Our Sunday performance is going to be SO exciting!!

in #music6 years ago

We’re singing in the finale of the CubaDupa festival with a Brazilian samba band!

cubadupa.jpg

We’ve been rehearsing with Wellington Batucada, who have about 25 members. But they are joining with other Batucada bands from round the country and there will be something like 150 percussionists on the day, plus some brass (trumpet and trombone).

Here’s Wellington Batucada at CubaDupa 2017:

On vocals, there will be somewhere between 80 and 100 members of the Wellington Community Choir.

Also joining us is Brazilian songstress, Alda. Mostly we’re singing backup for Alda, who has a gorgeously deep alto voice, but one song (Bandeira Branca) is just the choir. Here’s another group performing it:

Although the band and choir will be grooving out to the beat (similar to what you saw in the video above), there is no set choreography. But we will be joined by some dancers.

So all in all, it should be quite an exciting performance. I’m just a bit worried about whether my almost 60 year old knees can handle the jandal…

handle-the-jandal.jpg

After an hour and a half rehearsal tonight, they were feeling rather overworked, and I could barely walk up the path and stairs when I got home.

Between 12 noon Saturday and 6pm Sunday, there will be scores of performances, suitable for the whole family, at over 20 venues in Wellington’s Cuba St – dance, theatre, music, street performances, and plenty of street food available.

If you’re in Welly, have a look at the timetable, and come check out whatever you fancy. We’ll be on the Swan stage at about 3.20 on Sunday.

Hopefully there will be video footage I can post next week!

Thanks for reading

Videos from YouTube. Top image from CubaDupa website.

Follow me for more health, nutrition, food, lifestyle and recipe posts. For an archive of 2016 & 2017 posts, by category, see my last post of 2017.

Contact me in SteemitChat to ask about one on one nutritional coaching or EFT (Emotional Freedom Technique) sessions by Skype. (Then put a comment on my most recent post, so I know to find you.) Steem, other altcoins or Paypal accepted.

If you’re from New Zealand (Aotearoa) and are looking for other kiwis, use #teamnz as one of your tags // check out other posts with #kiwi or #teamnz tags // follow @teamnz // or join the South Pacific channel on Discord. There is an old list of kiwis on this post.

5-tips-for-newbies.jpg

Sort:  

i did a google search for this Brazilian songstress and this is the result i got
World-Cup-Hot-Brazilian-Girl.jpg

is this her?

Haha. No.

Whatcha been up to? You've been quiet again lately. Too many bouncy castle jobs?

work mon to friday has been crazy busy..and yeah had a few bouncy castles on the weekends of late..that should slow down a bit over winter...i still have been lurking in the shadows of steemit!

Wow, that is rather catchy .... dont get stage fright now eh. And make sure we can see you in the vid {smile}
Enjoy, sounds like quite a festival

Being a short soprano, I'm nearly always in the front row. No stage fright, but 4 hours and counting, so starting to get excited.

So how did it go? I popped over to your blog to see if you had posted anything around the conce... and got embroiled with @tygertyger around transgender stuff..... oi vey!!

Yeah, maybe I should have just kept my mouth shut, since it appears that everything that came out of it achieved the opposite of my aim. I still stand by my initial statement that we should be able to talk about things. I'm not keen on arguing about it though.

The concert was pretty good. I've got a post mostly written, just waiting to see if any video footage gets posted online.

If everbody knew everything about everything life would be dull. So one cannot talk about astrology as a subject just because you do not know EVERYTHING about it? How does one learn then? That guys / girls / theys attitude sucks big time.

what a cool rhythm

Exactly! Although we all (the choir) love singing, adding an exciting beat to it adds so much more dimension.

Sounds like it'll be a grand ol' time! Hope the knees handle the jandal lol

Me too! I'm not really sure why they complained so much, it was pretty easy steps, just side to side or front and back. I can only think it's the length of time.

We're supposed to go to a rehearsal with the combined bands at 10am, but I might give it a miss if I can. Not sure I could do an hour in the morning and then another half hour at performance level later.

It sucks that bodies get older... Sometimes I end up with really bad neck pain just from hunching over while I'm painting, and being on the computer too much lol

Yup, the dreaded aging... Check out @marianneyardley's series on computer posture. That might help with painting posture too. Or not...

I do have an inversion table, and a few stretches and yoga postures that I can do that really help but, if I don't do them.. lol

All the best with your performance.

Thanks! Should be lots of fun.

you're welcome

good luck. I hope the weather plays ball. It won't be much fun if it is like today!

Yay, the sun came out. Fingers crossed it will stay out. Will I see you and @skymaiden bopping away in the front row of the audience?

I'm not sure. We have to go out to Petone today to deliver Easter eggs to god children, so it will depend on how long that takes.

Oh no! I wish I knew! We are off to see our godson soon.

You have all the fun, @kiwideb. :)

I do my best to have a little fun from time to time...

What lovely music. I look forward to seeing your video of your performance!

Fingers crossed there is one! Or at least photos.

Sorry I missed you guys yesterday! How did it go?

Pretty good. I'm hoping someone will put up a video soon, and I'll post!


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43