Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 1, 2 and 3

in #music6 years ago

I found this challenge first on a post by @ravenruis, and it sounded like fun. A bit of light relief from my more serious posts. It was started here by @jokossita, so you if you enjoy this, go check out their posts as well. I’ll link to them at the bottom.

Some of you might remember my “60 years of my favourite music” series (links at the bottom as well). My extra challenge to myself will be to see if I can find songs I haven’t already used.

DAY ONE: A song from your childhood

I don’t remember a lot of music from my early childhood, but I was reminded of this song by a post from @karenb54 a couple of days ago. Is it cheating to use a song I’ve already used in a comment?

What I mostly remember about this song is that one of the boys in my class knew it by heart, and often performed it for us during break time, complete with movements, which we all found vastly entertaining.

@jokossita set herself an extra challenge of a Venezuelan song each day. Surely I can do that too, with a kiwi song?

We used to sing this down on the primary school field sometimes, and I always thought it was a kiwi song. Only recently I found out it was actually done first by Engelbert Humperdinck. But I did find a kiwi version of it when I put together a routine of kiwi music for my arthritis class last year.

Since I’m way behind, and probably won’t do a music post very day, I’m going to have a go at Day 2 as well.

DAY TWO: A song that reminds of your most recent ex

Now, seeing as I’ve been with @sift666 nearly 30 years, I barely even remember who my most recent ex is.

So I’m going to turn this one on its head and pick a song that I like, but might never heard if I hadn’t met @sift666. Take it away, Big Audio Dynamite.

And a NZ song in that category… If @sift666 and I hadn’t been part owners in a sifty little bike shop in Wellington’s Cuba St in the 90’s we might never have met some of the members of Wellington band Head Like A Hole (HLAH) and I might never have heard the funkiest song of all time, Wet Rubber. (Though you might not want to let your teenagers listen to the lyrics.)

Oh, I’m on a roll now, let’s do Day 3 too.

DAY THREE: A song that reminds you of one or both of your parents.

I already did a post about Dad, and some of his favourite music, after he passed away last year.

So I’m going to pick a song that I remember Mum being particularly fond of when I was a teenager, from Elton John.

I got nothing for Mum and kiwi music, but here’s another memory. Most of you won’t remember Sammy Johns and the song Chevy Van. @andysantics48, don’t tell Mum I told, but I still her remember her puzzled look, and her asking “how could they make love in a chilly bin?” (kiwi for Esky). Don’t mock, we’ve all misheard song lyrics, and remember this was decades before Google.

Right, let’s save something for next time! If anyone else decides to do the challenge, let me know so I can check out your picks.

Thanks for reading and listening

Videos from Youtube

@jokossita’s Day 1 post
@jokossita’s most recent music challenge post
@ravenruis’s Day 1 post
@ravenruis’s most recent challenge post

My previous music posts

Benefits of joining a community choir ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~
60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~
My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~
Some New Zealand music ~
60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in ~
Hang out in my kitchen this weekend - help me cook and listen to some music!
What Steemit friends are for
Rest in Peace Dad, and some music to remember you by
Summer music routine for my arthritis class

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location. Remember to use “kiwi” as one of your tag words on posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

@kiwideb all sweet picks that lift my spirits.

Oh excellent. My work for the day is done. No, darn it, that was yesterday's work. I'll have to see if I can find something for you to boogy down to again today.

heeey I'm loving that you joined the challenge!! You did 3 days in a row hahaha Loved the Big Audio Dynamite, you pick really nice songs !!! I didn't know kiwi music so is great to have you to share that :D
Can't wait to see your next post :)

And hopefully I sent some traffic in your direction... I'll start thinking about the next few topics and see what I can come up with for tonight.

Yes you did it, Thank you sooo muuch! Hope more people to join soon :D
I know you will came up with great songs !

Oh wow some old classics in there!

Ten guitars takes me waaaay back.

Here's what Billy Connolly has to say about that song!

Hahaha, brilliant! I hadn't heard that before. And it set in motion a trail of thoughts that gave me a kiwi song for Mum, which can go in the next post.

Hehe cool. Im a huge Billy fan, so i couldnt let that one go without comnent

Have you been pillaging my CD collection again (not the Elton part)

Guilty as charged...

lol it sure would be a tight squeeze :D

It would be a tight squeeze for one, let alone two.

Oh wow! Talk about a blast from the past!! Fantastic selection.

Chilly bin, hahaha. Yeah I remember mishearing song lyrics too. :D

One of my favourites is from a friend's sister - "guinea pigs are furry things". I'll leave you to guess what that is...

Hi kiwi.. Chalange is amazing.. I have no interest in music so cant participate.. My husband was fond of music in past.. I try to remember any song from my childhood but i failed.. My daughter like shakeras song waka waka.. She heard this in her schools sports day welcome perfrnance.. Glad you are participating and excited about this contest..
Kiwi there are few words for you in my last post.. Glad to see you there..

I haven'tr seen any posts from you in my feed. Maybe I was so busy chatting to you, I forgot to follow! Better go and fix that, and will look at your post.

May be but you visited me some days ago and it made me happy as i consider you my teacher...😊Thanx for your concern..

I always like seeing other people's tastes in music. Sometimes it helps me find a song I completely fall in love with. Great post!

Yes, I don't have the same time I used to, to check out new music. But being able to check out music posts is a great way to find new things to enjoy.

Amazing Post

fantastic selection. i am going to resteem this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52