Notes #27 - The Narrator and I

in #writing7 years ago

cover


Notes From an Amateur Writer #27
THE NARRATOR AND I

This Blog series is an exercise in creative writing. Sometimes expressed in short story forms, sometimes as a journal, or just my thoughts written down. This is my attempt to help coalesce my writing ideas and knowledge into usable form. It is a nursery of sorts for the stories that are on their way, or yet to be written.


The Voice of the Narrator

Sometimes I feel like there is a narrator in my head telling me what is happening. Telling me the story. My story. I'm not really sure why. Perhaps it's in case I missed something. It can happen. Sometimes I miss things. I missed a whole year once. I'm not really sure how that happened. I didn't believe him at first. I didn't believe that voice in my head. But he told me it happened. That a whole year had passed.

Maybe it's like when you are reading and the story is so good you let it run wild in your mind. And it does run wild. It goes places. Just not the places in the book. But you're still reading. And when you get to the bottom of the page you can't remember what you just read. You just remember what you were doing when you read it. The places you went. Maybe it was like that.

Or maybe that is just what happens to me.


Fight Club

I was reading Fight Club. I have seen the movie. Many times. I wanted to know what the book was like. I was reading the part where Marla was attempting suicide. The police were at the door. "Let us help you! Miss Singer, you have every reason to live! Just let us in, Marla, and we can help you with your problems!"

It made me wonder why the police go out of their way to prevent suicide attempts. Perhaps its just the movies (or books in this case), and they don't actually do that. But it seems they do. They seem to spend as much effort keeping the suicidal here as they do tracking down and locking up criminals. These actions appear to be at odds with each other, but are they really? It just made me wonder, that's all. If you are alive and doing okay then you are ignored. But break the law or seek eternal release and you will show up on a radar somewhere. Alarm bells go off. Emergency plans go into action. Life is strange. But don't you dare try to get out of it. You will do your time just like the rest of us.

The narrator tells me to hurry up. To stop thinking about death so much. It isn't healthy. I am writing this in a journal. What isn't healthy is my handwriting. It sits somewhere between a doctor's and a criminal's. I think I hear alarm bells go off. Am I on a radar somewhere? A pinging green dot growing larger? At least I'm not suicidal. I'm not trying to get out of my sentence lightly. I will do my time like everyone else. I wonder if any one actually knows what our crime was?


It Must Have Been a Monday

Like I said, I'm not suicidal. But my handwriting, it looks like death. I have jittery hand writing. Not normally, just today. Perhaps because I haven't written in a while. Or perhaps because I am writing this on a Monday. Yes, that's it – this is my Monday handwriting. I'll type this up, no one will know. Typing defies categorising. It goes under the radar.

The narrator tells me it's time to stop. I have places to go now. Handwriting journal number one has been interesting. A lot like reading a doctor's prescription.

And I still wonder what happened in that year. The one I don't remember. If I had been keeping a journal then I could look back and fill in the blanks.

I imagine an old journal. From my mystery year. I'm searching for clues. Trying to find out what happened. I read through it wanting to know more. Unfortunately this is what I see:

Journal Entry: [undecipherable text...something about a doctors visit (I think)...etc].

I must have written that on a Monday. Life is a strange, life is a mystery. Especially life that year.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse
Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2
Notes From an Amateur Writer #19 - Telling Stories
Notes From an Amateur Writer #20 - Life Is Like a Box of Crazy
Notes From an Amateur Writer #21 - Writing Myself Out of Existence
Notes From an Amateur Writer #22 - The Finish Line Becomes the Next Starting Line
Notes #23 - It Is Sometimes An Appropriate Response To Reality To Go Insane
Notes #24 - The Happy Smiley People Ad Agency
Notes #25 - Some Days Are Full of Blah
Notes #26 - Stop and Smell the Future

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Haha! You're definitely not alone. If your narrator could write half as well as you could, then I would have him narrate my life any day. It's so strange to compare it to Fight Club haha but yeah, I do see how it's connected. Let's just hope it doesn't lead you to selling soap!

Personally, my narrator sounds like the one in Stranger than Fiction, with that snarky and sarcastic tone of voice. It's hard missing details because I get ridiculed about it for a number of hours.

Monday Naquoya is awesome haha!

Thanks for the randowhale vote :)

Maybe I should try a different narrator for each day of the week, see how that goes. A different story character to mimic even. The things you do when you're a writer. Start looking at the world differently and the world starts looking back at you kinda weird.

Having an inner narrator that mocks and ridicules could be a problem. Unless you threaten to write about him. "I'll put you in my story! I'm a writer, remember."

New short story idea - The Curse of the Narrator.

That's an awesome idea! That way, you can see what voice clicks with a wider audience and which ones you find enjoyable to write. The intersect between them would yield the voices you could bank on. Science!

That's the good thing about blogs like this. We can practice different styles and voices if we like. Journals also. Once i have a few books finished being read and fresh in my mind I may attempt a week of something like that. Maybe a new project.

Interesting post. Sort of stream of consciousness. I like it :)

I'm glad I cleaned out my 'follow' list so I actually catch stuff like this now - you know, stuff I actually enjoy reading, lol..

Glad you enjoyed it. It is sort of stream of consciousness. A few of my blog posts have turned out that way.

I couldn't keep track of my follow list either until recently. Had to trim it back, so I know how you feel. Thanks for the comment :)

Yep. This was great. My eyes lit up when I saw this in my feed. I especially liked this part:

Maybe it's like when you are reading and the story is so good you let it run wild in your mind. And it does run wild. It goes places. Just not the places in the book. But you're still reading. And when you get to the bottom of the page you can't remember what you just read.

That happens to me all the time. Glad I'm not alone!

Okay good, so it isn't just me :)

Thanks for your comment. Lots of stream of consciousness writing at the moment, while i work on a couple of short stories. I am really enjoying this style of writing.

It's really good. Please keep posting them!

Thank you :)

I know exactly what happened to your missing year. You handed in a Monday page of your journal to the pharmacy.

Is that why they gave me those strange looking pills?

But you took them.

Probably - I don't remember. My journal is no help either.

I turned 68 a few days ago and realized that but for a few raggedy memories I had lost my whole childhood. As to my hand writing my fingers can't keep up with my mind.

I think that may have been what was happening with my handwriting. Thinking way too quickly for my muscles to compute. As for childhood memories, now where did I put all of those...?

Hey I am new to steemit can you just checkout my post
Educating Yourself

Some friendly advice: If you would like to achieve success on Steemit you should drop the follow me, follow you or upvote me/upvote you thing. You need to state WHY you think it's a good post and if the person reading the comment likes what you have to say they might follow you. Also a large number of followers don't determine your success on Steemit if they don't actually vote for your stuff and engage in conversation. Some users are also offended by these kind of comments and may flag you, lowering your reputation.

thanks a lot for suggesting me @onetree . I will take care from next time for sure . I ma really liking this Platform . Thanks for guiding me

It is more than a pleasure. I wish you success here.

Most people will Flag you for this. I won't, but only this once. You can't just spam other peoples posts like this.

I am really sorry, I wont repeat it again , Can you suggest me few tips how to promote posts ?. And thanks for not flagging me .

You're welcome. Thank you for coming back and asking.

Do you use steemit.chat and Discord? That is where I would start. Perhaps watch this video https://steemit.com/minnowhelp/@minnowhelp/6bgvfa-minnowhelp-steemit-video-collection

Look into MSP (minnow support project).

Makes genuine comments (NEVER like 4 like or follow 4 follow, and NEVER cut and paste fake comments) - build relationships with people who share similar interest to you.

You have to start small and at the beginning, but work at it and see what happens. Just don't upset people, as many will flag you.

Don't be surprised it it take many posts before you get noticed. But keep going, with good quality and something will happen.

Best of luck to you :)

Yep I will sure check it out , see you again with some incredible posts and at least I become Dolphin ha ha by that time you will be a very big whale . see you on posts around.

I gave you a few cents towards your journey :)

Genuine communications will get you a long way. See you when you reach Dolphin status my friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57324.42
ETH 3010.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36