One photo every day: Kantelusmeloni & Kaljameloni (35/365)

in #onephotoeveryday7 years ago (edited)

My boys wanted I buy them both some melons. Miro fell in love with the Canteloupe ("Kantelusmeloni" he calls it) variety when we were in Oulu eating at the Mexican Restaurant Pancho Villa.

20170730_164132.jpg

Leo chose the Galia melon ("Kaljameloni" by Miro).

(As a sidenote: "kantelu" means "tattling" in English, and "kalja" means "beer".)

They liked their afternoon treat very much. Kids and melons... what's with their obsession with melons all the time? ;)


[Previous post: Something very assuring about passing that magical 1111 mark.]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)

Minigolf with Miro (15/365)
A stout and paper (16/365)
The quest for the ultimate flim-flam omelette. (17/365)
Sepe (18/365)
Rooster "Mike Monroe" (19/365)
Doing yesterday's dishes and photo. (cheating) (20/365)
Eating trout at Luosto (21/365)
White flower (22/365)
Enjoying the silence over an e-cig and a can of beer. (23/365)
Poison (24/365)
Me and my boys, fresh out of the sauna. (25/365)
Gauges (26/365)
Sweet dreams (27/365)
Maariankämmekkä, Dactylorhiza maculata (28/365)
Toripoliisi (29/365)
Bumblebee (30/365)
Miro's four-leaf clover (31/365)
Couch dwellers. (32/365)
Hard Punch (33/365)
Red Grape with Blue Cheese (34/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

It must be melon season or something as I'm seeing them everywhere.
I must say I like this one photo a day idea. Think I'll join in. Is there a theme or just whatever is going on that day?

It's basically a common "365 project" I started as a personal study into photography, simply to force myself into creative mode each day.

I do recommend it to anyone who either dabbles with, or is serious about photography. It may help open some blocks we photographers sometimes fall prey to, and helps us motivate ourselves into exploring and expanding our own creativity.

There is no theme unless you explicitly decide to have one. I recall one guy once did selfies for each day of the year. Someone would prefer animals, others still life shots... The possibilities are endless. My own project has no set theme. I try to photograph what I find interesting each day, to highlight the memory. I also often write up a short story for each photo, to refresh the storyteller in myself.

You are welcome to use the #onephotoeveryday and #threesixtyfive tags if you wish to join and create your own year in pictures. Also, credit me if you want, but I really didn't come up with the idea myself as it must be almost as old as photography itself.

Thanks for this very helpful information. My journey into photography has really only just begun so these tips will give me a new direction.
I've been making videos for years but photography is looming large in the future.
I'll think about the tags too. Thanks again.

Love that photo! The colors and symmetry are quite wonderful...and it's melon!

Heh, it's basically a snapshot. But I am thankul anyway, so thank you.

My goal is nevertheless to get altogether a better photographer, so in this project I will explore through all kinds of photos what could be a story worth telling through the lens. Not so much about photo quality per se.

I'm glad you like it and that's what matters. It's good to see people find my storytelling and photography worth talking about. :)

I'll be looking forward to seeing more!

We have a lot of cantaloupe melons here in Thailand! But they are not very popular, I guess because there is a wide range of tropical fruits like mangoes, pineapples, dragon fruits etc. :) Which is the most popular fruit in Finnland btw?

In Finland... I guess it's banana.

Haha, not the one, that I expected! I thought it would be apple or pear:) Do you have red and black currant over there btw?

From @tarazkp I learned a while ago that Finland is also one of the largest banana exporters while not even having local crops.

Apple must be in the top three fruits anyway, then perhaps satsumas or apricots. But I don't have any statistics to support, confirm or debunk my personal estimates.

Yep, those are very common (and popular) seasonal berries, among raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cranberries, cloudberries et.al.

It reminds me when I was in Spain almost 10 years ago there were those huge melon fields and after harvesting there were many leftovers. My uncle took me to that field after it was harvested and we brought back home about 20 of them :D. Not sure if that was legal though...

whao, I just stumbled about this onephotoeveryday. this is interesting and fun. I should of course follow to have one photo to view from you everyday.

Thanks! And I'll make sure to contribute a fresh photo each and every day. :)

that will be lovely. i look forward to you achieving that. I will try to also curate if you sustain it.

Thanks, it will be much appreciated!

Funny Miro.

Congratulations @gamer00! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Are we talking about a 'beer' lemon then? I might feature that in a post!

Lemon? I thought I posted about melons.;)

I don't know how that happened. :) Melon is what I thought

nothing beats the sweet red melon XXL size done freezing cold on a hot day :DDD mmmmm.... actually...I got one right here in the fridge :D

Nice shot. Did you salt them? I did a post the other day, and from the comments, people love salting them. https://steemit.com/food/@old-guy-photos/salt-your-melon

Ooh, I didn't know that's a thing, but I figure it makes sense. That's the same idea as the blue cheese with grapes or gingerbread, or marmalade on toast. It's the combination of sweet and salty that makes them taste even better.

Exactly right! Hope you try it one day. Its not at all off putting. If someone sees you and thinks its crazy, you can blame it one some Yank from Michigan lol.

In a matter of fact I did just that. After adding some on my breakfast cereal and then realizing we didn't have any milk, and that I'd have to visit the grocery before eating them, I tried it out.

I cut a slice out of both melons and put some sea salt on both slices and um... I can understand why some like it. But I guess it's an acquired taste. Although I could imagine salting them and giving them a quick fry on a hot pan, then adding some to a spicy chicken dish. :)

I'm glad you tried it. Like I tell my kids, its good to try different food, even if you don't like it in the end, the point is being open to trying it so you know :)

I was surprised that Miro, who I know is normally pretty picky when it comes to new tastes wanted to try it out too. Not sure if he hated it or not, but he didn't say it like he often very easily does.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89