You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On the hunt for new rock music – have I found some?

in #music6 years ago (edited)

OK - now I'm going to bleat - rock music is dead, all the new music is SHIT

Challenge - name one good album this decade...

There was real rock music once upon a time, for 40 years from 1967 to 2007

Sort:  

OK - now I'm going to bleat - rock music is dead, all the new music is SHIT

I don't agree with you. 80% of the time I'm listening to music it is no more than 3 years old. And can say that there are great rock albums nowadays.

Challenge - name one good album this decade...

The Night Flight Orchestra "Amber Galactic" (2017)
Styx "The Mission" (2017)
Sons Of Apollo "Psychotic Symphony" (2017)
The Winery Dogs "Hot Streak" (2015)
Greta Van Fleet "From The Fires" (2017)
Black Star Riders "Heavy Fire" (2017)
Wild Adriatic "Feel" (2017)
Rival Sons "Pressure & Time" (2011)
Blues Pills "Lady In Gold" (2016)

Thanks for that list - I'll check those out

It's been 50 years since the holy grail came out!

Yeaah!! 50 years! I first introduced myself into Led Zeppelin, mid 80s when I was a teenager and saw on TV a Led Zeppelin concert recorded on a Dannish TV studio, dated from 1969 and performing songs from their first release. It shocked me and since then is one my favorite bands. Hard-rock music can't be understood without them. They showed the way to later bands and still are one of the most influencial bands of all time.

If you haven't seen this show on Danish TV, I recommend it to you. Here it is.

Holy crap that is the coolest thing ever - when Jimmy page gets the bow out the earth changes into another dimension!

Yeah! It's incredible! I love the crowd reaction. They are astonished by what they are seeing. It was in Les Zeppelin's early days and in Denmark so didn't know if they were famous at that time there. Can I pay for a time travel and be part of the crowd? I would pay for It!
Rock on!

You should also check out an Australian band called 'Redcoats' who formed in 2009. They are quite Led Zeppelin influenced but still have their own style. I think they have now split (which I'm bloody annoyed about because I never got to see them perform live)

Rock on \m/

Thanks for Redcoats recomendation! I didn't know them. I'll check it.

Rock on!

Totally agree with you!! I've only just discovered Rival Sons and Winery Dogs a few weeks ago, very cool and rockin'.

You just have to go out and search for the music. It is out there, you just need to find it.

And I will have to check out some of the other bands you've mentioned.

Yeah, see, I can be happy with a good song, not a whole album, Though a whole album would be nice.

Now that I've been through those 100 vids, it really did stop in 2008 apart from the Arctic Monkeys

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52