One photo every day: The quest for the ultimate flim-flam omelette. (17/365)

in #cooking7 years ago (edited)

In the year 2013, my mother was taken away by cancer. Later that year I had a dream where she came back to me, and tried to teach me to cook a perfect "two pan flim flam omelette":

"So, my mom died of cancer 5th of June, and I just started dreaming about her two nights ago, about how they miraculously revived her in the hospital she died in, even after her cremation, and how serene she was after being brought back to life.
 
In the dream last night, my mother came to me, looking many years younger, and tried to teach me a two-pan omelette she called the “flim-flam omelette” with ill success. She was somewhat frustrated at me for not learning how to keep the omelette in one piece on the second pan and not having it liquified instead. The end result should’ve been fluffy to the point one would have to press it together to keep it firm.
 
After waking up, not being sure if there was such thing as a “two-pan-” or “flim-flam omelette” I did some searches on the web, and only learned that “flim-flam” means nonsense, humbug or a swindle, which kind of makes sense when you think of the omelettes failing so badly. Also, no indication there is an omelette that requires one to use two pans instead of one.
 
Does anyone here know if there exists such an omelette?
 
Somehow, I now feel like my mother isn’t gone after all, even if she only ever lives in my dreams from now on."

omelette
One-pan flam.

We made this with Miro! I'm definitely going to learn to make the two-pan flim-flam omelette one day and also teach it to my kids. This one was just one-pan, (We didn't quite follow the "instructions") and perhaps just a flam, as it broke when I tried to fold it by flipping. At least it didn't liquify. ;)


[Previous post: Just a snapshot: cooking an omelet w/ Miro]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:

First week in pictures (1/52)

Vesijärvi lakescape (8/365)
Sweet'n'Sour Chicken tastes GOOOD! (9/365)
Bridge of Tönnö (10/365)
Night walk (11/365)
Inebriated eLeaf atomizer studio shoot (12/365)
Saarron Kylmä Kivi -turnaus / Saarto Cold Stone Tournament 2017 (13/365) + other photos
Miro was picking some flowers :) (14/365)
Minigolf with Miro (15/365)
A stout and paper (16/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer

Sort:  

hey man, thank you for sharing all this...
nice looking dish. make sure yuor kids know how to make it
dreams are never just dreams ;)

Very sorry for your loss. I lost my mom almost a decade ago. Its never easy.

Tricky one to make eggs perfect, either they get overdone or they get runny.

that looks delicious!
suggestion .. i tried looking for you in the chat but cant find you there
so just writing this here
if you put a paper that says Steemit + date + gamer00 next to your plate and take a picture of it - that would make you all verified
I suggest that you do
then magic happens if you do that to all of your pics all the time
well .. at least i think and hope it does
good luck out here!

Hmm... you mean an introduction, like this one?:

Say hi!
Hello! Just click the picture! ;)

Not sure if I want to spoil my photos by "watermarking" each and every one of them. ;) But I do have a "Hello Steemit" album on Flickr, I try to have all the photos appearing on Steem listed there.

I haven't been on Steem chat lately (if you mean the one on discord, I don't know of others).

yes like this one
you can post this as an intro post
better
or if you want to remain anonymous
you can delete this picture and just blur or cartoonize your face too :)
its just for verification purposes

I had the same dream the next day after death of my close friend from cancer. Oh sht this thoughts... i need a drink.
It's happening because of the power of omelette! That you can meet again someone you loved.

Sorry to hear about mom man... Gad you get to remember her in your dreams at least :)
Great photo and awesome looking omelette :)

sorry about your mom. I think your brains try to proces something or you might just get a message from her, I hope you can make that perfect flim flam omelette. Enjoy it while remembering her! Good luck!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50