Notes #23 - It Is Sometimes An Appropriate Response To Reality To Go Insane

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Typewriter

Notes From an Amateur Writer #23
The challenge has ended by the writing shall continue.



IT IS SOMETIMES AN APPROPRIATE RESPONSE TO REALITY TO GO INSANE

The world is made up of groups. They are everywhere. They run the world, and control our steps toward knowledge. They even oversee our spiritual nurturing and nourishment. And yet I can't help but wonder if groups are in fact a reflection of humanity's insanities. That groups are insane.

I look out and see people. I see individuals. They are real to me. I may not like everyone one of them that I meet but at least I have reasonable confidence that there is someone there, a soul or some spark of consciousness.

Groups are made up of these individual sparks. Constructed out of and built on top of these individual elements. But they have no soul in and of themselves. There is no individual consciousness inherent in a group. They sap out of the energy of the individuals and utilise that for the group dynamic. This is not necessarily a bad thing. But, to me at least, it usually turns out that way.

I have started writing a story that seems to be exploring this theme. Slowly building to a point where the protagonist realises that the people he sees around him and appear to be individuals are in fact just projected beams of group consciousness. Drones, or Borgs, if you like. And as with most groups, there is someone who sits at the apex of this. Where my story seems to be going is in asking the question who does this serve? When I have looked at this dynamic I have always assumed it served the leaders, the masters in the slave-master dynamic. But as with all things in life perhaps it's not always so black and white.

Who knows, I guess I will see how the story unfolds, and what subconscious ideas flow out as I write it. I wrote out over 2500 words so far, and I'm liking what I see. I will finish the story over the next week and tidy it up and get it edited by the MSP Fiction Workshop before publishing. I'm trying to step up the intent of my writing and take it the next level, if you like. Write more – yes, doing that. Write better – working on that, but having it judged by more of my peers will be a test.

Lessons From the Great PKD

I am rereading Valis by Philip K Dick. It has reacquainted me with one of my favourite quotes from any author:

"...it is sometimes an appropriate response to reality to go insane."

I believe that this is due to the fact that the reality we perceive around us, the one we experience on a daily basis has been swayed too far to the side of the group, to the detriment of the individual. And in the case of the individual going insane, as traumatic an experience as it is, it paradoxically is a healthy respsonse given the unhealthy nature of our reality. Certainly not ideal, and best to be avoided, by all means. But understandable.

Sometimes I feel that my life has been a lesson in how to stay sane despite all the groups and mass consciousness vying for my heart, for my soul, for my very essence.

And from Krishnamurti:

"It is no measure of health to be well adjusted to a profoundly sick society."

I think this quote reinforces this very notion. The individual wants to be themselves. To be free to express themselves, but even more than that. At a deeper level they seem to crave that connection from themselves – as themselves – to Life itself. And here I sense the irony, but perhaps also the ultimate ruse. 'Life' is a psuedo group dynamic. Consciousness itself, whatever it is that gives us our breath. It seeks neither to control or subjugate, but to enhance. We humans have concocted a quasi Life dynamic, a quasi goup consciousness. A breeding ground for control. Politics, religions, even in rare instances with families.

These energies influence a lot of what I write about. It is influencing what I am currently exploring with my latest story. I hope I can do it justice.



All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]

Notes From an Amateur Writer blog series:

Notes From an Amateur Writer #1 - The Search For Inspiration
Notes From an Amateur Writer #2 - A Call to Action: Interacting With the World Outside of Me
Notes From an Amateur Writer #3 - Facing the Challenge
Notes From an Amateur Writer #4 - The Soundtrack to Grief and Loss
Notes From an Amateur Writer #5 - Music as a Catalyst for Imagination: Jimi Hendrix's Little Wing
Notes From an Amateur Writer #6 - The Stories All Around Us
Notes From an Amateur Writer #7 - Introducing Nomad [A Cyberpunk Mystery in the Making]
Notes From an Amateur Writer #8 - The House at the Edge of the World
Notes From an Amateur Writer #9 - Making Peace With My Kindle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #10 - Learning the Craft of Story Structure
Notes From an Amateur Writer #11 - Adults Sit at the Big Table, Children Sit at the Small Table
Notes From an Amateur Writer #12 - The Time I Won a Lego Competition
Notes From an Amateur Writer #13 - Learning to Fly
Notes From an Amateur Writer #14 - The Tucker 48: Face to Face With a Million Dollar Vehicle
Notes From an Amateur Writer #15 - When the Levee Breaks: A Story in Song and Words
Notes From an Amateur Writer #16 - Monty Python, Keanu Reeves, and My Case of Invisibility
Notes From an Amateur Writer #17 - Dancing With My Muse
Notes From an Amateur Writer #18 - Facing the Challenge Part 2
Notes From an Amateur Writer #19 - Telling Stories
Notes From an Amateur Writer #20 - Life Is Like a Box of Crazy
Notes From an Amateur Writer #21 - Writing Myself Out of Existence
Notes From an Amateur Writer #22 - The Finish Line Becomes the Next Starting Line

Sort:  

I totally get what you mean, brother. If one wants to be considered as an individual, there has to be sacrifices with regard to fitting in with the tribal mentality that society has forced upon us. This is coming from someone who has had trouble fitting into groups.

It's so great to hear that you're continuing this series. You really do a nice job honing your craft, and all of the work you put into it shows in your work. You've been hitting everything out of the park, and it's no small feat. All of that could be traced back to those extra miles you take.

I have always had a strange relationship with groups. I was brought up in a very strict/dominant one. That is where it all started for me. Then I just noticed that they are everywhere, and the relish the opportunity to diminish the individual. So yes this highly influences my writing, and my interests in general. I'm not surprised to read that you have had similar experiences. Creative types can struggle with this I think. Creativity is an expression of the individual will, or soul, or heart. Whatever it is, it is the person's, not the group's.

Whilst I no longer have a strict timeline, nor do I feel the need to 'have' to write, I certainly will if I feel inspired. And I think I have learned to look around and notice more, so inspiration is more easily obtained. But we'll see what happens.

I guess that's why I struggle to maintain a stable footing in a group is because I yearn for that individuality. It simply doesn't want to be tied down, I guess.

It's great that you took that away from the challenge. I'm hoping to learn some lessons as well when I follow your example and go down the same path, mate.

I think you're right. To me the individual is the life blood of what's real. Of what is worth pursuing.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

I think that sanity is relative, and all biological beings are insane to one degree or another, as there are no objective ‘perfect’ states. Just a piece of my personal philosophy :-)

It possibly comes down to semantics and word games. Insane relative to what? Like you say, there are no perfect states. Food for thought, and fodder for writing.

That’s a good point you’re making.
It would have to be ‘insane’ when compared to a range of physiopsychological states that could potentially be reached by, for example, entities who have the ability to self-edit their own genetic code or entities that are not organic in constitution and also are not part of any existing food chains. I’m still looking for one such creature to make friends with ;-)

I love those 2 quotes, yay for the maladjusted!

Yes, indeed. The maladjusted, those that don't quite fit in. May they find the means to stop blaming themselves.

@naguoya this amazing...You make a very great post I really like this, you have a creative idea, good luck you are always successful in steemit and hopefully get a nice achievement as you have hoped hopefully not the idea that you have poured in this post because I am amazed to see the post now I have followed you, may you always succeed

Thank you very much. May we all succeed. Best wishes to you :)

I like the song lyric- I am a rock, I am an island. And a rock feels no pain, and an island never falls.

I know the one you mean. I like that explanation too.

Congratulations @naquoya! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54