Commenting on Steemit

in #steemit6 years ago

Steemit (1).png

Day 23 Question by @dragosroua

May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Twenty Three: How Many Comments Per Day Do You Post? Why?

Join the Challenge here

Seemit band.png

How Many Comments Do I Write a Day?

The first answer which came to my mind was: A LOT!

But that is one of those answers which doesn't mean a thing. A lot, a little, hard work or easy is so subjective that it is a meaningless statement to say that I write a lot of comments a day.

Luckily, I have https://steemworld.org/ by my side which has many neat features - among them that you can filter how many comments you wrote per day.

That is what I needed. It doesn't give you the number, you still have to count, but it really helps to get a good idea about your own behavior on this platform. Or, if you feel like it, you can check what other people are up to.

Here is what the comment filter function looks like

Screen Shot 2018-05-23 at 10.49.57 AM.png

I counted a few days and came close to 50 comments for several days, one was around 30 +. I also comment for the @freewritehouse. Between the two accounts, I can safely say that I write at least 50 comments a day.

Dang. That is a lot!!!

Ol53yrO.png

Why do I Write so Many Comments?

There are several reasons for this.

  • When I first got started here, a more experienced and successful Steemian @flauwy was nice enough to answer all the questions I asked in the comments on his blog posts. One of his suggestions was to write at least five comments on someone else's blog for each post of your own. Ten is better. I took that to heart and made it my policy.

  • If someone leaves me a comment, I respond to each one. That can lead to lots of comments.

  • I run the Daily Freewrite Prompt Project and every day, anywhere from 20 to 50 people participate. As much as I can, I try to read their submissions and leave a comment (and a vote).

  • Many of the content creators on this platform are my friends now and I try to get to their blogs to comment at least once in awhile.

  • I participate in challenges like this and try to comment at least on a couple of posts of other participants.

That pretty much wraps it up. To really get to everyone, I need to comment more 😜

How are you doing with your commenting? Do you have a strategy or a target number? Do you only comment on posts of people you already know or are you seeking out newcomers as well? Do you like to write long comments or rather short and to the point?

@glenalbrethsen I know what you are going to say! 😄

Seemit band.png

My Previous Posts for this Challenge

Day 2 -How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Day 3 -Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

Day 4 - 5 Witnesses and my Why

Day 5 - My Top 5 Crypto Holdings - Day 5

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Day 7 - 3 Things I Like to Change on Steemit

Day 8 - Most Consistent Hobby in the Past 5 Years.

Day 9 -Steemit in 5 Years from Now

Day 10 - My Favorite Morning Drink

Day 11 - Hive Mind or Smart Media Tokens

Day 12 - Most Popular Crypto Currency in Five Years

Day 13 - My 3 Top Cities

Day 14 -My Favorite Writing topic

Day 15 -How Many Posts Per Day?

Day 16 - Steemit & I in Five Years

Day 17- If Steemit Stops Paying - Stay or Leave?

Day 18 -My "Other" Social Media Life

Day 19 - My Three Favorite Movies

Day 20 - The First Person(s) I followed on Steemit

Day 21 - The Worst Thing about Steemit for Me

Day 22 - What Do I Consider a Worthy Post on Steemit

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

What Do I Consider a Worthy Post on Steemit

Garden Projects - D-Live

First D-live

I got replaced 😟

Gratitude- Day 4

My Three Favorite Movies

Gratitude - Day 2

Freewrite Prompt Day 211

Gratitude - Day 1

When did I decide to Stay on Steemit?

How Many Posts Per Day?

Every Day - A new Start

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/mariannewest
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

As a plankton I thank you for what you shared here to everyone especially it is really helpful to me. I am now trying to comment as much as everyday but not so sure how many is enough/or ok ok...and thanks for mentioning about steem world. I have been using it but I didnt know all of that basic but great functionality :)

You are welcome. When I first got here, the advice was to post a little and comment a lot. Good comments that show that you read the post. And find communities, contests and such. We are doing the freewrite you are welcome to join.
A good person to follow is @taskmaster4450 . He has lots of good advice.
Even if you don't want to join the freewrite, make sure to read through one of the prompt posts. There are a lot of good resources listed that might help you.

You are making me feeling comfortable with this platform. Appreciate it. I will keep an eye closely to him :-D And yes, making more comments everyday is my top priority atm :-)

Steemworld.org is neat. I like that I can see the curation awards coming in and other.

I do need to find a balance for myself between comment and making up my stuff.

Well, you can go with the rule of trying to find at least 5 new people you want to engage with for each post you put out in the world. Of course, the banter between the freewriters is a bit different from commenting on other's work.
But if you find people you like and want to be noticed by, make sure you comment consistently with good comments.

@mariannewest this is a cool post on commenting...so naturally I figured I would comment on it! haha. How are you doing? Long time no see.

As far as comments go, I normally write around 3-5 sentences for each one. Sometime more depending on the content of the post. I think it is fascinating that comments help to bring the community together as one.

When someone leaves a thoughtful comment on one of my posts, it makes me feel special, which is what I try to give to others also. Great job on your consistent posts, as that is the key to long-term results. Thanks Marianne for this...hope you are doing well and that we meet again soon. Take care.

-Ken

Ken!! Thank you for stopping by!! I have been wanting to get to your profile. I saw your cute boys on steepshot and my phone went poof.

Right now, I am running a contest and am participating in a couple of challenges and don't seem to get my nose out of the freewriters and commenters circle. But all the steemcreators are on my list.
I was just thinking today that I need to pick one day of the week and just not engage with my usual people (freewriters and alliance family) and visit all my "other" friends.
I will be by soon!! If not in the next minute lol

You know what I'm going to say? :) Then, I guess I don't need to say it.

If you're talking specifically about the length of comments, I actually don't have a preference. More times than not I have more to say than most people might, but it's more out of a need to be complete than anything else. I'm not so much in a hurry or time constrained that i can't take a minute or so to pound something out.

That said, others might want to keep it short and sweet, and that's perfectly fine. I do notice though that the word count on other people's replies tend to go up when they do engage with me. :)

I've addressed a couple of your questions in my own post, so I won't double up on that here, but the one regarding commenting on the same people's posts or going after new ones I will answer.

I try to get to as many posts as I can. My feed is first, and then I go looking through tags. Sometimes that includes new users, and a lot of times it includes users new to me. Which I think is best. So far I've managed to attend to many if not all of the posts that the people I follow put out, plus round up quite a few others. I'd like to do more, but admittedly, I'm not as fast as others, and my time runs out. Like tonight. :)

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52