to get to 'the house at the edge of the world'. That is what he had come to refer to it as. It was his one and only known exit. The portal, to places unknown. From his current place unknown. He had no choice but to keep trying, until he found himself back home. For some reason it existed on each and every version of Earth he had found himself on. A constant in a see of variables.

The only problem he faced now, as far as he could determine was just exactly where on Earth was he? This city was massive, but it could be any where. He knew he had to start somewhere, and usually the best place for that was the place he was currently located in. Was there any other option?No there wasn't. Nomad knew what task lay before him – leave the city and find 'the house at the edge of the world''. It was his only exit; his only potential way home.


Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.


Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

You write beautifully. It flows very well and is a pleasure to read.

Thank you, that's very encouraging :)

A constant in a see of variables.

_* A constant in a sea of variables.

Other than that, this is top notch stuff, brother! Way to return to form! Nomad is in very good hands, and these teasers have gotten me hyped about the story coming to life. The desperation, confusion, optimism and hopelessness he's feeling is so effectively conveyed in this tightly written entry. The length was perfect, and I could imagine myself reading chapters of these and feeling quite fulfilled.

I really like how he has this one track mind to achieve his goal. It's effective in riling up feelings of motivation. Great work with this, mate!

There's one that got through by extremely tight editing process! Seriously though how did I miss that? Glad I didn't write "C of variables".

Thanks for keeping me in check because I do take that sort of thing seriously. And the feedback is also highly appreciated. Every bit helps my understanding of what the reader enjoys and is looking for.

C of variables would've been quite puzzling. I might take a few minutes trying to analyze if it means something cryptic! I have a story that does the same thing--make you question whether or not the words used are correct. It's one of those that I submit to publishers. But, if I don't hear back from any, then it's definitely Steem bound haha!

You do the same for me, mate, so of course I'm happy to help out any way I can :D

Yes puzzling, and amateurish. Which would match the title of the series. How's that for an analysis?

Have you already submitted work to publishers? Did I read and understand that correctly? I would love to know more about that, I haven't ventured that far out of my comfort zone yet.

I talked to an editor, who, in turn shopped it around for a bit. I didn't really write cover letters directly, as I'm much too scared to do that for now. Perhaps when I get some mileage and more positive feedback, I would consider taking a trip outside my comfort zone haha

Well I think even just taking the step of talking to an editor is a huge step in the right direction. I applaud you. Just keep going in that direction. I'll do what I can to help from a feedback perspective.

There is a good metaphor in this premise- the house at the edge of the world leading to New Dimensions is like the fork in the road that leads to new opportunities.

Indeed it is, thanks for pointing that out. I felt that more than I actually observed it. Interesting! I do like the language of metaphor.

Not bad! Very good twist at the end... Do I smell a sequel? Followed you!

Thank you. It's not my best writing, just exploring an idea, but I do think the idea has merit. As for a sequel - theres more than that coming. This is really just a prologue to a complete story. So at some point in the near future I will be exploring this concept in a novel length story.

Every writer has to start somewhere! The writer that is brave enough to share their writing with others will benefit from their views and opinions and more easily become an even greater writer! Keep it up!

Thanks for that. Learn by doing, even if it's publicly. This is a good place for that, I think.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54