Notes From an Amateur Writer #21 - Writing Myself Out of Existence

in #writing7 years ago

Typewriter

This is day 29 for me (I started 1 day late) in @dragosroua's 30 day writing challenge.



WRITING MYSELF OUT OF EXISTENCE

I've been thinking about a new story I wish to write. I've been giving it a chance to gestate in my mind before throwing my arms around it and making a claim of ownership over it. Before regurgitating it onto the page and sticking it to my refrigerator, displaying it proudly like the ghost of past finger paintings that were once there.

It seems to fit into the Nomad story idea that I have shared in the past. It's a short story, perhaps approx 5000 words. I get the sense that perhaps the Nomad character and his world are both a chance for me to explore themes and writing ideas, utilising a series of shorter stories. As opposed to a novel length idea I had originally conceived, where the character travels from A to B, and solves X, Y, and Z along the way. Zoom a bit more into specifics and deal with oddities and idiosyncrasies in a more storied format.

The idea that came to me, and which I have only just started to explore was the portrayal of a sort of Televangelist type of character, and the crowd who go to see him. Taken out of it's usual context of straight Old Testament teachings and Mid West locations and placed squarely into a surreal other dimensional setting. It has a working title; 'The Rules of Polite Society'. It's Speculative Fiction, which could really mean anything. Perhaps a bit fantasy, a bit SciFi.

I just wanted to explore new writing opportunities, practice new ideas, and put in place new things I am learning along the way. As I was developing the idea a second one came to me. Should it be within the context of Nomad's story? I'm still not sure. The idea is too new and fresh and needs development.

I was considering what I wrote in yesterday's post about my characters being aspects of me. This is nothing new to me. I think writers do this. At least I know I do. Either aspects of me, or aspects of the world I inhabit, and of which I am trying to make sense of. The question that rose in my mind though was 'why?'

I think it's to heal those aspects of myself. To make sense of broken, hidden, or discarded pieces. Make them whole, and let them be; let them move on or let them stay. To heal, in other words.

And then I considered the notion of myself as writer using writing to heal. There is a layer of that going on. It's secondary, but it's still there. I think if it were primary then my writing may get too self indulgent. I use humour to try to prevent that.

But back to the idea of an author using writing as a healing mechanism. Could I write a story about that? Could I write a story about an author who writes about his issues, subtly weaving them into his stories? And therefore leading to a healing within the author's life. Where the broken and discarded pieces become whole again, and fly free having been made peace with. And what are we without our broken pieces? Do we cease to exist? Does someone else replace us? A better, shinier version of us? Could I write that story? A story about an author who eventually writes himself out of existence?

And what does this have to do with Nomad? I think his world allows for all sorts of oddities. A place where I can project my own perceived oddities onto.

Time to start writing then.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse
Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2
Notes From an Amateur Writer #19 - Telling Stories
Notes From an Amateur Writer #20 - Life Is Like a Box of Crazy

Sort:  

I am glad I stumbled across this. It is interesting when you do a 360 evaluation of yourself and your view of the world, "perception is reality even if not in actuality" (Tony Robbins). When you actually vocalize and give life to what has been hiding in those secret spots that you attempt to overlook, it can be a very vindicating experience.

I'm glad you stumbled on it also. Always like getting thoughtful comments, so thank you. I tend to do a bit of self evaluation in my writing. In the blogs that is. Today's one maybe more so. I go with what feels natural when I am writing. Perhaps like you say, it is because it feels vindicating, or at the least liberating.

I find that there are some great voices here, which forces me to strive to be better in discovering how I want to describe the world. Allowing what boils from within to be released to the keyboard can sometimes be a challenging task. Keep up the good work, I am looking forward to seeing where this adventure takes me. Thanks...

Yes there are some wonderful voices here. I have noticed, and like you also, I find it pushes me. I try to read as many I can, within my areas of interest, and soak up their styles and ideas as a form of learning and encouragement.

What you've mentioned here,:

...discovering how I want to describe the world. Allowing what boils from within to be released to the keyboard can sometimes be a challenging task.

is the premise behind my Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series. Just wanted to write and explore, and hopefully offer something readable. And to help continue to develop my story ideas and skills.

Thanks again :)

Thanks go to you. I am looking forward to catching up on your series, it will be a weekend of binge imagination stimulation.

It does make sense that a writer explores part of him or herself. It is a very good way to explore and resolve aspects of yourself and inspect and explore your past and indeed your future.

As for your new work Nomad, it sounds absolutely up my street, I'm looking forward to it already :-)

And I think it is the fuel behind a lot of successful writing. The challenge is to do it well. Not turn it into a therapists visit at the expense of the poor readers. Which is where creating likeable characters comes into play. Yes they have issues - they would be boring and not too believable if they didn't. But do we care enough about them through these issues? In spite of them, or perhaps because of them.

I think I should have the Nomad story that was mentioned ready for after the end of my 30 day challenge (last day tomorrow).

I hope that you continue posting after the 30 day challenge, I've had some enjoyable reada over the last few weeks :-)

Thanks for that. I've also had some enjoyable writes over that time also. Yes I will continue. Maybe not everyday, but we will see. If I have something to say then I certainly will. I want to continue exploring writing idea. As well as publishing more stories.

It's certainly an intriguing prospect. That premise is full of potential, and what you've established in Nomad could certainly fit the bill. I'm definitely all for the questions that you posed. As you know, I'm interested in the same thing. So, I'm 100% behind your idea of creating a story like that, mate!

Us writers get it, don't we? Turning it into an interesting and readable story is the challenge though. Made me think of Valis by PKD. Where he is writing about himself, using the name Horselover Fat instead, but slipping into first person autobiographic instances from time to time to reinforce that it is him the story is about.

Oh, I'm not familiar with that. I would need to carve some time to read that. Definitely intriguing. It could get confusing if not done well, so that's the risk there. I have complete faith that you would be able to handle that neatly, mate!

Valis is one of my favourites of his. Although that is a near impossibility to pick a favourite. And yes it would be a challenge. It would need to be planned a bit, and then let the creativity loose to fill in the pieces. I will let it reside in my subconscious for a bit, see what it gives me in the future.

I think I should write that annoyance out of existence first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63156.26
ETH 3071.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86