One photo every day: Fellman Manor // Lahti City (Historical) Museum (222/365)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hey!

Another day, another photo! :)


The Fellman Manor

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: EF-S10-18mm ƒ/4.5-5.6 IS STM
Focal length: 12 mm
Aperture: ƒ/5.0
Exposure: 1/100 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200

Paraphrasing from the Finnish Wikipedia entry:

The Fellman Manor, a Dutch style mansion was built in 1898 by Riksdagsman Captain August Fellman, and was designed by architect Hjalmar Åberg. It is located right next to the old and recently obsoleted bus station, and the Lahti sports stadium.

In 13th April of 1903 the Fellman manor hosted the constitutional layers' meeting, where the protocol secretary K. J. Ståhlberg, riksdagsman August Fellman and P.E. Svinhufvud along with tens of other constitutional lawyers came together to decide how the enacting of the February manifest should be opposed in the Great Principality of Finland.

In 1918, after the civil war, the so-called Fellman field was the holding-ground of over 20,000 surrendered Finnish People's Delegation soldiers, supporters and civilians who had tried to flee East toward Soviet Russia, but whose escape had been stopped by the Brandenstein squad. Other such place that had had a profound historical effect along the Fellman field, was the POW camp of Hennala, that situated on the Lahti garrison ground where executions took place.

When August Fellman died, his estate owned the manor until the year 1919, when it was purchased along some land suitable for industrial properties by J. Ranta-Knuutila and E. Sirkkunen, with the funding of the commercial bank Kansallis-Osake-Pankki... ...The manor and its immediate land property was then sold to the City of Lahti...

Because I'm still feeling the effects of the panorama all-nighter, I'l go to bed now. I promised I'd visit my father on Saturday, so I'll try to catch enough sleep to be sharp tomorrow.

So see you again tomorrow! :)



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Bedtime stories – Reading Harry Potter (221/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 

Pointing (215/365)
Lahti skyline, both 35mm & 135mm shots (216/365)
Lahti Radio Tower in Fog (217/365)
Merrasjärvi in ice, tumultuous skies. (218/365)
Well, I tried... (219/365)
Vesijärvi Graffiti Building (220/365)
Reading Harry Potter (221/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

One question I can ask your project but in Spanish.

Of course all the credit will be for you, as for your idea of this challenge. if you allow me.

Go ahead! Though apart from introducing it to Steem, I'm sure the idea was not originally mine. Anyway, I think a Spanish version just for Steem sounds very nice. :)

@gamer00,
Jaro what a great photography! In this winter time you started outside photography! Excellent capture friend! Great!

Cheers~

i love this history building
great photo :)

I like how the building stands out in the snowy landscape, even the fog makes the whole background white, it looks great

Btw To be a building of 1898, it looks very well preserved

Great shot..Extremely interesting museum,
Madonnas and other religious objects dating from 11th century.
Lovely pink building, nice little shop.

Can you actually go inside that building?

Yes, I can as it's a museum (and I have a free pass too), but sadly I can't photograph there. They are very strict about it.

That's a mansion? Crazy. It looks like church to me. It's still beautiful though. I don't know if my monitor is just bad, but it looks like it's a shade of pink. Looks cool against the snow!

Not just the photo or your monitor, It does look pinkish.

Wow Great picture ...lahti has grown in the last hundred years from a small township to a remarkable summer and winter attraction. The Lahti Historical Museum shows why and when the growth has happened. .. thank you

Man, do you know what the hell is with Poloniex?
I send my sbd's but it didn't come through. I thought it's a good exchange. I've written to their support and not sure anymore... will I get it or not.

Rosy coloured manor looks great. If only I wasn't worried about the Poloniex.

I don't know. What the hell is Poloniex?

Oh, a crypto exchange... are they going the way of Mt.Gox?
I'm glad Kraken got their shit sorted out eventually.

Rosy coloured manor looks great. If only I wasn't worried about the Poloniex.

I worried about Mt. Gox, I was devastated when some Ripple gateways shafted their users along with me, and I for sure didn't appreciate when a certain escrow took my 8 bitcoins and disappeared from the face of earth. But I don't think I ever had to write off-topic comments on someone's blog about it. ;)

Don't worry too much, keep your head high and don't lose your sight of your goals. Setbacks are just setbacks, one can always recover. Let's hope Poloniex gets their shit together, and if not, there's Binance, and blocktrades still works.

But let's keep things on Steem to the subject from now on, right? :)

Nah, I like to talk about any topic. I thought I can talk to you about it. See, you answered. It means I was right.
Seems with my love to talk off topic my reputation will be -15 soon, right? :)

So Fellman manor is also a museum. I tried to google what's inside but couldn't find anything.

Just reread your OPEN 365 project information.

storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Should be a great steemit challenge. To make a story with a combination of different photos. That lead you visually telling the story.

That's a possibility, although "one photo everyday" is a bit strict for that kind of story telling. It does happen though that one picture conveys a story, only by creating a simple question in the viewer's mind: "What is happening here?" And their mind will try and narrate the image. Those are not something I'm very proficient in creating yet, but I am willing to try. :)

Yeah, and it should be pretty hard to do.
Because it's not easy to tell the freaking story just with photos. And you have to get this photos somewhere. I'm also breaking my brains how to do it :d

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64