Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition

in #writing7 years ago

Lego

This is day 13 for me in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge.



THE TIME I WON A LEGO COMPETITION

Reflecting back - as I did in my post yesterday - over childhood experiences, and if any lessons could be derived from them - lead to me remembering another early scenario I found myself in. It was a little bit later in my childhood, perhaps I was around 12 at the time. Our family used to holiday several times per year at an inland regional city called Bendigo. It is a beautiful old town, with many buildings still standing from the early gold rush period of the 1850's.

I used to like spending the holidays there. It was a small enough place that there was plenty of bush land around our accommodation for a kid to explore and make his own fun. Perhaps that place helped develop my love of the uniquely Australian landscape.

As a young child I also had another way of having fun, and losing myself within a self created landscape. At that time I was crazy about Lego. I had been for many years prior to that also. I spent most of my meagre paper-round earnings on it.

Lego 2

VENTURING INTO NEW TERRITORIES

One time we went into the centre of Bendigo where one of the major department stores was running a Lego competition. It was purely coincidental that I was there that day. If I remember correctly it was a competition for kids, up to about 15, or thereabouts. They supplied the Lego, and the competitor's job was to build something. The best construction won a prize, and moved up to the next level.

Never having won anything in my life, let alone even entered a competition such as this, I decided to give it a go. My family were with me, and watching whilst I stood around the table that held a vast array of different Lego blocks. There were about a dozen others also having a go.

I got to work constructing something out of Lego. I say 'something' as I don't think I gave it any thought, and just went to work building and putting the pieces together. I went into a 'Lego zone' and forgot my surroundings and just had fun. The buzzer to signal 'no more time' went off, and suprised me. Perhaps I had forgotten I was in a competition, and not at home just messing about. The judge went around all the kids inquiring about their piece and what it is they had constructed. I watched this procession make its way towards me before I realised I didn't know what I had built. I just put Lego pieces together. In a way that amused and entertained me. Wasn't that enough?

I looked at my own construction. It did resemble something. That was good. What it was I don't remember. It must have been good because I won that round. The judge listened to my explanation of what I had built, and then he made his announcement. I went away with a small box of Lego, and a sense of pride for having won. And to be honest, a sense of confusion, because I don't know how I managed it.

I was given the details for the second round which was taking place in just a few days. When that time arrived we all made our way back to the location, and I took my place around the table again. I had a buzz, and was still feeling happy about having won already. This time all the competitors were winners, having placed first in their round. Still I went into it like I had in round one – with absolutety no plan and no thought given to what it was I was about to build.

Lego 3

BLINDED BY THE LIGHT

I just got blinded by all the Lego, and forgot myself. I went into the fun zone again. The buzzer went to signal the end, and it struck me. I looked at what I had built, and knowing I would have to explain what it was realised I actually had no idea what I had built. It was a mishmash of blocks and piles of blocks, and Lego figures, all put together by the kid with no plan.

"Ah, um, it's a futuristic junkyard," I said sounding unconvincing, but managing to amuse the judge. What the hell is a futuristic junkyard I thought? Perhaps everybody was thinking the same thing. Needless to say I didn't win round two. Interestingly enough the kid who did win it was someone who lost to me the first time. The rules did stipulate you get one entry and can't try out any more times. He had, which didn't bother me. I just looked at him, and then it struck me – he had a plan. He thought it all through. From the second attempt, to the piece he had built.

I was busy having fun. Following my dream. And I think these are important. I touched on this in yesterday's post. Dream, and don't lose sight of your dream. But a little planning may come in handy as you pursue your dream.

As child I was certainly not given any lessons in these matters. I had to learn them all myself. Which means I had to learn by doing. And messing up, usually. And now looking back and seeing what lessons can be derived from those experiences.

DREAMS AND REALITIES

Dream, absolutely. But put some planning in place. Give the matter some thought. Right brain and left brain working as a team. This is similar to what I was discussing in the post on Story Structure. Part of me just wants to write. But to succeed as a writer one needs both the dream, and the planning to help bring that dream into reality. With regards to writing, learning about structure is part of that plan. There is a lot more to it than just that, but that is certainly a key element. Dream, but also plan. This is what I learned from my brush with Lego fame and glory.

If I had a plan then maybe I could have made it to the final round. Perhaps I could have won the grand prize. Still I did win one round. And it was a lot of fun.


Images sourced from unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.


Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table

Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Really nice post, had a real feel of nostalgia, it was also nicely done when you related it to dreams and planning.

Thank you for your comment. Glad you could get a certain feeling from the writing. As I was writing it I could sense how it related to the post I uploaded yesterday, so wanted to have these side by side. Thanks for your feedback.

Television often the pictures Australia as a land of venomous reptiles, So when you say you were out playing in the bush I immediately saw your Lego figures battling brown snakes.

I'm sure there would have been snakes around (in the summer months). I did see a few of them as a kid. Not there in Bendigo though. It's every (Lego) man for himself in the Australian bush land.

Don't we all get lost in the nether when building with lego? I know I do if there is no plan then I build awesome things that make no sense.
Thanks for sharing.

Yes, I know the feeling. Lego is about fun and imagination. Put random pieces together and see what results. That was usually my strategy. In the right circumstances it can be the perfect strategy.
Thanks for your comment

Resteemed this is pure gold, thanks for sharing

Many thanks for doing that, and for sharing your feedback.

It was a long time ago, but thanks.

@naquoya
Nice Job!
Keep the good work up!
Thanks for sharing

And thank you for dropping by to my little blog space here at Steemit :)

With your single-minded focus to succeed, I'm sure you're going to do just that, mate! I love how you were so introspective as a child, as I was the same way. It's comforting knowing I wasn't alone. Legos were my thing as well. I won a Lego Bandit competition then, but I don't remember much of it, I just know I have a certificate telling me I won. I think Lego is great to spark a child's imagination. Now that I think about it, I think it was my gateway to creating universes. I needed a tangible world that I can manipulate before I graduated to full-on imagination haha!

It's a great gateway to creating our own worlds, in a way. Lego is a gateway drug to writing, and conscious creative pursuits. Shhhh, don't tell any politicians. That's cool you got the certificate. Not sure if I got something like that. Maybe it got lost over the years.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64354.36
ETH 3507.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54