One (or more) photo every day: Skating in Lahti Central Square (226/365)

in #onephotoeveryday6 years ago (edited)

Hey!

This photo is a bit bad because I forgot to take my DSLR with me and had to shoot it with my smartphone instead.

20180206_190425 (crop).jpg
It was a mistake. My feet started to hurt as soon as I got up.

Amazingly, I didn't fall down once on these, while it's been over 25 years since I had last had skates on my feet. I still knew how to do it. Although I lasted only 10 minutes before my feet turned into mush and I ended up sitting on the sidewalls taking the darned things off.

I tried shooting photos of the boys, but they were too fast, and ended up being very blurry. At least I could do it because if it weren't for my sore feet, I wouldn't have remembered to. Here:

20180206_190313 (crop).jpg
Miro was loving every minute of it.

20180206_191031.jpg

20180206_191012.jpg

20180206_191007.jpg

20180206_190311.jpg

20180206_190259.jpg

20180206_190258 (crop).jpg

20180206_190257.jpg

20180206_190236.jpg

20180206_190238.jpg

Suffice to say I had a pretty hard time convincing the boys it was time to leave. It was already well over half past seven when we finally got to leaving. The boys sure do love skating!

And here's also a couple of videos I shot:



Public OPED Project Announcement:



One Photo Everyday is not just a challenge nor just a series of posts on Steemit but it’s our way of providing valuable pictures everyday to our amazing community in order to promote the storytelling through the lens of the cameras.

Feel free to join our discord server.

We've created channels where people can find other like-minded photographers wanting to pursue a daily routine, and create their own 365 project. If you fall into motivational or inspirational problems, there'll be a channel where you may seek help. There's also a channel for sharing tips and advice in photography.



[Previous post: One photo every day: Runebergintorttu / Runeberg's tårta (225/365)]

Previously in 365, One photo every day:


 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


 
 

Well, I tried... (219/365)
Vesijärvi Graffiti Building (220/365)
Reading Harry Potter (221/365)
Fellman Manor // Lahti City (Historical) Museum (222/365)
Updating my dad's laptop (223/365)
We celebrated my 2000 followers in my brother's new sauna! (224/365)
Runebergintorttu / Runeberg's tårta (225/365)


If you liked the post, consider buying me a beer:

Buy me a beer


Sort:  

I don't want to touch to skates anymore. I used to like ice skating when I was small but as I grew up I couldn't find fitting skates anymore and I didn't like it as much.

I had to use small skates once in junior high school and my feet got so f*cked up that I almost couldn't take the skates off because it hurt so much. I was barely unable to walk for 2 weeks and I had wounds and bruises all over my feet. I never touched skates after that.

I wonder why my 5 % vote became a 100 % vote, but you may have it. I agree, if the skates won't fit and cause injury it is not fun.

I'm still willing to try if I can get these fit my feet the next time, after all I paid almost 200€ for them. They felt nice in the store so I'm intrigued why my feet started aching in them on the ice.

Well, I'm fine with an 100% upvote too, thanks :) And I wonder if feet get used to skates over some time, probably.

I would have been stunning photography with DSLR camera.

Good to go for ice skating and Miro is looking so cute.

Thank you....steem on and stay blissful....

Although you will forget the DSLR to take better photos and blurry photos, the happiness that is seen in Leo and Miro while they skate, it makes them great pictures

Suffice to say I had a pretty hard time convincing the boys it was time to leave

LOL
It sounds familiar to me, my nephews usually tell me it's 5 more minutes please, Uncle Juan, and for 5 minutes in 5 minutes we spend an hour more
XD

Holy Saint Maria, I haven't skated for I don't know how long. My legs already forgot how to do it. To learn it should be harder than to learn how to walk again.

I put on my skates after 25 years last winter. That last time I had used them was in upper secondary school. They were too small.

thats great miro and leo are really look so good and also happy and excited and they are good skater in this small age wish them best and happy successfull life with you @jaro
really you miss this chance to took these best shots with your DSLR camera

They sure do!

really you miss this chance to took these best shots with your DSLR camera

Yes, that's true. Although I wonder if I had managed to bring it along. I will probably need a carrying bag for those skates. Also, if I had remembered to take the camera, it would also have been very vulnerable to being out in the open for thieves to pick up and carry away.

I wonder if I should choose beforehand whether I want to skate myself, or take photos.

I figure skated for 2 years. It's been almost 3 years since I stopped, but I can still do a pretty waltz jump

What happiness is to share with the children. I took my daughters three years ago to skate on the ice in a park here in Venezuela, the Avila magica, they were delighted and did not want to go, but my wife managed to take some pictures.

20131115_124153.jpg

I love skating when I was young it was one of the most fun thing I could do, now it seems to me a suicidal mission with imminent danger of fatality, I think that is called aging, but your kiddos have a great time is what really matters if they fall, they just get up again as if nothing happened is incredible, so are the children. Best luck @gamer00.

@gamer00,
It seems like your children enjoyed that skating session well! What about the temp out there? I feel frozen :D If I was there I will definitely a death body :D (I hate such low temp, I know my body can't react it)

Cheers~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64