My Three Favorite Movies

Steemit (16).png

Day 19 Question by @dragosroua

May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Nineteen: Name Top 3 All-Time Favorite Movies.

Join the challenge here.

Seemit band.png

Movie # One

I love movies but am not a frequent movie theater goer and don't watch that much TV. Even though, I have managed to watch quite a few movies and am going to watch one of @dragosroua's selection. I love Judi Dench!

Usually, I am not a big fan of watching the same movie several times, but this one - I have.

Let me introduce you to Amelie, a French movie that was widely popular in Germany when I went for a visit. I have since watched it with American friends and the movie making is so very different from the typical Hollywood film.

Here is the official trailer.

I don't want to tell you too much but it is coming of age story.

Seemit band.png

Movie # Two

The House of Spirits.

It has two great things going for it. The movie is based on a book written by one of my favorite author's Isabel Allende. And it stars one of my favorite actors - Meryl Streep.

Even though Meryl Streep was famous at the time of the filming, the movie only made it to some small Theaters in the US. I love the multidimensional realities in much of the Latin American writing. So much insight into the society and politics of the country.

Seemit band.png

Movie # 3

Iris

Judi Dench and Kate Winslet are playing the main character, Iris Murdoch, at different times in her life. Both are amazing actors and the story dealing with a brilliant person developing dementia. It is a story of brilliance, love, and heartache.

Now, after writing about them, I want to see all three again!!!

Seemit band.png

Seemit band.png

My Previous Posts for this Challenge

Day 2 -How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Day 3 -Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

Day 4 - 5 Witnesses and my Why

Day 5 - My Top 5 Crypto Holdings - Day 5

Day 6 - Why am I still on Steemit - Day 5 - 30 Day Writing Challenge

Day 7 - 3 Things I Like to Change on Steemit

Day 8 - Most Consistent Hobby in the Past 5 Years.

Day 9 -Steemit in 5 Years from Now

Day 10 - My Favorite Morning Drink

Day 11 - Hive Mind or Smart Media Tokens

Day 12 - Most Popular Crypto Currency in Five Years

Day 13 - My 3 Top Cities

Day 14 -My Favorite Writing topic

Day 15 -How Many Posts Per Day?

Day 16 - Steemit & I in Five Years

Day 17- If Steemit Stops Paying - Stay or Leave?

Day 18 -My "Other" Social Media Life

Seemit band.png

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

Gratitude - Day 2

Freewrite Prompt Day 211

Gratitude - Day 1

When did I decide to Stay on Steemit?

How Many Posts Per Day?

Every Day - A new Start

Daily Prompt

Day 11 - Hive Mind or Smart Media Tokens

Do you Know What This is?

Steemit in 5 Years from Now

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Sola and earn SOL: https://sola.ai/mariannewest
Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

I think this is only the second Top 3 Favorites post I've read today that had movies I'd never heard of before, let alone seen, so congratulations on that! It's not like I know of every movie in existence, though, which I have been finding out here lately, especially with those who are from outside the U.S. I know many places have robust film industries, but I generally don't get past the ones made here. :)

Oh, you are missing out!! I feel each country has such a different way of storytelling and cinematography. And even the expectation of the ending. Usually, American movies have a definite end to it...
Oh, and another movie high on my list is Kill Bill LOL

Okay, now that last one is way out from the other movies you listed. :) And I agree, there is a definite style to movies from different countries, or at least different tendencies.

I'd say you're right. Most movies here have an end, though I'm not sure if all of them have THE END. I mean, they can leave you wanting to know more about the characters and their lives. I've sat in a few where I wondered as the credits rolled up, "Is that it?!" But then, part of that has to do with the fact a lot of movies don't know how to end, or they do it badly.

At some point I might branch out more. There's so many movies I haven't seen that made people's lists that I might have a tough time seeing all of them and watching the new ones that come out that I do want to see.

I am with you!! We need more hours in the day lol

Oh, Amelie 😍 Such a sweetness to that movie - but zero saccharine, yay!

It is!!! And I really want to watch it now... Maybe tomorrow :)

Hello, when I read your post I was pleasantly surprised that La Casa de los Espiritus is within your three favorite movies, I tell you that I read that book a few years ago, I like the style of Isabel Allende even though she has many detractors. I liked the film version, comparing it with the book, in it you can see how the themes of affection and love are handled, how the manifestations of authority and the struggle for freedom are presented, not just a regime if not also of the family environment, without leaving aside that touch of supernatural mystery. From Allende I have also read Paula and The City of Beasts.
As I see you like to see movies from other countries, if you have not seen it, I suggest you see, Like Water for Chocolate, is based on a novel by Laura Esquivel Mexican writer, is also my favorite, I hope you like it, and I'll look the other two that you mention.

Regards

I loved Water for Chocolate!!! I read the book as well!!! Yes!! another great choice!

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60855.42
ETH 3369.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50