A 150 strong Batucada percussion band sounds so awesome!

in #music6 years ago

So awesome that the audience could hardly hear the choir. But don’t worry, I have a work around that.

cubadupa.jpg

Luckily Sunday turned out to be a sunny day, after a week full of rain. I headed into town and got to Cuba Street a bit before 2.30pm. Found a couple of other choir members near the Swan stage, but since we had a good half hour before sound check, went off for a bit of a wander.

First I wandered up to 174 Cuba St where we used to have our sifty green and purple bike shop from 1991 to 2000. You might remember the photo of a very young @sift666 outside it, from my 10 truths, 1 lie reveal post.

It’s now a barber shop, so I took a photo:

174cuba.jpg

I wandered back towards the Swan stage, but wasn’t that keen on the band playing there. Their style was described as Gypsy Party Punk, and everybody else seemed to think they were fab, but they somehow didn’t gel for me. So I carried on to the Glover Park stage where a band called Hillbilly Goats, from Australia, were just starting. Their style was Appalachian with a twist, and I liked their groove a bit more.

My photo of them, showing their cool costumes and the little kids dancing in front.

hillbilly-goats.jpg

I also found a Youtube video of them playing on Saturday, for your entertainment:

Pretty soon, it was time to return to the Swan stage for our sound check. The choir, vocalist, keyboards and brass were set up on the stage. Alda was looking stunning and we were all colours of the rainbow, as usual. The drummers were to be on the ground in front us, and the dancers in front of them.

Once everything was setup, we had a run through of Bandeira Branca for a vocal warm up. And then, we could hear the band as they came down Cuba Street, approaching the stage. They sounded amazing! This video is of them coming down the street. (1 min 12)

First to come into view were the samba dancers, who passed on front of the stage, and then moved forward for the band to come in behind them. They played on their own as they came into place and into formation. This next video is them coming into the performance area. You get the occasional glimpse of the choir at the left of the screen, behind them. (3 min 46)

The compere introduced us all, and we were away! The one slight problem was that the above stage mics didn’t pick up the choir enough to be heard properly above the band, but Alda could be heard, which was the main thing.

I’ve been holding off with this post in the hope that a video of the rest of the performance would come online, but no luck. What I did find however was a video of one of our rehearsals with just the Wellington band. This was put on Youtube so that the other bands could see how the drumming they were learning would fit in with the singing.

Normally we’re not permitted to put rehearsal videos on social media, but in this case, it’s in the public domain already so I think it’s ok. The main pro of this is that there’s only the one band, so you can actually hear us singing. The con is that it was one of the early rehearsals, so there are a few hairy bits. Bear in mind we got more polished as time went on! (17 mins)

Maybe at some stage we'll do a performance with just the Wellington band - something to look forward to.

Our next gig is less than 2 weeks away. As part of the commemoration of the sinking of the Wahine in Wellington Harbour, 50 years ago, we'll be singing some songs from 1968 in the Wellington Railway Station.

Thanks for reading and listening

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

I really liked the Hillbilly Goats. Appalachia is my neck of the woods and I listen to a lot of bluegrass music. Never heard of them before. I bet people would go crazy for them if they ever came to Tennessee.

They are from Australia, and I don't now how widely they've travelled. But if they haven't been to Appalachia yet, I'm sure it's on their bucket list!

I always enjoy reading about your musical adventures. You have tons of fun. :)

And may those musical adventures never end! Never too old to get up and shake your booty in front of a streetful of people, lol.

Crazy man. Can you dig that beat.

Yeah, man, I definitely dig the beat ;-)

Wow that is so many in one group, that is crazy that it all came together, looked like another amazing day for the choir.

Yeah pretty impressive that they can pull all those bands together, mostly by distance. The choir are definitely having a variety of different things going on this year! But I think it'll be a bit more restful in Term 2.

Lots of stuff to get caught up on, so I decided to go through my friends' latest posts first. Was that the origin story of @sift666's handle? Haha! The Hillbilly Goats are more of my jam as well. I like that new age ho-down vibe they have. Very spirited!

Pretty impossible to completely catch up, I'd think. But you do what you can. Hope you guys had a fun time away and are settling in to your new life together.

The story behind sift isnlt quite that short, but I think he may write about it some day.

Wow!!!I wish that you had put a clip of the Gypsy band hehehehe that sounds interesting!
I loved the costumes of the Hillbilly goats hehehe

And I was moving to that parade!!!!! Love that you're involved in the music scene in such an integral way... Those "festival" days are so fun!!!

Yeah, festivals are great! And I don't know how anyone could hear that beat and not groove out to it. The other band are called the Lemon Bucket Orkestra. I couldn't find a clip of them at CubaDupa, but here's one of them in Montreal

Ohhhhhhhhh I really like them too!!!! Hahahhaa this is the kind that you just have to shimmy and flow!! Hehehehe thanks for finding this for me!

That's so exciting that you participate in all of these cool concerts!!

It is! Such a lot of fun!

you have a lot of fun with your group, playing their happy rhythm, apart from this you also took your good moments some of your memories, without a doubt one day to tell how good you are so happy @ kiwideb.

Yes, the experience was very happy and fun. Thanks for commenting.


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13