On the hunt for new rock music – have I found some?

in #music6 years ago

So you know how I’ve been banging on about the death of rock music lately, in my post about the Melissa Etheridge / Sheryl Crow concert and in my birthday party post?

Well, last weekend @sift666 started playing me different songs by artists from last century (god, that sounds like a long time ago!) and asking me how I’d categorise them. I’d listen for a few bars, then make my pronouncement – rock, pop, electronica, punk/new wave.

guitar.jpg

The interesting bit about all this (to us, anyway) was the difference in how we see rock music. I was thinking about it again in the shower this morning, and then had to scribble down a couple of diagrams to illustrate, before I forgot.

I was going to write them out neatly, or maybe do a Word flowchart, then I just thought “fuck it” and scanned my rough drafts for you.

How @sitft666 sees music

music-sift.jpg

How @kiwideb sees music

Just to clarify before this boggles your mind – I’m just talking about popular music, I’m only talking about in my lifetime (late 50’s on) and I make no claims to being a music expert. This is just my view of it.

music-deb.jpg

To me, for it be rock, it has to have actual instruments (guitar, bass, drums, keyboard optional) and you need to be able to dance and head bang to it. It has a heavier sound than pop, but not as heavy as metal or punk.

Now you know why we’ve been arguing about music for 30 years!

I wish I could remember all the “tests” we did, but foolishly I didn’t write them down. Probably a bit boring for anyone else anyway, let’s just get on with it!

What have I found?

I’ve decided that there is still some rock / heavy metal / punk & new wave but that a lot of it is different to how it used to be, so I need to be a bit more open minded to how it would be.

Here’s what I’ve found so far. I’m including new albums by bands that have been round a while, which Sift wouldn’t.

Blink 182 – Bored To Death from the album California, 2016. For now, this is my favourite rock album from this decade.

Green Day – their 2016 album Revolution Radio was interesting. Some of it sounded to me like late 90’s or early 21st century. But some sounded like early punk, especially Bang Bang, which I found reminiscent of the Motors. I’ve picked Bouncing Off the Walls, which also sounds like early punk to me.

No, no, we want new artists.

I’m noticing that the beat from some of the newer bands is different – slower and quite often with quite a loud percussive beat in parts. Quite different, but I like it! I’m hearing it in songs I wouldn’t categorise as rock as well, like Raign’s version of Knocking on Heavens Door.

Bishop Briggs is categorised as Indie pop / Alternative rock, but I’m happy to call her a rocker. Here’s White Flag off her new album, being released today! You can hear the beat I mean in this.

What about Imagine Dragons? Are they rock? The song I know them best for (and like), Radioactive, has that slower beat, but this one, Whatever it Takes, is a bit more rock to me.

… which led me to Rag’n’Bone Man. Mmm, me likee, very much. Here’s Human:

…which led me in turn to Kaleo – Way Down We Go

Hmm, that slow beat again. It’s almost like it’s being used as punctuation, or an accent, rather than to keep the beat. I like it and can certainly shake my 60 year old booty to it, in a much more restrained fashion than I’m used to, but think I’m going to have to re-categorise all of these as soft rock.

Ok, where’s the heavier stuff?

Disturbed have come to my attention with their awesome version of Sounds of Silence. What’s the rest of their stuff like? The modern Heavy Metal, without a doubt. A bit heavy for me, but if I had to choose one, I’d go with Down With the Sickness.

The name Paramore popped up, so went to check them out. Hmm, last decade I’d have called them rock, but around 2010 they morphed into a pop band. Next!

Someone who is definitely not pop is 6 year old Aralynne who featured on America’s Got Talent with her original song Zombie Skin. Just a tad heavy for my taste, but entertaining as hell!

Then I wondered what had happened to the rare few rockers who featured on American Idol.

Caleb Johnson, the 2014 winner, released an album called Testify. Wikipedia says:

The album debuted on Billboard 200 at No. 24 with 11,000 copies sold in its debut week, giving him the distinction of having the lowest first week sales and inaugural chart position of any American Idol winner. The album has sold 24,000 copies in the United States as of April 2016. Johnson also has the distinction of being the first American Idol winner to have their Idol coronation song, "As Long as You Love Me," fail to chart on the Billboard Hot 100 charts.

Hmm, not very encouraging. I had a bit of a listen but it was all a bit dull, so not gonna bore you with that.

James Durbin, from 2011, is in a band called Quiet Riot, who seem to be fairly active, but they’re heavy metal too, and I can’t be bothered going there either.

OK, I’m done looking for now, and this post is too long anyway

So far, I’ve found the up to date equivalent of soft rock, and the modern version of heavy metal. But the only bands doing what I’d call classic rock are bands that have been around since last century.

I might not have found classic rock, but I found enough interesting stuff to re-motivate myself to look for the songs that will complete my 60 years of favourite music posts. Old timers here may remember I got up to 2014, promised stuff from 2015-17 and never delivered (and now it’s 2018)…

I’m going to leave you with two compilations – Best Rocks Songs from 2000-2014 and the Top 100 Rock Songs from this Decade. In an hour’s time, @sift666 can get back to us all with his decision on whether there’s any good music in there.

Time for me to go make dinner.

Thanks for reading and listening. What's your current favourite rock song?

Top pic from Pixabay. Diagrams badly hand drawn by me. Videos from Youtube.

If you’ve got nothing planned and want to lay about on Youtube all weekend, and wallow in nostalgia, here are all my previous music posts. Otherwise, feel free to scroll right on past to the Upvote button ;-)

Benefits of joining a community choir ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~
Remembering those who passed away in 2016 ~
60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~
My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~
Some New Zealand music ~
60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in ~
Hang out in my kitchen this weekend - help me cook and listen to some music!
What Steemit friends are for
Rest in Peace Dad, and some music to remember you by
Music for new e4xercise routine
25 Day Music Challenge – Days 1- 3
25 Day Music Challenge – Day 4
25 Day Music Challenge – Days 5 – 7
25 Day Music Challenge – Days 8 – 9
25 Day Music Challenge – Days 8 – 9 cont
25 Day Music Challenge – Day 10
25 Day Music Challenge – Day 11
Our choir at Festival opening ceremony
Preview of choir with Batucada band
Choir performing with 150 strong Batucada band
Melissa Etheridge and Sheryl Crow concert

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

OK - now I'm going to bleat - rock music is dead, all the new music is SHIT

Challenge - name one good album this decade...

There was real rock music once upon a time, for 40 years from 1967 to 2007

OK - now I'm going to bleat - rock music is dead, all the new music is SHIT

I don't agree with you. 80% of the time I'm listening to music it is no more than 3 years old. And can say that there are great rock albums nowadays.

Challenge - name one good album this decade...

The Night Flight Orchestra "Amber Galactic" (2017)
Styx "The Mission" (2017)
Sons Of Apollo "Psychotic Symphony" (2017)
The Winery Dogs "Hot Streak" (2015)
Greta Van Fleet "From The Fires" (2017)
Black Star Riders "Heavy Fire" (2017)
Wild Adriatic "Feel" (2017)
Rival Sons "Pressure & Time" (2011)
Blues Pills "Lady In Gold" (2016)

Thanks for that list - I'll check those out

It's been 50 years since the holy grail came out!

Yeaah!! 50 years! I first introduced myself into Led Zeppelin, mid 80s when I was a teenager and saw on TV a Led Zeppelin concert recorded on a Dannish TV studio, dated from 1969 and performing songs from their first release. It shocked me and since then is one my favorite bands. Hard-rock music can't be understood without them. They showed the way to later bands and still are one of the most influencial bands of all time.

If you haven't seen this show on Danish TV, I recommend it to you. Here it is.

Holy crap that is the coolest thing ever - when Jimmy page gets the bow out the earth changes into another dimension!

Yeah! It's incredible! I love the crowd reaction. They are astonished by what they are seeing. It was in Les Zeppelin's early days and in Denmark so didn't know if they were famous at that time there. Can I pay for a time travel and be part of the crowd? I would pay for It!
Rock on!

You should also check out an Australian band called 'Redcoats' who formed in 2009. They are quite Led Zeppelin influenced but still have their own style. I think they have now split (which I'm bloody annoyed about because I never got to see them perform live)

Rock on \m/

Thanks for Redcoats recomendation! I didn't know them. I'll check it.

Rock on!

Totally agree with you!! I've only just discovered Rival Sons and Winery Dogs a few weeks ago, very cool and rockin'.

You just have to go out and search for the music. It is out there, you just need to find it.

And I will have to check out some of the other bands you've mentioned.

Yeah, see, I can be happy with a good song, not a whole album, Though a whole album would be nice.

Now that I've been through those 100 vids, it really did stop in 2008 apart from the Arctic Monkeys

jontoogood1b.jpg

Shihad were awesome

This would be my fav version of this one..pity about the crowd...freakish aussies

GOLD

Yeah, that's what I'm talkin' about! Just gets right into you.

Shihad still are awesome :) saw them at homegrown a couple of years back and they are still amazing..

HAve you heard the Adults ? John Toogoods side project:

I really loved them - saw them at Homegrown a few years back too

That's great! Loved the video too.

Are Shihad still around? Must go look...

Yeah they are I saw them in 2016 I think it was - last album FVEY was released in 2014 and was one of their heavier and better albums!

Talking of ex-Idol (or one of those shows) peeps - I've always liked Daughtry (definite rock to me).

I've found most Disturbed songs a tad heavy for me. I like a bit of Stone Sour, Seether's pretty good. Have you heard of Black Stone Cherry? X-Ambassadors?

Did I mention Fall Out Boy last time? 30 Seconds To Mars? Arctic Monkeys? Redlight King? Rise Against?

lol, I could go on but some probably do fall into that grey area of sub-rock genres.

Music is totally subjective anyways. ;)

Oh yes, forgot about Daughtry. I didn't see the season he was on, and haven't heard much of his, so will check him out some more. Sift has decided after watching the 100 best songs vid that Arctic Monkeys are the only ones there who still have it. But you've given me some more to check out, cool!

lol, you're welcome :D

I've found that most often I will really, really enjoy a song but not the band as a whole. Lucky for us these days we can pick & choose instead of buying the whole album - remember the days of vinyl where we carefully skipped the needle past songs we didn't like?

Black Veil Brides is another one I should have remembered to throw in the mix.

Had a great time today checking out everybody's suggestions. From @ravenruis, I liked Black Veil Brides, Stone Sour, Fall Out Boy. And I'll check out X-Ambassadors, Redlight King and 30 seconds to Mars some more. From @playfulfoodie, I liked Alter Bridge, Red, Scrum, Poets of the Fall, and My Chemical Romance. From @calisay, I liked Joanne Shaw Taylor, Biters, The Lockhearts, The Sheepdogs, Blues Pills, Supersonic Blues Machine. From @conradt I liked The Adults. From @manorvillemike, I liked Samantha Fish. The others were just a tad heavier than I like, or need some more consideration. Thanks all!

Blimey, out of all those others I only know (and have songs from) My Chemical Romance :O

I am so pleased you found some of my suggestions like .... well, music to your ears :D :D :D


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

@kiwideb, it sounds like you and I have the same definition of "good" and "bad" music. :)

I like a wide variety of music. My definition of good is - does it affect me in some way? Bit different from Sift's definition :-) No actually, I never judge something as good or bad, just whether I like it or not.

The only problem I have with bands like Blink 182 and Green Days newer music is I have been listening to them for years and their newer stuff doesnt offer much new for me - it just seems like a re hash of older work - like they have a formula that works and they stick to that. Althoguh I havent had a listen to the new Blink 182 album I didnt know they were still around, I will give over the weekend.

In terms of suggestions for you il have to have a think on that and get back to you

That's what @sift666 said too. They hadn't really been on my radar before, so I was able to judge both bands on just their new albums. But you both make a valid point.

Although I was enjoying some of the new music I found tonight, when I played the two Shihad tracks that @sift666 and @kiwiscanfly linked to, it reminded me of the "thing" that I'm looking for, that I haven't found yet. Though I have found lots of other good music along the way.

Had a great time today checking out everybody's suggestions. From @ravenruis, I liked Black Veil Brides, Stone Sour, Fall Out Boy. And I'll check out X-Ambassadors, Redlight King and 30 seconds to Mars some more. From @playfulfoodie, I liked Alter Bridge, Red, Scrum, Poets of the Fall, and My Chemical Romance. From @calisay, I liked Joanne Shaw Taylor, Biters, The Lockhearts, The Sheepdogs, Blues Pills, Supersonic Blues Machine. From @conradt I liked The Adults. From @manorvillemike, I liked Samantha Fish. The others were just a tad heavier than I like, or need some more consideration. Thanks all!

Glad to help :)

Loading...

Music Makes

images.duckduckgo.jpg

I like Samantha Fish .....BLUES

Had a great time today checking out everybody's suggestions. From @ravenruis, I liked Black Veil Brides, Stone Sour, Fall Out Boy. And I'll check out X-Ambassadors, Redlight King and 30 seconds to Mars some more. From @playfulfoodie, I liked Alter Bridge, Red, Scrum, Poets of the Fall, and My Chemical Romance. From @calisay, I liked Joanne Shaw Taylor, Biters, The Lockhearts, The Sheepdogs, Blues Pills, Supersonic Blues Machine. From @conradt I liked The Adults. From @manorvillemike, I liked Samantha Fish. The others were just a tad heavier than I like, or need some more consideration. Thanks all!

Yeeahh! Great blues-rock guitarist!

If you like Samantha Fish, I recommend you Joanne Shaw Taylor

Yes, I like her too. Excellent pick!

I don't think I'd be able to give you a favorite rock song of mine, because I usually like plenty at the same time. The rock bands I have listened to a lot lately are Breaking Benjamin and Alter Bridge. They are the definition of rock to me. I do enjoy some folk rock from time to time aswell (great festival music), where the Dutch band Scrum takes a special place in my heart. They switched singers lately, which I'm very sad about. The new one is great, but the last one was unreplacabe and amazing live on stage. Punk and metal ofcourse are great too. Rise Against, Red, Halestorm, Tremonti, My Chemical Romance, ...

As an all-time favorite band, I just keep coming back to Poets of the Fall. They have brilliant songs and Carnival of Rust is an all-time favorite of mine. Lately I love to listen to Once Upon a Playground Rainy. It just makes me happy somehow!

/wall of text

Had a great time today checking out everybody's suggestions. From @ravenruis, I liked Black Veil Brides, Stone Sour, Fall Out Boy. And I'll check out X-Ambassadors, Redlight King and 30 seconds to Mars some more. From @playfulfoodie, I liked Alter Bridge, Red, Scrum, Poets of the Fall, and My Chemical Romance. From @calisay, I liked Joanne Shaw Taylor, Biters, The Lockhearts, The Sheepdogs, Blues Pills, Supersonic Blues Machine. From @conradt I liked The Adults. From @manorvillemike, I liked Samantha Fish. The others were just a tad heavier than I like, or need some more consideration. Thanks all!

Happy to help! I see you got some great other suggestions there too! Stone Sour have amazing songs and I used to listen to Fall Out Boy a lot too :D

Yes! You are one of those Steemit old timers who has given me tips before. I remember some of them now - Breaking Benjamin, Poets of the Fall and Scrum. Unfortunately I scribbled them on a piece of paper then lost it. But now I can get looking again. Thanks!

EDIT - thumbs up to Poets of the Fall so far.

This is great. I have seen some of these but not all @kiwideb. I like your account of music history.

It's always very helpful getting other people's tips. I've got lots to check out from @playfulfoodie now, yay.

I will check that out now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65128.68
ETH 3442.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52