One photo every day: Runebergintorttu / Runeberg's tårta (225/365)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hello!

Today was Runeberg's day in Finland. It's the birthday of Johan Ludwig Runeberg, the Finnish national poet. Together with Elias Lönnrot, he built what is seen to most as the basis of the whole Finnish culture and national identity.

He became a celebrated figure while still alive, and we still celebrate him by raising the flag every year on February the 5th.

According to the legend, Runeberg's torte was invented by his wife for him when he was feeling particularly keen for sweet pastries. As she didn't have any pastries to give she decided to bake something from the ingredients she had at the time. The recipe found in her personal cookbook may be a variation from an earlier recipe by confectioner Lars Astenius.

Anyway here's the pastry:

Runebergintorttu
Runeberg's torte

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/2.8
Exposure: 1/50 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

This pastry is traditionally served on Runeberg's day. This one was lovingly baked by my dear wife Vera. :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: We celebrated my 2000 followers in my brother's new sauna! (224/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 

Merrasjärvi in ice, tumultuous skies. (218/365)
Well, I tried... (219/365)
Vesijärvi Graffiti Building (220/365)
Reading Harry Potter (221/365)
Fellman Manor // Lahti City (Historical) Museum (222/365)
Updating my dad's laptop (223/365)
We celebrated my 2000 followers in my brother's new sauna! (224/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I don't deserve your delegation, potato Jaro.
And I'm a complete troll who talks a lot of crap. You are too kind, too kind.

Yes you do... and so did all the others I delegated to. :) If I'm not entirely wrong with my math, I delegated altogether some 5500 SP today. I hope they all appreciate it!

Did you make a list of some sort of who you delegated to? :) It would be interesting to see.

No, I just went with giving 15 of those most loyal according to steem.supply, and then added some accounts I personally deemed worthy. I might have forgotten some good names, but I'll probably add some of those along the further we continue this Steem journey. :)

Well... when I say some sht again (that I say a lot) feel free to take delegation away. I will understand. I already don't deserve it, so. Thanks again lol.

No, he is not. You are a complete troll who talks a lot of good crap. :D Your light-hearted commentary is often what is needed. Sometimes you get a little overexited but nobody is perfect. On balance, your influence is positive. Keep it coming!

Btw, I love french fries...

Btw, I love french fries...

Oh, that's the sweetest thing I've ever heard... :'(

It is a very interesting and tasty tradition XD

Update: Wow, thanks for the gift I will use them with wisdom

Beautiful photo of a very delicious Runeberg's torte!
How nice to celebrate and remind the whole country of its cultural heritage!
This is very special as people are celebrating a famous poet!

The colour of the dish makes me feel that the torte could fly at any moment! Wouldn't it be nice if one can 'teleport' cakes and delicious torte to share with friends through the Internet?!

Cheers.

Wouldn't it be nice if one can 'teleport' cakes and delicious torte to share with friends through the Internet?!

I wouldn't mind if such a technology existed. I'd definitely be sending all you guys some tasties from Finland. :) Star Trek prophesies, don't fail me now! =)

I think this technology will exist one day! Hahaha! We'll get fat from tasting all the goodies! And probably get drunk from having a long-distant virtual party!

Cheers.

This looks delicious.. I can almost feel the taste of the pastry from that photo. Great photography as always.. I always feel like the items you photograph are within an arms reach, it creates such a nice illusion. :)

Thank you so much Jaro you have no idea how much I appreciate your present, I'm glad to know that you really take your followers into account, I hope one day do the same to my followers and repeat your gesture. Having said that Happy Runeberg's Day and that Runeberg’s tarts look delicious. Best luck.

@gamer00,
Wow this is delicious and amazing! One more thing, I got a 250 SP delegation from you! Actually no one ever did something like that to me! So I am very happy about that! Thank you!

Cheers~

Thank you! You guys are the ones who made my success here possible, and I don't think it would be right if I didn't give something back so I did. Not very innovative, but I guess it's fine. :)

I also got some delegated steem. Was it from you? If so I'm so so grateful. I'm not sure how to check the source of my delegated steempower

Yep, it was from me, although I guess you already found out. :)

You are the best Jaro.

You can check it on here
https://steemd.com/@username
in the username put your username ,you will find all the info needed !

Steem on !

It sure is delicious and looks very yummy :)
Happy Runeberg's Day :)

& Thanks a lot buddy for the delegation ,I am indeed greatly honored by the way :)
It sure helped a lot buddy !And it is my first delegation to me from any Steemian :)
Again Thanks !
Steem on !

He is not the only one feeling particularly keen for sweet pastries))
I'm an addict to any kind of pastries.
Every single day I try to fight the devil inside me telling me to eat one more cookie :d

It is dampened with rum though.

It's fine even though I don't drink much but rum in pastries is okay :))

Friend, do not imagine how I would love to try that cake

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64