Salt Your Melon?

in #food7 years ago

MELON__PS__P1090003.jpg

The Joys of Summer

Surely slicing into a nice cool melon is one of the joys of summer!

If you hit one right at its prime, the taste is magical!

P1090846.JPG

Who Needs the Salt?

You dont, but it can be nice! I remember the first time I saw my dad add salt to his melon, I thought he must be nuts. He was from the South so maybe it a Southern thing?


P1090845.JPG

Dont Knock It Till You Try It!!!

I know it may sound totally gross and counter intuitive, but its not at all like it seems!

P1090007.JPG

Let me know if you have ever tried it!!! I did a video when I tried it for the first time!

Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube Main channel
YouTube Photography
YouTube ASMR/Mukbang
Twenty20

Sort:  

Another southern thing lol ( peanuts and coke anyone 0.0 )
Yes, I salt melons often. It actually makes them taste sweeter.

I actually tried them with my friend in England for the first time ever in this video lol.

I have never heard of this one before. I must try it on the next melon I get! There are a lot of weird food combinations that shouldn't work but do. A rich fruit cake with a slab of cheese tastes wonderful but I get some funny looks from my family when I have it.

Cheese and apple goes great together! I could see it!

Im telling you, look at all the comments now! I knew I wasnt going to be the only one!!!!

I've seen family members salt tomatoes and eat the tomatoes by themselves on white bread as a sandwich. I've never tried salting melons though.

Oh of course my mom would have a salted tomato sandwich or with sliced Hungarian peppers!

i love to add salt to melon as well. also I put salt on my apple, orange, pineapple and add pepper on it. haha. they said im weird. But they're so good. it adds more flavor to it.haha

oh and strawberries too.haha

It does add some nice flavor so you cant be too weird!

I do this!! Also great on apples!

Seriously on apples huh? Is it a Southern thing?

I'm from Oregon? Haha

I love a sprinkling of salt and a squeeze of lime on mine!

Oh lime! Now there is an idea!

Yes! I think you'll enjoy it! It's very refreshing that way. I know my mother adds a little powdered cayenne but thats another story :) If you try it I hope you love it!

The salt actually makes the Melon taste sweeter - read all about it here:
"Why Does Adding Salt To A Melon Make It Taste Sweeter?" - http://indianapublicmedia.org/amomentofscience/adding-salt-melon-taste-sweeter/

funny watermelon   Google Search.png

That is so interesting to know the science behind it. Upped and thanks much for sharing that!

That's a new twist on the old melon. I'll have to give it a try. I've got some melon in the fridge. Salt with lemon and Tequila I understand lol
I do remember Laura. Wonder how she is getting on?

She is doing well. I got her to start on here @laurapandaw. She is entrenched in FB though...

FB the land of the lost souls lol Shame she was funny.

we used to add salt to Coke when i was younger. I saw an ad for these melons on the papers yesterday. they are more 7 bucks SGD

I never put in salt directly to Coke, but I did put in salted peanuts!

I haven't even looked at the comments yet, but I did watch the video.

I've salted my watermelon my whole life. Half the family did, too, so there was no one person I picked it up from. Oh, and we're all Northern Indiana and Ohio folks. Who knows where it started...?

Damn good, though! Folks will be shocked the first time they try it!

I was surprised, to me it makes it sweeter and not salty like I thought it would. Thats funny coz I really thought it was a southern thing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61083.24
ETH 2670.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61