PS to my Steemiversary poststeemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday while pottering around in the kitchen, a song came on that seemed like an ode to my Steemit friends. It was a bit late to add it to my Steemiversary post, so here it is as a PS.

If I say the song is called “That’s What Friends are For” everybody will reply “Oh yes I know that song. It’s by Dionne Warwick”.

Not so. This is an entirely different song, sung by Paul Williams and released in 1974. I suspect it’s a bit obscure and possibly even @themagus and @giantbear might not have heard of it.

I’ve been very fond of this song for a long time, and am now dedicating it to all my Steemit buddies.

This is definitely the shortest music post I’ve ever done, and I suspect my shortest ever post! Quality not quantity, that’s what I say… Well, that’s what I say today, usually I blather on a lot longer but hopefully it’s still quality…

See my Steemiversary post, complete with links to all my previous posts here

Thanks for reading and listening

Video from Youtube

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

Sort:  

thanks for sharing @kiwideb
I'm glad you're talking about music
But I have never listened to the music you mentioned.
Let me know about the song's vidio.
I will try to listen to the music you mentioned, I am curious

I shall give it a listen! :0)

I liked it. Sounds like some old school country music with some groove to it.

So not my gig :)

Here's one for ya!

This is pretty awful....hahahaha!

Believe it or not Deb and I often do agree on songs. She's not really into Jane's Addiction (one of my favourite bands), but that live acoustic version is so different to their usual stuff - now compare it to this (yes this is more to my taste):

Oh wow Jane's addiction... not heard these guys for many a year. My housemate from Uni used to be obsessed with them. :)

Yep, and me! I love the video too.

I've never heard it before!

I can't believe I missed these posts! I was checking your page pretty much everyday, and then I stopped because when we talked it seemed your being so tired and things going on, I just didn't expect...ugh. I'm sorry Deb. I'm glad I was able to catch this one before it cashed out at least.

Happy Steemiversary!! I for one am so incredibly happy that you joined and we met, you have made my life so much richer and I love you darling.

Oh this is nice. :) I've not heard of Paul Williams before. It kinda makes me think of a mix of David Bowie and Billy Joel!

I thought I'd heard every song ever recorded in the '70s, but this song I have never heard before. I had my little AM radio on constantly in those days.
Congratulations on the year milestone!

Thanks! I suspected it might be a bit obscure. I had my little AM radio on constantly then too :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51