Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 5 to 7

in #music7 years ago

Carrying on with @jokossita’s music challenge that I came across on a post by @ravenruis. Yesterday was about family, today is mostly about friends.

music-challenge.jpg

DAY FIVE: a song that reminds you of crazy moments

One person’s crazy is another person’s yawn of boredom. The craziest I get these days is when I go away with my girlfriends for our annual “retreat” weekend. We eat, drink, talk, laugh, cry, sing, dance and generally make too much noise. So Day 5 was going to be about the songs we make the most noise to. Until I remembered something that would be crazy by a lot of people’s standards. Sorry, I’m not going to tell you what it is. If you REALLY want to know, ask me in Chat.

But the soundtrack to this story was by Tina Turner – Private Dancer.

DAY SIX: A song that is often stuck in your head

The song that gets stuck in my head the most could be absolutely anything I’ve heard or sung in the last few days. And usually it lasts for days. I’m mercifully free of earworms today, and although I know I had one yesterday, mercifully I can’t remember what it was.

Have you ever noticed that I don’t play by the rules when it comes to picking music? Even when I set the rules myself… So I’m just going to move right past this one and give you extra in the next section.

DAY SEVEN: A Song that reminds you of your Best Friend

So you get six songs here, one for each of the besties I go on retreat with, and one for the pot, um, I mean the lot of us. I should probably mention here that what we all have it common is a love of music and musical theatre. And they are all good enough to sing solo, so again I’m going to bask in the reflected glory of my more talented friends.

Dusty – this is her nickname as she recently played Dusty Springfield in a local production. Man, she nailed that! I wish some of that was on Youtube. But what I did find was her singing a Pat Benatar song at the Rugby 7’s in 2009.

Latte – so named because in the variety show where she first met some of us, her solo was “You’re the Cream in My Coffee”. She’s a member of WoSoSi, a small world music choir that sings similar stuff to our community choir. They have a smattering of stuff on Youtube. This is a Japanese song, and Latte is in the front row, with the handkerchief hem.

Tarty – in honour of the many times she’s been cast as a woman of loose morals. Nothing of her online, so I’ve chosen Wuthering Heights by Kate Bush. Tarty knows all the words and moves by heart, even after all these years, and is never backward in coming forward to perform the moves. Actually Tarty is never backward in coming forward.

Sultry has a smooth as silk, sultry alto voice (and is also often cast as a whore). Tarty, Sultry and I were some of Miss Mona’s girls in a production of The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas, back in 1989. Then a decade or so later, Sultry was in Whorehouse again, this time as Doatsy Mae. None of the Doatsy Mae’s online were altos, so her take on it was unique (and sultry, of course). This version is the one I liked best of what I could find.

Posh is always very well presented, but despite looking posh, is the dearest person. A couple of years ago, we went on retreat to a place called the Shearers Quarters, way out the arse end of the Wairarapa. The owners were away, so there was nobody for miles around. Or so we thought. The next day, we had to go and apologise to a couple, who were in another cottage nearby, for the loud music and singing. “Who was doing the Whitney impression?” “That would be me” says Posh.

We are prone to playing 80s rock anthems loudly and all bellowing along with at least the choruses. Some of you ladies would be bellowing along with us, no doubt. Am I right @giantbear, @onetree and @dreemit, for starters? This is probably the most mellow of our favourites. Bon Jovi with Bed of Roses.

Right, if you made it to the end, and listened to everything, you did well and I’m proud of you. But as long as you found at least one song to enjoy, my work is done.

I’m planning to be back to something a bit more serious tomorrow, but I promise Day 8 won’t be too far away.

Thanks for reading and listening

@jokossita’s Day 5 post
@jokossita’s most recent challenge post
@ravenruis’s Day 5 post
@ravenruis’s most recent challenge post

My previous music posts

Benefits of joining a community choir ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1957 to 1966 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1967 to 1971 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1972 to 1976 ~
Singing carols with the NZ Symphony Orchestra PLUS my best loved Christmas music ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1976 to 1983 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1983 to 1988 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1988 to 1994 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 1994 to 2001 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2001 to 2007 ~
60 years of my favourite music – 2008 to 2014 ~
60 years of my favourite music – some randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – more randoms ~
60 years of my favourite music – Kiwi classics ~
My choir singing on the streets of Wellington ~
Some New Zealand music ~
60 years of music - Musicals I’ve been in ~
Hang out in my kitchen this weekend - help me cook and listen to some music!
What Steemit friends are for
Rest in Peace Dad, and some music to remember you by
Summer music routine for my arthritis class
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Days 1 to 3
Music Challenge – 25 days, 25 songs – Day 4

Videos from Youtube

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location. Remember to use “kiwi” as one of your tag words on posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

Your choice of song really goes way back... Nice pick

Maybe that's cos I go way back ;-) Glad you enjoyed

Lol... I totally get!
You sure do have a new "fan" in me.
Keep steeming!
#hugs

My takeaway song from that list was ... Kate Bush! I love her Wuthering Heights <3

Yes, it's fabulous, isn't it.

I love Kate Bush Wuthering heights!!! And you are totally right, I sing so badly my voice makes my ears hurt, but I have a simple solution. I turn the music up so loud I can't hear myself. I'll be that crazy lady in the car, dancing and pulling strange faces!!! When I get to work I'm set for the day. The bonus is I barely hear anyone's whining for the next hour.

We can all be crazy old ladies together, singing 80s songs loudly and making all the millenials cringe, lol.

And my kids!!! The first thing my 13 year old son does when he gets in the car is turn down the volume.

Still love Kate Bush :D

Kate is the clear winner of the night!

I'm just loving each song and each word. And this really makes me happy

"As long as you found at least one song to enjoy, my work is done"

Haha I have to say that I also make awesome Whitney impressions so me and Posh would be bff, thanks for sharing this.
PS: I loooove Bon Jovi !!

Cool. You would at the party with the rest of us Rock Chick Steemians then! Today I;m posting about something else, if I get it finished, but back to music tomorrow.

PRivate Dancer, the story behind that one must be a good un lol.Dont be too serious tomorrow!

If you want to know the story, message me in Steemit Chat, and I'll tell you. Not putting it on the blockchain though! Maybe not so much serious as deep and meaningful. Oh god, no, that's worse!

There are some things the blockchain must never know! I will do. I am having a few issues with the bloody chats since they jazzed it up!

Hell yeah, I would definitely 'raise the roof' with you, haha!
I am always introduced to new (to me), cool music by you darling;)

Do you remember me telling you the Private Dancer story? I'm pretty sure I did. You'd have been egging me on that night too ;-)

Do I remember, let me think....haha, yes I remember, and hell yes I would have been egging you on!

You said in the other thread on here that the closest you came to liking punk was early Green Day. Maybe I better do a post with some of the punk I like and see if we can convert you ;-) (That is a great Pearl Jam song, of course)

Do it! I want to like it, haha!!

Hi kiwi.. I did not visit your previous posts due to my busy schedule and had no idea about your other interests.. But its another amazing thing in my list that you are true music lover.. Its pretty interesting to read your memories about your friends and fun time.. God bless you.. Always be happy like this

I know music isn't your thing, so I'm not offended if you don't have time for my music posts. But always happy to see you here.

I have time but not knowledge to share about this topic.. Your posts have many other interrsting things in addition to music.. Love to visit you and enjoy it always.. Its my pleasure that you are happy to see me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44