One photo every day: Maariankämmekkä, Dactylorhiza maculata (28/365)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Maariankämmekkä (heath spotted-orchid or moorland spotted orchid in English) is a perennial plant of the Orchidaceae family. It is spread out through Europe and of most prevalent of its relatives in Finland, although it seems a bit less common at the northern part of Finland. Today I got a chance to shoot this little fellow.

Maariankämmekkä
We found a nice "vase" for this flower.

Camera body: Canon EOS 550D
Lens: Sigma ART 50mm ƒ/1.4
Aperture: ƒ/1.4
Exposure: 1/1600 s
ISO: Dual-ISO 100+200


Maariankämmekkä was named after Virgin Mary (the mother of Jesus in the Bible), as its roots have an appearance of hands in prayer.


[Previous post: More experimenting with the Deep Dream Generator]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)
Second week in pictures (2/52)

Minigolf with Miro (15/365)
A stout and paper (16/365)
The quest for the ultimate flim-flam omelette. (17/365)
Sepe (18/365)
Rooster "Mike Monroe" (19/365)
Doing yesterday's dishes and photo. (cheating) (20/365)
Eating trout at Luosto (21/365)
White flower (22/365)
Enjoying the silence over an e-cig and a can of beer. (23/365)
Poison (24/365)
Me and my boys, fresh out of the sauna. (25/365)
Gauges (26/365)
Sweet dreams (27/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

wow, beautifull! you are skilled! upvoted!

Thank you very much. I will take that compliment to heart. :)

Beautiful flower here in my country they are very common and you can find them in many colors too. Good pic

Wow nice image of a orchid. My mom collects them and this one is looking stunning.

Thanks! I like it too. If you want, you may see the same orchid photographed by my 11 year old son Leo in my latest post. He's not bad at capturing stunning orchid (and other flower) photos either.

Awesome. I'm from Europe too but I don't think I saw any flower like that :)

Wow. that is cool my friend, lovely purple color . I love it

Feels like I have seen this flower somewhere but can't recall ! Another great shot :)

Very interesting. Did you take any for your beloved? Flowers could work as a present if all else fails! :)

I'm putting you on my autovoter, you seem like a very generous steemian!

Too bad I had already left when you asked this. I could've gone and picked a few for her now that I think about it.

But it's still a good thing you mentioned it, because she was few days ago asking me to find multi-year perennials to take to my mother's grave. I have now delegated the task of picking some and planting them to my father, aunt and their cousin, as they are also going to spend some time at the place from today on.

Oh, and thank you very much on the autovoter thing, I appreciate it a lot. I love the thought of rewarding active commenters as it may encourage discussion.

A very touching answer. I had no idea of how much impact comments can have. I am glad you found it helpful. In the end I think Vera will just be glad you are back, no matter the presents.

Nice photography. The flower is look more attractive due to your skilled photography.

Photo every day is not a bad choice to practice at photography.

huh, that's interesting, I never saw an orchid of this kind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89