Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Typewriter

This is day 9 for me in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge. I think I may have missed a day or two at the start of the challenge.



MAKING PEACE WITH MY KINDLE

I love books. The physical, hard copy variety of them. If I could I would have a library full of them. Shelves, from floor to ceiling. But I don't have the room for such a luxury. Nor do I have the finances. I hold onto the dream; that doesn't cost me anything. But that actual reality will have to wait.

I also read e-books. I have many Kindle format books, and up until this point, I have only been able to access them via my computer's Kindle program, or even on my smart phone. I have found neither of these two options to be particularly ideal. The Kindle on the computer has never fully integrated itself into my reading style and requirements. Perhaps because when I am on the computer I am distracted by all the other things that have access to my attention.

enter image description here

As for the phone, well I just find that too small for reading. Sure I can manage it, but reading is meant to be a pleasant experience. And the phone's size is anything but. So I have a Kindle app on it, and access to my books, but rarely use it for that purpose.

So I eventually did what I have been wanting to do for some time now. I bought an actual Kindle. Not the app, not some program, not some after thought going to waste on one of my many electronic gadgets, fighting for my attention with all the other distractions that I have. No, I got the real deal, the Kindle reader. The paperwhite version, with its bright, backlit screen. I think I had been putting it off for so long as part of me felt like I was selling out. Turning to the dark side, from which there can be no return. Perhaps there can't be, i'll find out in due time.

enter image description here

But it is convenient, it is cheaper, and I have to say, I am loving it far more than I thought I would. So much so that my reading volume has gone up, by about 8 – 10 times. Being nearly the same size as a book, but lighter, and easier to hold, I have finally got the library I have always craved. Sure, it's the digital variety. The next best thing I know, but it's a stepping stone to my dream, and one that opened up my reading volume exponentially.

After resisting the encroaching digitalisation of my reading experience for so long, I have succumbed, and with humble decree I tell you: I have seen the future.

But because I am a stickler for tradition, I am keeping an eye (and a guiding hand) on the past.

enter image description here


Title image sourced from unsplash.com. The others are my own images.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow.


Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store

Sort:  

I've owned a Paperwhite for the best part of a year now and can honestly say I love it. Whilst many would argue about the "feel" and "authenticity" of a real book, my personal opinion is that it wins hands down on the convenience factor alone.

So glad you're having fun with it and long may it continue to serve all your literary needs!

Kool post, buddy! :)

Yes, I can see why. In the approx 2 weeks I have had mine it has changed my approach to reading. Extremely convenient, and that fact alone is opening up my literary world much wider. Glad to hear it's working for you too. Appreciate the comment :)

E-readers definitely help with getting from one cover to the other. I have a 100 book reading goal for the last two years, of which about 90% are in a digital format.

How do you feel about your retention rate? Is greater or lesser on digital than hardback?

So far I think the retention rate is the same. Although honestly its still too early days to really know. One inconvenience I didn't think to mention, as it kind of relates to review - an actual book is easier to flick through to where you remember seeing the information you want to look at again. The Kindle is a little trickier. But probably just a matter of getting used to.

Most of my books are digital format also. They had been sitting there just waiting and being wasted. Finished over 5 books in the last 2 weeks already (as opposed to normally half a book in that time).

Nice! The Kindle highlight and note storage system is still not where I would like it, but it has drastically improved since I started using Kindle in 2010.​

I'm still learning these extra features. I agree it's in an awkward place, but first I need to remember its even there in the first place and make use of it.

You know, I have been tempted may a time into buying one, but couldn't come around to it on account of financial considerations. I elected to use the app on my phone instead, tipping it horizontally for a wider read. I do like the e-ink it employs. I've been trying to emulate that for my author site that I've been planning to modify, but I have been unable to. Books are always a great investment, and having a digital library shouldn't be counted against you. These days, it's the most economical choice for us bibliophiles.

Yes, the cost put me off for over a year. Then I looked back at what I had spent on physical books in that time and realised I could have bought several Kindles. So I juts eased off on my book expenditure and saved at the same time. It has been worth the cost though just on the fact that I am reading so much more now.

An example of this is - if i'd go to a cafe just for a coffee and to relax, I may want to take a book, but I usually don't as I don't know always know what I am in the mood to read. So I end up just reading the paper. And I hate the paper. What a waste of time. I took the Kindle with me today, and just flicked through until I found what I wanted to read, and instead read a few chapters of one of the novels I am currently reading. That is why I am reading more with it - it has helped me utilise my time better, and create better reading habits.

That's a great selling point! It's truly the natural evolution to reading. If people are able to view on demand, then why shouldn't they be forced to read things the same way, right?


See your post mentioned here

My wife uses her Kindle all the time I am too much of an old geezer and still like the feel of paper in my hands.

I'm a bit in each camp. I appreciate the traditional. But the convenience and ease of the Kindle has taken me by surprise. With the benefit of helping my reading volume.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Good keep on loving your passion reading books is really enjoying and helpful, cheer up !!

Thanks for the comment. I'll do my best :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55971.81
ETH 2362.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32