Day 3 - Trying to Chose the Best Thing Steemit Has Done for Me

in #steemit6 years ago (edited)

Steemit.png

Day 3 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge

Today's question was as follows: May 30 Days Writing Challenge - Day Three: What’s The Best Thing That Happened To You Because Of Steemit?

If you like to join the challenge, here is the original post

I am going to have a very hard time to be able to answer this question precisely. So many wonderful things have happened since I joined Steemit that I might not be able to crystallize one BEST event or impact out of all the good ones.

Let me list the many good things which have happened since I joined the platform. Maybe that will help me to make that choice.

  • I have published one or more blog posts on a regular basis. Actually, according to Steemit board, I have been going straight for 7 months and been a weekly author for 33 weeks. Screen Shot 2018-05-03 at 8.49.41 PM.png
    That is a lot of writing practice.

  • I have learned a lot about photography. There is no way that I can call myself even an amateur photographer -I still consider myself a beginner - but a much more advanced beginner now. Many great photographers are on Steemit and many are only too willing to give tips and to share how to improve.

  • Before Steemit, I knew that Cryptocurrency existed but I didn't have money to invest, so, I figured it was not for me. Since I am on Steemit, I have earned what I consider a good chunk of money and am very happy about that. This has also opened me to seek out other opportunities to earn crypto and I have several (very small) holdings of other tokens.

  • I have met some awesome people online and several of them in person at local meetups. These relationships, in turn, have shown me new opportunities and I learned about new tools which are helpful to my Steemit journey and beyond.

  • One of the tools I found out about at a local meetup by a super knowledgeable steemian @protegeaa is a plugin that allows to cross-publish from a Wordpress blog to Steemit! Brilliant! This got me excited to post to my podcast blog again and it is helping me to populate my steemit podcast page as well.

  • I found communities and friends which are closer than some of my family to me.

  • I was able to present and attend the Steemcreators conference organized by I.J. and his crew. They created @steemcreators and put on an event that brought together many Steemians ready to change the world with the power of Steemit and crypto.

  • I have been able to create more of an income with Steemit than I was before working on all kinds of projects. It is not an easy prospect for a woman who has spent many years raising children to either enter the job market with a reasonable wage or even think of the possibility of retirement. Earning on Steemit gives me great hope for the future.

  • I have been able to create a strong community around the #freewrite initiative which is only getting stronger since starting the @freewritehouse. That, I am extremely proud of.

There have been more wonderful experiences, but I think this gives a pretty good overview of my time on Steemit since I started last August.

It is extremely hard to choose only one as the best thing that happened to me - so, I am going to settle on two.

The freewriter community and the hope to be able to have means to provide for myself as I age have been the very best things that have happened to me.

Steem on, my friends. Together, we soar!!

I only found this challenge yesterday, so Day 2 my starting point.

Day 2: How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Imgur

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Imgur

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Imgur

My recent posts

How to Handle a Windfall of 1000 Steem

Daily Prompt

Take it to the Streets/ Photo Contest

Birthday Girl

Weekend Freewrite Single Prompt

New Life - Photo contest

Pay it Forward Contest

Mulberries

I am Here

How to Keep a Three-Year-Old Still - For a Minute

Do You Know This Woman?

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Imgur

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Imgur

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

To me you are a jewel on steemit, I always like to read what you write, and you do react as we write to you, so the socializing feeling is very warm :-) I am very happy I found you here, even when I do not post enough writing blogs. :-)

You are the sweetest of the sweet!! thank you so much for saying this. Lots of hugs to you!!!

How is that for warm socializing 😀 😂 😘

:-) love to warm socialize with you! Hugs to you too ! (((xxx)))

One best thing and you did 9 lol. I know it was hard to choose and sometimes I ask myself, why choose at all, why not have it all, list it all, show it all? Thank you for not stopping at one 💚

I could have kept going 😄 Thank you for stopping by!! maybe you join in as well?

Oh... I do not think so LOL, since I joined steemit I have not logged into facebook, instagram or twitter once and there is too much good here to fit it all in one post. I admire you for stopping at 9 :)

Petra, I just wanted to let you know that if a comment or a post has less than $ 0.03 on it, it gets rounded down to nothing. Crazy, right? I wasted so many of my votes! If you don't have that much VP yet, better vote on posts.

For some reason, I was sure it was 0.01 lol. Thanks for the information, it will save my votes too 💚

That is what I thought - and I gave countless votes and curation rewards away.
Oh well, now I know...

Hi LOVE YOUR POST MAN!!! LIKE MY POST TOO!!!!! HERE IS THE LINK: https://steemit.com/bots/@abusereports/last-minute-upvote-list-2018-05-02

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50