Nearly finished the new EXERCISE routine for my ladies (and one gent) with ARTHRITIS

in #exercise6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been teaching this class for over 10 years now, and like to keep it interesting with new songs and new moves. Most people in the class have arthritis, but one lady has MS and our one gent is recovering from a stroke. So it’s actually suitable for any condition that means you can’t exercise standing up.

I mentioned the other day that I was trying to get this finished for the start of the year, but then realised I was putting unnecessary pressure on myself. But today I really do want to get it finished, as once a month I take a class across town, and that’s this Friday.

Since I did all my cooking on Monday, I can take time to work on that now, and dinner will be so quick and easy.

But before I tell you about my new routine, let me tell you about my sister. She’s thinking of joining Steemit (yay!) to blog about weight loss, farming and gardening (well, homesteading really), her animals, her garden, what she makes with her produce, what it’s like to be a woman living on her own in this situation, the things she’s had to learn how to do for herself. But she didn’t know if people would be interested. If you think you would be, comment below so I can show her.

Back to exercise… First here are a couple of my previous posts about the exercises. What the class is about and some of the music I’ve used ~ Seated exercise – legs ~ Seated exercise – head & shoulders

seated-exercise.jpg

This new routine has a summertime theme, so most of the songs have either summer or sunshine in the title.

Warmup 1 is Nana Mouskouri - Turn on the sun - with just a few easy arm and leg movements. Some arm circles, some foot taps, and other arm moves.

Warmup 2 is Cliff Richard - Summer Holiday – picking up the tempo a bit, and using a range of arm and leg movements to get well warmed up

The next track is Rod Stewart’s version of Sunny Side of the street and that has a bunch of hand movements

Another lively one with Katrina & the waves - Walking on sunshine – but a lot of the moves are done half time, as they would be too fast otherwise.

Let’s slow down a bit now with the Brothers 4 and Green Leaves of Summer. I try to throw a few moves to work the brain, and a slower one like this is suitable.

Lively again with Stevie Wonder - You are the sunshine of my life

I usually include a funny / novelty number for some light relief and this one is Zip a Dee Do Dah

We need to gently move the head through a variety of movements, so we use something slow and Ella Fitzgerald & Louis Armstrong – Summertime – is perfect. (Though I did chop a minute off the front, so we start when she starts singing.)

Keeping it slow with John Denver - Sunshine on my shoulders. Some leg moves, turning the palms, walking the feet in and out.

Now time to stand up for two tracks. We do mainly leg moves standing up, and usually holding on to the back of the chair. I’ve chosen The Beatles - Here Comes the Sun and The Beach Boys - All Summer Long.

After the standing ones, we want to take it slow for a while, so we’re having Oh What a Beautiful Morning from Oklahoma

Ok, we can speed it up again now with Bing Crosby - You Are My Sunshine

Let’s work those hands again with something from the musical Hair - Let the sun shine in

An old favourite of theirs is the Lawrence Welk singers - Cruising Down The River

Next is the Seekers with a Fijian tune called Isa Lei which we do some traditional arm movements to, like hula.

Slowing down with Bill Withers - Ain't No Sunshine

And then we finish with a number using either a hat or a scarf, to practise moving things from hand to hand. I’ve chosen Michael Buble - Feeling Good and this week we’ll be using the scarves. It isn’t exactly a summer song, but it seems to fit. I’d really like to do some pole dancing or burlesque to this, but sadly neither they nor I am capable of that… Well, I could probably still do burlesque, but let’s get real, nobody wants to see that!

As you can see, I like to use a lot of different styles of music to keep them on their toes. So to speak…

Attitude of Gratitude

Today I’m grateful that I can have fun choosing new songs, making up movements, and teaching them and get paid a little bit for it. I also appreciate that they put up with my singing along and occasionally even join in.

EDIT - Movement is one of things we need to keep healthy. So I've just changed one of the tags to #makeithealthy - check out @woman-onthe-wing's Make It Healthy project here.

Thanks for reading and please help me persuade my sister to join us.

Images by myself, @sift666 or from Pixabay, unless otherwise stated. Videos from Youtube.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts.

See my last post of 2017 for a full archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, see the list on this post. Let me know if you want to be added, or want to add your location. Remember to use “kiwi” as one of your tag words on posts.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (But don’t just say Hello. Tell me straight away why you’re messaging, without waiting for me to say Hello back.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

Sort:  

Tell your sister people will be interested, she should join

Will do. You will be her closest Steemian. She's about half an hour out of Dannevirke.

First of all, seniors rock!!!! Please give each and everyone of your students a bit hug from SUNSHINE247. Your sister needs to join .. she will love it .. also, homesteading is very popular here on Steemit :) Thank you for what you do for all of the people you touch in their lives .. you are appreciated!!! SUNSHINE247

Oh what a pity you can't be there for the class. With the theme of sunshine and summer, it would be such a hoot. I will pass that on to my sister. She has applied and is just waiting for confirmation.

Not what I was expecting when I saw the front page. Great sound track, really appreciate how you kept me here for a bit. I need to become more mindful of the music around me while I am creating. It always has an impact. Upvoted and followed you today. Thank you for putting so much effort and creativity into your content.

Good point, the top pic was possibly not quite the best fit for the topic. But it got you here, and the content kept you here, so let's call it a win anyway . ;-)

I wish I was a kiwi! Love the song choices and your class seems like something that would be right up my alley!

I have three goals for them - mobilise all of their joints, keep safe by staying within their limits and having fun! I'll have to remember to tell my sister to follow you, I think you'd have lots in common.

Hmm now you have me thinking about creating a playlist and doing some sort of Mandala workshop. Wheels are turning! Thanks for the post that planted the seed :)

Mmm. Let me know how it goes.

I've never run a workshop myself before, but I'm thinking I could come up with a simple design that's relatively quick to do in a 3-4 hour workshop. I need to get a projector to do a powerpoint! lol

That is a might HAPPY playlist!!! Some good ones there. :)

Yes it is happy, isn't it? Though did you spot the odd man out? Bill Withers - Ain't No Sunshine - isn't happy, cos he's missing her. But it speaks to his great love of her, so there is happiness underneath it.
PS Or maybe it just speaks of great neediness, which would be a bit sad.

I love that song, so I will stick with the Great Love theory. :)

I would definitely be interested to read about how a woman manages the homesteading journey on her own.

Excellent! I'll pass that on.

Yes! Get your sister on here! I'd definitely follow her story! And what a great service you provide for those who might not otherwise get it...we need to keep moving, as much as we can.

I'll let my sister know.

I get a lot out of the class myself. I have a lot of fun, and the exercises are good for me too.

Oh man that song list is awesome! I've never really gotten into dance but I have tried Zumba once or twice before haha! My friend and I were the only two straight guys in the class, but yeah haha! And oh, are you kidding me!? Homesteading and gardening is huge here! I'm sure your sister would have a lot to contribute to that discussion, and maybe even pick a few new things along the way!

Yes, I think she can contribute a lot. As we were talking yesterday, everything she said was another potential post!

I did a lot of dance in my 20's and then musicals in my early 30's. So I bring that fun side of it to the exercise class. Ham it up a bit.

I like Zumba, but it's not for everybody. Luckily there are so many means of physical expression, we can each find our own most suitable one.

Hi kiwi.. Welcome your sister here.. I am keenley interested coz being your sister i beleve she is also generos and polite.. Nice post and exercise.. I wonder how you manage all these things.. Thanx for sharing

Some days I wonder how I manage it, too! But I really enjoy it, so there's that. My sister is funny and kind, so I think you'll like her.

So i think she ll be.. Yeah sure i ll like her and she ll also enjoy here.. Thanx dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52